We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a five star Hotel”
Review of The K Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The K Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Certificate of Excellence
Norther Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More than a five star Hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My partner & I spent a wonderful couple of days over the St.Patricks weekend at this hotel. It Is a beautiful place.
Staff could not have done enough for us, they were very courteous, nothing was a problem.
We look forward to another treat there very soon.
Just a wee tip, if you want to avail of any of the many Spa treatments it may be a good idea to check out availability when booking your accommodation. Well done to all the staff & thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovestravelling44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Lovestravelling44

Many thanks for you kind review on your recent stay. It is a pleasure to read that our staff made your stay more pleasant. It is disappointing that you didn't get to also enjoy the K Spa during your stay.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    149
    89
    19
    13
See reviews for
153
388
8
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Kindly invited for a bite to eat in The Club House on Friday evening. Lovely food and friendly efficient service.
The highlight was the Perfect Pint in the Hotel bar. Great banter between the hotel guests and the locals.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Surfer84

I am delighted to read that you enjoy both your dinner in Club house, and that you have indeed found the perfect pint. The Bar staff in the Vintage Crop will be happy to hear this.

I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We recently spent a night in The Kildare Hotel, spa and country club- a much anticipated night away - adults only! Maybe it was a case of looking forward to something too much and while it was very good the night lacked the experience of a 5 star venue. I think what really disappointed us was dinner - for the price and the venue it was only mediocre and they include supplements for certain items - a pet hate of mine. Staff were very professional and helpful and breakfast was excellent.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Orla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Orla_11

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am disappointed to read that you felt the dinner to be mediocre. We are actually in the process of updating our menus at the moment, so that there aren't any supplements included in the menu any more.

I would hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed overnight in a Liffey Suite. It was a beautiful and really spacious room with a huge bathroom. It was nice to see quality Irish products - Voya - in the bathroom. The hotel has really struck gold with its staff. Mairead in reception is a gem and is great for advice on the local places to visit. There's also a lovely man in reception whose name we can't recall. Everyone we came in contact with was so pleasant. We were blessed with good weather both the day we arrived and the day we left so we really enjoyed long, scenic walks in the grounds both days.
Breakfast was spectacular. I'd love the recipe for the brown bread with raisins and nuts which was divine. The only negative is the dinner menu. The dinner menu costs €63 per head which is not inconsiderable but then incredibly they charge supplementary costs on many of the dishes on the menu including €5 for sirloin steak and I think there was a €20 supplement for sole. That said, the restaurant is beautiful and the desserts, in particular, were amazing. Overall, we'd highly recommend the hotel for a luxury and relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busterbaby_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear busterbaby_8

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing your recent stay with us here at The K Club.

It is a pleasure to read how much your enjoyed your stay, and I am delighted to pass on your kind words to Mairead on our Reception team.

I will take your comments on board in relation to our dinner menu. We have recently changed our menu from a Table d'Hote to an A la Cate menu.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The K Club again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I and a number of friends and colleagues recently stayed at the Kildare Hotel, Spa and Country Club in Straffen, Co. Kildare, Republic of Ireland.
Right from arrival, the staff could not have been more friendly. They collected our luggage from our caoch, had it marked with our room numbers and then took it to our rooms for us. The surroundings were palacial to say the least. The rooms were luxuriously fitted out with good sized beds and plenty of room to relax. The bathrooms were also on the same grand scale. Food in the restaurant was up to an extremely high standard as was the service. At no time did staff look down at you, they joined in our jokes and mad us feel welcome. Breakfast was expecially good and I can thoroughly reccomend the sausages. All in all a great place to relax. The Spa facilities were also excellent with Pool, Steam Room etc and outdoor hot tub. The only drawback was the lask of a sales area for swim wear etc, but with Dublin less than 40 minuteses away by coach this was a minor thing. The grounds in which the hotel and spa are set are kept to a very high standard and those of the golfing elk would enjoy themselves here. Shooting of the rifle and shotgun variety are also on offer and was enjoyed by all with safety being at the fore.

Room Tip: All rooms are well fitted and quiet. If you want to feel as if you live there, then choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Stephen M

Many thanks for your kind review of your recent stay with us here at The K Club.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. It is always a pleasure to read that our staff and services exceed your expectations.
I am pleased to pass on your kind words about breakfast onto our Breakfast Tea.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned from an overnight in the K Club and once again it was fantastic. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were made to feel welcome. The service as usual was impeccable. This hotel really knows how to look after guests and as return guests we were looked after particularly well. The grounds are fantastic. Our room was fabulous and overall the stay was sheer indulgence. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babs b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear babs b

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing your recent stay with us here at The K Club.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you especially enjoyed the service that we provided.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I stayed recently in the kclub. We had a wonderful time excellent value and such a relaxing time. Stayed an extra night on the Sunday and spend the evening in the drawing room in front of the fire reading. A must for everyone

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imelda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear imelda m

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here with us at The K Club.

I am please to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and decided to stay on for an extra evening.

Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
6.3 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
8.3 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
1.3 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
414 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The K Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The K Club

Property: The K Club
Address: Straffan, Ireland (Formerly The Kildare Hotel, Spa & Country Club)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The K Club 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K Club, Ireland's First AA 5 Red Star Hotel, is located in the heart of the idyllic Irish countryside on the banks of the River Liffey in Straffan, Co.Kildare This long standing member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts offers the very best of pampering, leisure and golf facilities and is only 30 minutes from Dublin. Built in 1832, on the banks of the River Liffey, the original house was modelled on a French Chateau and still retains many of its original architectural features, art work and antiques. It opened as a luxury hotel in 1991 and was Ireland's first AA Five Red Star Property. To this day it continues to deliver the very highest levels of service and standards in terms of its food and beverage offerings, golf, leisure and spa treatments. The mature estate covers an impressive 550 acres and also features a stunning Victorian walled garden and fishing on the River Liffey which runs through the resort. The resident ghillees offer fly fishing on the river and horse riding and clay pigeon shooting are also available along with a range of different country pursuits. The K Club is home to two Championship Golf Courses- The Palmer Ryder Cup Course and the Palmer Designed Smurfit Course. Hailed among the world's finest golf resorts, The K Club was the chosen venue for the 2006 Ryder Cup and host to the European Open from 1995 to 2007. The K Spa, at The K Club, offers a wide variety of treatments for both men and women. The K Spa is an oasis of calm. The minimalist and contemporary decor sets the scene for pure indulgence and mind and body relaxation. The K Spa also features a secluded outdoor hot tub, aromatic herb garden, seven luxurious treatment rooms, two private suites, a Hamam, a Hydrobath, a Vichey Shower and an exotic Rasul Chamber. One of the spa products used at the spa includes, Voya which is made from organically certified seaweed, hand picked from the west coast of Ireland. A range of award winning dining facilities are available to choose from and include both fine dining and informal options. Our Accommodation is sumptuous and truly luxurious, each bedroom has been individually designed, no two rooms are alike and feature original paintings and antiques, meanwhile the bathrooms incorporate hand painted murals. Culture enthusiasts can enjoy regular art talks and tours of The K Clubs extensive private art and antiques collection with the resident art expert. The K Club is home to many important Irish works and even has a room dedicated to the Irish Expressionist painter, J. B Yeats. The Yeats Room features many of Yeats' important paintings and is a riot of colour and texture. Wine cellar tours are also available with our resident sommelier. Families are well catered for and children will love the kids club which offers arts and crafts, nature walks and games. Children will also enjoy using the swimming pool and junior golf clinics which run during the summer. A baby sitting service is also available upon request. The K Club is the ideal country venue for business and leisure travellers, families, weddings and honey mooners, incentive groups, executive retreats and of course, golfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The K Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The k Club Hotel Straffan
k Hotel Straffan
The K Club Ireland/Straffan, County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing