We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing family break”
Review of The K Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The K Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing family break”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Excellent staff at checkin we were very fortunate to have been upgraded to a suite totally sumptous. Falconary was in the gardens which our children loved. Although we do not play golf the course is huge and a golfers paradise. Very relaxing stay with amazing attentive staff
Thankyou

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovehotelchooser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear loloveschoco

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your recent stay at The K Club so much. I am please to hear that your children also enjoyed their stay with us here, as we pride ourselves on being a family orientated hotel.

I hope that we get to welcome you and your family back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    153
    91
    20
    13
See reviews for
155
400
8
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Staff are exceptional in this hotel and others around the world could learn a thing or two. Sunday lunch is a delight too with superb food and especially the Choc chip cookies after, my goodness I don't know how I forced them down after a beautiful lunch but I seemed to find a way after a nibble... The grounds were beautiful and we took our dog who had stayed in the car for a beautiful walk. Making sure we had doggy bags with us so as not to leave a mess. We had a great weekend especially with Kildare shopping village a short drive away!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CocoNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear CocoNothernIreland

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the near future so that you can enjoy another delightful Sunday lunch.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay- something for everyone here or near. We got a great midweek deal extending over a weekend! Particularly impressed with the managing and welcoming of children. No sense of pressure or expectations on any of us . Ladies loved the Kildare outlet with top range gear at basic prices, the men loved the Ryder cup course at a great deal, the kids loved the golf clinic, swimming, and particularly the complementary golf cart for exploring the estate.
All felt set for their day after the most sumptuous and beautiful breakfast available anywhere.

Well-travelled patriarch of 3 generations

Room Tip: We had front and back rooms in the main hotel. Some had bow-front windows; all opened effortlessly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Colin G

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The K Club. Thank you for the great feedback and for taking the time to do so. It was a pleasure to read you enjoyed the stay and that you especially enjoyed the breakfast.

Thanks you for choosing The K Club for your recent stay in Kildare and I hope that we get to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

On my way home from Maynooth today we called into the K club for coffee i just love this place there is always a buzz to it , the staff are so friendly and helpful . its very relaxing and there is alway's something going on, next time i'll go for lunch.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flex43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear flex43

Thank you for your kind review on your recent visit to us here.

I hope that I get the chance to welcome you back for lunch again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I came to Ireland for business. But this hotel makes my stay so pleasant that I forgot that I came here for work. Amazing staff and everything about that place is just perfect! Excellent hotel, authentic castle I think in US. You can't find this kind of accommodation, unreal! And yeah superb Spa!

If I will ever return again I will book my room in your hotel. Thank you for perfect stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Toni C

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us here at The K Club.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay so much that we took your mind off work. I hope that we get to welcome you back again in the near future for a personal stay next time.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here at end of February had an excellent stay . Check in painless , room beautiful looking out to fantastic gardens , lounge very comfortable and cosy to have a drink , Arnold Palmer restaurant / bar friendly and relaxed . As we just walked down from main Hotel had a few drinks and a snack it started to rain asked if we would like a lift back to hotel , but the rain stopped and we walked back , pleasant 5 minute stroll . Went to Kildare Outlet next day fantastic shop , came back and had afternoon tea in one of there drawing rooms with the open fire beautiful . Had dinner in restaurant food lovely and staff very attentive . Had a great stay and would recommend , will be back .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Emm435

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing your recent stay with us here at The K Club.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and got to explore the various dining aspects of our resort.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed for two nights with my partner and had a wonderful experience. The spa treatment, dining and everything about our stay was superb and in particular for me the service was ten out of ten. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Andrew W

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am delighted to read that enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially our customer service.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The K Club again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Audrey Brophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Straffan
6.3 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
8.3 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
6.8 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
431 reviews
1.3 mi away
Barberstown Castle
Barberstown Castle
#2 of 2 in Straffan
334 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The K Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The K Club

Property: The K Club
Address: Straffan, Ireland (Formerly The Kildare Hotel, Spa & Country Club)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The K Club 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K Club, Ireland's First AA 5 Red Star Hotel, is located in the heart of the idyllic Irish countryside on the banks of the River Liffey in Straffan, Co.Kildare This long standing member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts offers the very best of pampering, leisure and golf facilities and is only 30 minutes from Dublin. Built in 1832, on the banks of the River Liffey, the original house was modelled on a French Chateau and still retains many of its original architectural features, art work and antiques. It opened as a luxury hotel in 1991 and was Ireland's first AA Five Red Star Property. To this day it continues to deliver the very highest levels of service and standards in terms of its food and beverage offerings, golf, leisure and spa treatments. The mature estate covers an impressive 550 acres and also features a stunning Victorian walled garden and fishing on the River Liffey which runs through the resort. The resident ghillees offer fly fishing on the river and horse riding and clay pigeon shooting are also available along with a range of different country pursuits. The K Club is home to two Championship Golf Courses- The Palmer Ryder Cup Course and the Palmer Designed Smurfit Course. Hailed among the world's finest golf resorts, The K Club was the chosen venue for the 2006 Ryder Cup and host to the European Open from 1995 to 2007. The K Spa, at The K Club, offers a wide variety of treatments for both men and women. The K Spa is an oasis of calm. The minimalist and contemporary decor sets the scene for pure indulgence and mind and body relaxation. The K Spa also features a secluded outdoor hot tub, aromatic herb garden, seven luxurious treatment rooms, two private suites, a Hamam, a Hydrobath, a Vichey Shower and an exotic Rasul Chamber. One of the spa products used at the spa includes, Voya which is made from organically certified seaweed, hand picked from the west coast of Ireland. A range of award winning dining facilities are available to choose from and include both fine dining and informal options. Our Accommodation is sumptuous and truly luxurious, each bedroom has been individually designed, no two rooms are alike and feature original paintings and antiques, meanwhile the bathrooms incorporate hand painted murals. Culture enthusiasts can enjoy regular art talks and tours of The K Clubs extensive private art and antiques collection with the resident art expert. The K Club is home to many important Irish works and even has a room dedicated to the Irish Expressionist painter, J. B Yeats. The Yeats Room features many of Yeats' important paintings and is a riot of colour and texture. Wine cellar tours are also available with our resident sommelier. Families are well catered for and children will love the kids club which offers arts and crafts, nature walks and games. Children will also enjoy using the swimming pool and junior golf clinics which run during the summer. A baby sitting service is also available upon request. The K Club is the ideal country venue for business and leisure travellers, families, weddings and honey mooners, incentive groups, executive retreats and of course, golfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The K Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The k Club Hotel Straffan
k Hotel Straffan
The K Club Ireland/Straffan, County Kildare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing