We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The K Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The K Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Certificate of Excellence
Larne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here at end of February had an excellent stay . Check in painless , room beautiful looking out to fantastic gardens , lounge very comfortable and cosy to have a drink , Arnold Palmer restaurant / bar friendly and relaxed . As we just walked down from main Hotel had a few drinks and a snack it started to rain asked if we would like a lift back to hotel , but the rain stopped and we walked back , pleasant 5 minute stroll . Went to Kildare Outlet next day fantastic shop , came back and had afternoon tea in one of there drawing rooms with the open fire beautiful . Had dinner in restaurant food lovely and staff very attentive . Had a great stay and would recommend , will be back .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Emm435

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us here at The K Club.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and got to explore the various dining aspects of our resort.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    144
    85
    18
    13
See reviews for
149
378
6
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for two nights with my partner and had a wonderful experience. The spa treatment, dining and everything about our stay was superb and in particular for me the service was ten out of ten. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Andrew W

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am delighted to read that enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially our customer service.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The K Club again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I booked this hotel for a special anniversary. I ordered the Liffey Suite but when we arrived we were brought to the Imperial Suite. I thought it was a mistake and the very nice lady said that it was a complimentary upgrade. I have never seen such an amazing suite. The living room was size enough for a travelling rugby team. We had two bathrooms, walk in wardrobe, a SAUNA, a kitchen (which I wasn't going to be using), our own balcony overlooking the scenic grounds and the most comfortable kingsize bed:-) I felt like such a princess! Food was amazing, staff so friendly and helpful, beautiful spa and scenery. I couldn't fault a thing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Áine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Aine N

Many thanks for the wonderful review posted recently and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us.

I have already shared your kind words with the entire team here and they all join me in thanking you. I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to enjoy the facilities here at The K Club

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have just returned from an overnight break in the K club. Both my husband and I found the whole experience from arrival to departure excellent. Our room was lovely and as the weather was excellent on our arrival we went for a long walk around the hotel, grounds and clubhouse. We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening and found the food lovely and the staff very friendly especially Emma, very helpful making us both feel very special. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we hope to return....Thanks again everyone!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fionola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Finonola

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The K Club.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay so much, and got to see a lot of our grounds. I am delighted to pass on your kind words about our staff in the restaurant.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The K Club again in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Me, my husband and our ten month old baby stayed in K Club over Easter break. We found hotel to be very luxurious, cosy, met all our needs. It has lovely walks, beautiful gardens, children play area, great golf course. Rooms are beautiful and large, big bathroom with voya products. Hotel has great art collection and beautiful antiques. Staff were nice but a bit slow in some departments like bringing bags, food, drinks , baby cot. Overall great hotel, would come back again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jrpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Jrpk

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The K Club. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you explored our grounds.

I am disappointed to see that you felt service was slow during your visit - I will follow this up with the relevant departments.

I hope that I get to welcome you back to The K Club again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in many 5 star hotels throughout Ireland, the K Club, in my opinion, really needs to review the dining experience offered to customers. The maitre di was condescending on arrival, informing us that we were basically late!! We were led to a table, not seated, had to place our serviette on our knees, request drinks on several occasions, water and wine were not topped up by staff. No staff member checked was everything satisfactory, throughout the 3 hours we were seated!! It was definitely not 5 star... When the maitre di was asked politely if he could take a photograph of the party, as it was a special occasion, he replied, maybe when the restaurant was quieter later on, this was at roughly 10pm... The restaurant was not busy... The attitude of staff, left an aftertaste, the food however was good, but overall a 3 star experience, in a 5 star hotel. On a lighter note, the kids club is great, children really enjoyed it, Easter egg hunt was disappointing, and disorganised, and left children disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rjwk12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Rjwk12345

Thank you very much for taking the time to post an online review after your recent stay.

Firstly I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us over Easter.

We are very sorry to read how disappointed you were with the service in our restaurant and this is something we have followed up internally. I was pleased to read that the you enjoyed certain aspects of the hotel but concerned to read that parts of your stay were not so enjoyable. If there are further details you would like to share with me, I would be delighted to hear from you and I can be contacted directly at the hotel at audrey.brophy@kclub.ie

I hope the experience will not deter you from revisiting us in the future and I do hope we have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again and do let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Yours sincerely,

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

It looked great online. That was the last time I can use the word great in this review. From the welcome to the food to the bedroom to the staff, it was pretty much awful. It emcompassed all that was wrong with the vulgarian celtic tiger years and is trading on a reputation propagated by the ignorant fake borgeousie of a brief boom period. The woman who greeted us told us off for not having booked a room in advance - like we were trying to get a table in Nobu on a Saturday night in the 90s (When the hotel was half empty). The room was freezing and the fire didn't work. The food was gone off and when I had the temerity to complain they simply reheated it and sent it back! (without the gone off portion of rice). It wasn't all bad. There was a very nice man who drove the golf cart from hotel to restaurant. The river is very pretty. Breakfast was actually great. Thats the best thing I can say about it. I wouldn't bother.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ladyaudley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
6.3 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
8.3 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
6.8 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The K Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The K Club

Property: The K Club
Address: Straffan, Ireland (Formerly The Kildare Hotel, Spa & Country Club)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The K Club 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K Club, Ireland's First AA 5 Red Star Hotel, is located in the heart of the idyllic Irish countryside on the banks of the River Liffey in Straffan, Co.Kildare This long standing member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts offers the very best of pampering, leisure and golf facilities and is only 30 minutes from Dublin. Built in 1832, on the banks of the River Liffey, the original house was modelled on a French Chateau and still retains many of its original architectural features, art work and antiques. It opened as a luxury hotel in 1991 and was Ireland's first AA Five Red Star Property. To this day it continues to deliver the very highest levels of service and standards in terms of its food and beverage offerings, golf, leisure and spa treatments. The mature estate covers an impressive 550 acres and also features a stunning Victorian walled garden and fishing on the River Liffey which runs through the resort. The resident ghillees offer fly fishing on the river and horse riding and clay pigeon shooting are also available along with a range of different country pursuits. The K Club is home to two Championship Golf Courses- The Palmer Ryder Cup Course and the Palmer Designed Smurfit Course. Hailed among the world's finest golf resorts, The K Club was the chosen venue for the 2006 Ryder Cup and host to the European Open from 1995 to 2007. The K Spa, at The K Club, offers a wide variety of treatments for both men and women. The K Spa is an oasis of calm. The minimalist and contemporary decor sets the scene for pure indulgence and mind and body relaxation. The K Spa also features a secluded outdoor hot tub, aromatic herb garden, seven luxurious treatment rooms, two private suites, a Hamam, a Hydrobath, a Vichey Shower and an exotic Rasul Chamber. One of the spa products used at the spa includes, Voya which is made from organically certified seaweed, hand picked from the west coast of Ireland. A range of award winning dining facilities are available to choose from and include both fine dining and informal options. Our Accommodation is sumptuous and truly luxurious, each bedroom has been individually designed, no two rooms are alike and feature original paintings and antiques, meanwhile the bathrooms incorporate hand painted murals. Culture enthusiasts can enjoy regular art talks and tours of The K Clubs extensive private art and antiques collection with the resident art expert. The K Club is home to many important Irish works and even has a room dedicated to the Irish Expressionist painter, J. B Yeats. The Yeats Room features many of Yeats' important paintings and is a riot of colour and texture. Wine cellar tours are also available with our resident sommelier. Families are well catered for and children will love the kids club which offers arts and crafts, nature walks and games. Children will also enjoy using the swimming pool and junior golf clinics which run during the summer. A baby sitting service is also available upon request. The K Club is the ideal country venue for business and leisure travellers, families, weddings and honey mooners, incentive groups, executive retreats and of course, golfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The K Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The k Club Hotel Straffan
k Hotel Straffan
The K Club Ireland/Straffan, County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing