We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant mid-week break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Killaloe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2013

A friend and I recently stayed at the Lakeside Hotel on a mid-week break. We had a marvellous time and would go back at the drop of a hat. The mid-week special is fantastic value—but it’s worth paying €20 euro extra for a lakeside room. Our room was lovely: a spacious three-person room with dual aspect which meant outstanding views over Lough Derg. Even though we stayed in mid-December, the days were bright and the views magnificent. This is a three-star hotel and the price for a mid-week stay reflects that so don’t expect five-star facilities. You get lots of bang for your buck. The hotel was cosy rather then opulent, the staff were friendly, warm and courteous. The deal included dinner one evening in the hotel which was delicious. The Lakeside is well within walking distance of Ballina­-Killaloe, so we wandered down each day and explored these lovely villages, stopping for coffee and to browse in the cute boutiques. Killaloe, a stroll across the bridge has an abundance of award-winning coffee shops. We also walked up to Brian Boru’s Fort, about a mile outside the village. On our second night, we popped next door to The Cherry Tree another award-winning restaurant for a memorable meal. The hotel has a swimming pool which would be great for kids and a spa which we didn’t have time to check out. Maybe next time.

Room Tip: Get a lakeside room for €20 extra—it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed at the Lakeside hotel as a prospective wedding venue and we were not dissapointed the staff were the nicest i have EVER come across. We were welcomed by everyone and instantly felt like friends of the staff. Our room was comfortable and the showers were really good .The food was fantastic and extremely reasonable and our only complaints would be that the leisure facilities will need some modernising .

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laura t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

What a change from the two days before in Dublin! Wish we had booked here instead. It was lovely, the food was good the bar prices great and the area and the view from our bedroom was beautiful. It was a pity that the weather was not at it's best but that's Ireland for you. We will be back in more clement weather to have a real good look aroung the place.

Room Tip: There is no lift so you need to state if stairs bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 167Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

just back from a midweek break which was a bargain,65 euros!
food lovely and staff warm and welcoming.
lovely location and very near LIMERICK for shopping.
also some wonderful drives around the lake.
cant wait to go back in the new year

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The setting is fantastic right on the shores of the Shannon. The staff were just lovely! So friendly and engaging in a very genuine and buoyant way! Couldn't be nicer! Yes the decor is a bit dated but we heard while we were there that upgrading is planned this January! The food was very good and afternoon tea was a great treat! All included in the very reasonable package.There was a very warm and pleasant atmosphere in the hotel. We would definitely go back again! Ballina/Killaloe is a a lovely little town and I had a fabulous massage at Satmya an Ayurvedic healing centre in the town. Be sure to check that out! The surrounding area is very beautiful with Lough Derg nearby. There is also a vibrant Farmer's market in Killoloe on Sunday morning!Autumn is especially beautiful this year! The leisure center at the hotel is also really nice with a good size pool sauna and steam room! Go for it! Well worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view! It's so worth it! Corner suites are large and sunny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biddy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here with my family for a couple of nights. Really enjoyed my stay. Rooms where quiet basic and in need of a bit of updating but comfortable and clean. Food was fab, we had breakfast, lunch and dinner here and everything we had was gorgeous. Pool was great fun my daughter loved it. Only negative thing is my daughter was left very disappointed after we went to the "kids club" which is in a crèche in the leisure centre only to be told she couldn't go in as we hadn't booked a place. We wernt informed by the reception staff we had to we where just told to go down. But apart from that I can't fault the place. Great value for money. Will defiantly be back :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saraizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We are a family of 4 And we come here whenever I can for a mini break, we had 2 nights B&B and 1 evening meal.
The staff are fantastic, the food is excellent and so is the pool.
Killaloe itself is a fantastic little spot with plenty around to do

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjjbbbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killaloe
0.4 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
22.6 mi away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,659 reviews
19.4 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Castletroy Park Hotel
Castletroy Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castletroy
899 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,308 reviews
12.4 mi away
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#1 of 20 in Limerick
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre

Address: Lakeside Drive, Killaloe, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Killaloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Killaloe
Price Range: £65 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 4 star Lakeside Hotel & Leisure Centre in Killaloe on the County Clare and County Tipperary border. This Family Friendly Hotel is situated in a stunning location on the banks of the river Shannon, proudly overlooking the twin towns of Ballina Co. Tipperary and Killaloe Co. Clare with its famous 13 arch bridge and 13th century cathedral, St. Flannans. With its innate sense of peace and warmth, it is often described by locals as "Ireland's Best kept secret" and is one of the top hotels Clare has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Killaloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing