We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience...will go back again”
Review of The K Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The K Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in The K Club last year after getting a pigsback deal online and enjoyed it so much we went back again this year. The staff are excellent, including John in the Vintage Crop bar who is very friendly and informative, and Niall and Mairead at reception. We ate in The River Room which was beautiful. We also used the spa and had lovely treatments tgere, as well as using the pool, hot tub etc. A wonderful stay and we are already planning next years stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShivKi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear ShivKi

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is heartening to read that you enjoyed your stay so much.

I am pleased that you found our staff professional and friendly, and I am delighted to pass this on to Niall, Mairead and John who you have mentioned.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 960 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Got a deal on Travelzoo for 2 nights Bed & Breakfast and €60 credit towards dinner in the River Room Restaurant. (Incidentally the dinner menu costs €63 per person).
I had emailed the hotel on several occasions to confirm dates etc. and I always found they were prompt to reply. In fact I changed my dates a couple of times but I always found Ciara to be more than accommodating.
Check in was quick and smooth and we were shown to our deluxe room (81). Shortly afterwards our bags arrived and all was explained to us by a lovely chap called Niall.
After settling in we decided to eat and we went to Legends Clubhouse where we had an excellent gastro bar food meal.
After a very good night’s sleep we went to the River Room Restaurant and we had an exceptionally good breakfast.
That evening we dined in The River Room Restaurant and what can I say? All of the courses were beautifully presented and the taste matched the looks.
Everything in this hotel is so relaxed and the staff are superb without being too conspicuous.
In fact everything was so good that we returned 2 weeks later and once again everything was top notch if not better than the first time.
We rarely return to the same hotel twice but I am already thinking about going back soon for a third time.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room both visits and were really happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Brian M

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The K Club.

I am pleased to see that all aspects of your stay from booking to check in was smooth. I am please to pass on your kind words to both Ciara and Niall.

I am also delighted to see that you enjoyed all of our various different dining options during your stay. It is very satisfying to read that your enjoyed the service here with us as we constantly strive to exceed our guests expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back for a third time in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

One of our first and most important decisions after getting engaged was to select our wedding venue. We visited the K Club and we met with the very professional and friendly David Russell. We didn't have an appointment but this didn't seem to be an issue. We were escorted to the beautiful Yeats room where we were presented with tea and homemade cookies. David took time to discuss the wedding package options and show us around the grounds.

We chose the all-inclusive package and booked for the bank holiday weekend at the beginning of May. The pricing we felt was beyond comparison to what anywhere else we'd seen had to offer. The staff have to come in for special mention. From concierge to waitress, barman to receptionist, all so welcoming and friendly and oozing professionalism which ensured that, from the beginning, we had no hesitation putting our full trust in them to plan our big day.

Susie Hopkins-Burke was our wedding coordinator. Susie knows no bounds when it comes to generosity, time and advice. She was absolutely fantastic for the run-up and always made us feel so at ease. We are convinced that the word "No" is not in her vocabulary - nothing was impossible. No request was too much, every suggestion we had was enthusiastically received and everything and more that we could ever have expected was delivered! Everything was Magical! Our guests were welcomed into the elegant surroundings in the Old House for the drinks reception. Then through the manicured gardens and across the Liffey to the beautiful Legacy Suite for the main reception. A seamless and perfect day.

The day after the wedding we continued our celebration with a BBQ in the Palmer clubhouse. It was such a perfect day and we would recommend this to anyone who is considering a second day celebration. The food was amazing (and very generous!) and everything ran so smoothly. The staff had brought our flowers from the day before over to the clubhouse and the room looked absolutely stunning. It was the perfect way for us to cap off the weekend with our family and friends.

Many of our guests commented on the exceptionally high standard of accommodation available. The rooms and suites are simply incomparable - and I defy anybody to find a more breathtaking bridal suite (seeing really is believing). But also, the Garden Apartments are amazing. "Apartment" doesn't do them justice, they are all very generously-sized houses. The breakfast would not be bettered anywhere either.

We're looking forward to visiting the K Club soon to relive some of the magic moments!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulinos_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The entrance, main reception area and main lobby are fabulous - infact as soon as you come though the mian gates you know you are going to experience luxury. The reception staff and concierge are wonderful - caring, friendly and genuinely interested in making your stay A1. We visited late in the week with my parents - and honestly we could not have been more impressed. Our bedrooms were wonderful - very spacious, comfortable and showed careful attention to detail in the high ceilings, long corrodors and hand painted walls - very Downton. Dinner in the River Restaurant was very tastey and our second evening dining was also excellent in the Legends Restaurant - which was more casual dining. If you are wanting to organise a special treat with first class service, great food and friendly staff in Co. Kildare, you need look no further. Just to mention the leisure centre is approximately 5 mins walk from the main building although a complimentary transfer is available from the hotel. It is very well equipped and well maintained. The outdoor hot tub is particularly inviting!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FizzyPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear FizzyPhoto

Many thanks for your recent review of The K Club. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments about the team here at The K Club. Your words are extremely generous and kind and have given us all a big boost; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. We are so glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We travelled to the K Club for a 2 night stay initially booked for December but due to circumstances had to change this to March no problem having the dates changed
On arrival the greeting at reception was warm and friendly and we were shown to a lovely room facing the river It was so comfortable and had a huge bathroom we walked around the hotel and had afternoon tea in the drawing room which was delicious served by Sarah a lovely friendly girl after a walk aound the beautiful grounds we had a drink in the bar and were taken in a mini bus to Legends at the Palmer clubhouse were we had a delicious meal followed by a good nights rest next day we had breakfast in the River room a great buffet and service yet again we then drove to |Kildare Village for some retail therapy
I had the the best massage ever in the afternoon at the Spa by a fantastic therapist Mona she made me feel fabulous and so relaxed it is a great place to spend some time
We dined in the River View restaurant and it was first class again served by the lovely Sarah the food was excellent top marks for presentation and quality
This is a first class hotel and we will definitely return the staff are the most profexssional and friendly people and made our stay memorable it was a birthday treat for me which could not have been better all staff were brilliant especially Tracie and Niall at reception Sarah at River restaurant and of course Mona at the Spa

Room Tip: A river view room is lovely as it face the river and grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HollydogIslandmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear HollydogIslandmagee

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It is heartening to read that you enjoyed your stay so much.

I am pleased that you found our staff proffesional and friendly, and I am delighted to pass this on the staff you have mentioned.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Staying at the K Club was a decision made on the morning of arrival while travelling from the airport. The hotel is set in the most magnificent scenic area surrounded by golf courses, walks and manicured gardens and sits majestically on its site. The interior and decor is very much stately home and historic in its style which extends into the bedrooms, this could translate to be slightly stuffy and overpowering if it wasn't for the wonderful welcome and atmosphere that awaits when you walk in the door.
We arrived at 7:45am and couldn't have been made more welcome. The team at the K Club hotel are wonderful and each member could not be more professional or knowledgable in their role.
We stayed in the Anna Livia suite, which was fabulous, with a wonderful large sitting room and library, a very large bedroom and two bathrooms. Rooms Impeccably finished with excellent mod cons amongst the stately home decor.
Breakfasts, lunch and snacks in the different serving rooms were most enjoyable with wonderful array of options, all superbly presented. The bar and dinner restaurant were most impressive. Sensational dinner and wine menu and a wonderful sommelier who has been at the hotel for 8 years and recommended the perfect red wine to accompany a wonderful meal.
The gym at the hotel is small but wonderfully equipped and lovely and bright overlooking the pool area.
This is a wonderful hotel that I can't recommend enough, i'd highly recommend at least 2 nights if possible to make the most of all it has to offer. I would make a point of trying to return in the very near future.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Ruth L

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The K Club. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us here and that our staff made your visit more pleasant. I am also delighted to see that you enjoyed all of our various different dining options during your stay.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The K Club again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were a group of 4 people, all of whom chose different starters, mains and deserts, and we all agreed the quality of food, presentation, and staff friendliness were outstanding. Unfortunately we were unable to experience the other amenities of the resort due to time constraints.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunzie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Bunzie8

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to our Restaurant. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your meal.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
6.3 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
8.3 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
1.2 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#3 of 5 in Naas
1,226 reviews
3.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
471 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The K Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The K Club

Address: Straffan, Ireland (Formerly The Kildare Hotel, Spa & Country Club)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range: £165 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The K Club 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K Club, Ireland's First AA 5 Red Star Hotel, is located in the heart of the idyllic Irish countryside on the banks of the River Liffey in Straffan, Co.Kildare This long standing member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts offers the very best of pampering, leisure and golf facilities and is only 30 minutes from Dublin. Built in 1832, on the banks of the River Liffey, the original house was modelled on a French Chateau and still retains many of its original architectural features, art work and antiques. It opened as a luxury hotel in 1991 and was Ireland's first AA Five Red Star Property. To this day it continues to deliver the very highest levels of service and standards in terms of its food and beverage offerings, golf, leisure and spa treatments. The mature estate covers an impressive 550 acres and also features a stunning Victorian walled garden and fishing on the River Liffey which runs through the resort. The resident ghillees offer fly fishing on the river and horse riding and clay pigeon shooting are also available along with a range of different country pursuits. The K Club is home to two Championship Golf Courses- The Palmer Ryder Cup Course and the Palmer Designed Smurfit Course. Hailed among the world's finest golf resorts, The K Club was the chosen venue for the 2006 Ryder Cup and host to the European Open from 1995 to 2007. The K Spa, at The K Club, offers a wide variety of treatments for both men and women. The K Spa is an oasis of calm. The minimalist and contemporary decor sets the scene for pure indulgence and mind and body relaxation. The K Spa also features a secluded outdoor hot tub, aromatic herb garden, seven luxurious treatment rooms, two private suites, a Hamam, a Hydrobath, a Vichey Shower and an exotic Rasul Chamber. One of the spa products used at the spa includes, Voya which is made from organically certified seaweed, hand picked from the west coast of Ireland. A range of award winning dining facilities are available to choose from and include both fine dining and informal options. Our Accommodation is sumptuous and truly luxurious, each bedroom has been individually designed, no two rooms are alike and feature original paintings and antiques, meanwhile the bathrooms incorporate hand painted murals. Culture enthusiasts can enjoy regular art talks and tours of The K Clubs extensive private art and antiques collection with the resident art expert. The K Club is home to many important Irish works and even has a room dedicated to the Irish Expressionist painter, J. B Yeats. The Yeats Room features many of Yeats' important paintings and is a riot of colour and texture. Wine cellar tours are also available with our resident sommelier. Families are well catered for and children will love the kids club which offers arts and crafts, nature walks and games. Children will also enjoy using the swimming pool and junior golf clinics which run during the summer. A baby sitting service is also available upon request. The K Club is the ideal country venue for business and leisure travellers, families, weddings and honey mooners, incentive groups, executive retreats and of course, golfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The K Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The k Club Hotel Straffan
k Hotel Straffan
The K Club Ireland/Straffan, County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing