We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Killaloe
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

As a near local, I don't get the opportunity to visit the Lakeside bar regularly for lunch, traditionally I'm not a fan of hotel lunches...... However this has changed over the last two weeks! Looking for somewhere to pass sometime two weeks ago, I bought a paper and went in search of a sandwich. Finding myself in the general area of the hotel , I popped in and found a quite corner with a lake view. Despite there being a big wedding in attendance, I still found a quite place on my own to enjoy a BLT and a coffee, nothing too demanding but the amount of establishments that can get it so wrong. Then last weekend on foot of my previous good experience I visited again with my better half. We both had a really excellent experience because of both the food and service. I had the special, southern chicken and pepper sauce , while the better half had the carbonara. Both we're delicious cooked to order but worth waiting for. The food exceeded all expectations, fresh , tasty and very enjoyable . Then there was the service , which topped off a good meal. We had a young local guy waiting on us and he was so nice and diligent, checking on us regularly and bringing extra pepper sauce when requested. It really was a lovely way to pass away a Saturday afternoon, good food, lovely view of the lake watching the boats a SUP paddlers going by.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyneadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    157
    37
    16
    13
See reviews for
217
174
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Family event nearby and large group of us with children checked in for one night only.... really pleasant hotel, staff great, lovely views, pool with slide brilliant for children, family rooms spacious and comfortable... we would definitely return
Caitriona

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caitrionag2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Really enjoyed my stay at the Lakeside in Killaloe. The room was very spacious with the usual provisions, ie TV, tea/coffee. Check in was pretty efficient, informative and friendly. Bathroom was very clean with plenty of towels. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we were going to town for a concert.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 195Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed overnight in the Lakeside on a Saturday night. Booked at short notice and to be honest wasn't expecting a whole lot. I was very pleasantly surprised. The staff are great, friendly and helpful. The food was good. The hotel is a little dated but very clean and we'll maintained. The view is fantastic. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaregirlClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We had very enjoyable stay recently at the Lakeside Hotel & Leisure centre. Even though the hotel is dated, it is more than compensated for by the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the food. Firstly, we upgraded our room to a lake view. The room was very comfortable and spacious. All mod-cons were available except a hotel-room fridge. A problem with a stuck bath drain stopper was sorted out promptly next day when a plumber was called to rectify the issue. Our package entitled us to breakfast and dinner. The food was spectacular and we were served by very friendly and helpful staff.
The hotel has lovely gardens with interesting gravel walks and there is access to a floating dock on the river.
We also availed of the busy Leisure Centre which consists of a 17m pool with all the usual offerings. There is also an ice cold plunge pool, which is a rare offering these days as they are not allowed in newer leisure facilities. The gents change rooms could be maintained in a cleaner state as the facility is very busy. There also seems to be a problem with patrons 'divebombing' in the deep end of the pool, despite written warnings on the pool walls - saying 'no diving'. One boy climbed onto the water chute over the pool and jumped into the deep end while a swimmer (swimming lengths) approached. Dangerous and nobody admonished him!
We had a wonderful stay at this spectacularly situated hotel and used Ballina/Killaloe as a base to explore the beautiful countryside around Lough Derg.
We will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding last weekend. Lovely clean room with very comfortable bed. Staff are very friendly and location is excellent. Could not fault it as a wedding venue everything was perfect. Loved the service at the top table very professional from all involved! Lovely walks down by the river very scenic. Food excellent and drink very reasonable.overall great stay!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HelenBling2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We went here with our 5 and 7 year old daughters for a night and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was spacious and great value and the staff were very friendly and proactive. As it was raining we spent a lot of time in the pool which is perfect for little ones as they can swim or stand in the 2foot pool and the water slide was a big hit with parents and children.

The bar and food were great too. For a family with young kids, its not luxury 4/5 star hotel, but it's a brilliant find for a 3 start hotel... in a beautiful town.. and fantastic value...

We will be back

Room Tip: room 309 corner family room is very big and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cath w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killaloe
0.4 mi away
The Killaloe Hotel & Spa
24.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
420 reviews
19.4 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,149 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,555 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Lakeside Drive, Killaloe, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Killaloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Killaloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Lakeside Hotel & Leisure Centre in Killaloe on the County Clare and County Tipperary border. This Family Friendly Hotel is situated in a stunning location on the banks of the river Shannon, proudly overlooking the twin towns of Ballina Co. Tipperary and Killaloe Co. Clare with its famous 13 arch bridge and 13th century cathedral, St. Flannans. With its innate sense of peace and warmth, it is often described by locals as "Ireland's Best kept secret" and is one of the top hotels Clare has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Killaloe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing