We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of unspoiled paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 6 Kilkee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A piece of unspoiled paradise”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Location, location, location and so much more! We stayed in 7 different B&Bs through Ireland and while they were all great, The Strand stole my heart! The rooms were good, the food was lovely and the views were spectacular. My favorite part was hanging out in the sunset over looking the ocean, enjoying some Ireland cheer and culture in the comfy seats out front! John and Caroline were delightful! Highly recommend! Can't wait to return some day!

Room Tip: We had 4 rooms and all were good size and ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    26
    6
    8
    6
See reviews for
49
52
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rosenallis, Laois, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I travel to beautiful Kilkee Co Clare every summer for holidays,
I always book in to The STRAND .It's a must!!!
however, this year I left it to late and was disappointed to find it was booked out,
and why wouldn't it be????
It is without question the most central Guesthouse in Kilkee, if you love sea views and the sound of the sea, I have to say I would highly recommend The STRAND Guesthouse, The view from the bedrooms overlooking the Bay and the beautiful sunsets are amazing,
The STRAND is very well run and is most accomodating, both Johnny and Caroline (proprietors) have a very warm welcome for their guests and you are made to feel their warm hospitality right away when you step inside the door.
It is a family run Guesthouse and is kept to a very high standard indeed.
The rooms are very modern and impeccably clean and this standard is maintained throughout.
The STRAND provides excellent value for food, location, and pristine cleanliness, I couldn't find fault in any way and return to the STRAND time and time again. I just need to book it earlier next time I'm visiting Kilkee.
Best wishes to Johnny and Caroline keep on doing what you're doing .You make it look so easy!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

A comfortable room wit immediate sea views, a friendly welcome, and outstanding cookery. The room, though very clean, was a little tired in the fixtures and fittings, but the food more than made up for it. An excellent place to stay, and we're very likely to be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariamerking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Lunched with my parents who honeymooned here 48 yrs ago. They were delighted with the place still being there. Da had the fish special, cod and chips. Some size and lovely, enough to give us a taste! Crab open sandwich slightly over powered by the red onion otherwise good. Club sandwich also went down well. €100 for 5 including wine and beers..... We had more than 1 bottle. Sat outside in very comfortable seats in lovely weather all very continental except for lack of and umbrella!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cilldara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Strand in early July 2013 and truly enjoyed our stay. Johnny and Caroline were great hosts and very personable. The view from the room was amazing, looking right over the beach. The room was clean and quiet. The location is great, not only right on the beach, but close to the Loophead, boat to Scattery Island, Kilrush and the ferry across the Shannon River. Parking was always available right in front of the guesthouse. The bistro had great service and food (the best salmon in Ireland!), having the restaurant downstairs is a wonderful option for when the weather is a bit chilly and wet. We will definitely stay here again when we return to the Kilkee area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandiLakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Well, We loved this place.
We had read that 1 star review by a single man who complained about squeaking floor boards etc and then we had read 2 or 3 other reviews giving 5 stars - So whilst Eliz was opting for another B&B , I wanted to give this place a try. Well we both dont regret my decision at all. (Not often I have a win). We have been free wheel traveling in Ireland for 5 nights now and last nights meal was the best food we have had to date. The baked SeaBass with a herb crust was delicious and so was everything else. Apple crumble to die for. Friendly staff - smiling happy helpful with time for a chat. Cant rate the place highly enough. And yes, it is a 100 year plus old building so it does have some quirks, but this is part of the charm. That is why we are travelling between little Irish villages. Love the atmosphere. Cheers Peter and Elizabeth Dance

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Enjoy the comfort of large armchairs in the sitting areas and bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I had a wish list for summer 2013 ... A sun holiday by the sea... wish granted ........... both Jerry & myself had the most beautiful few days in The Strand Bistro and Guesthouse. Staff excellent on an extremely busy and warm night. they went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable & enjoyable as possible... we slept & woke to the sound of the sea........food excellent ... one of the best places I have stayed in a long, long time at an affordable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahsloane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnnykilkee, Owner at The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thanks a lot Jerry and Sarah for your nice comments .... Thanks also for your business and we at The Strand are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves so much ...looking forward to your next visit.....
Johnny and Caroline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
0.1 mi away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
211 reviews
14.2 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Kilkee Bay Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kilkee
146 reviews
14.5 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,243 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilltop Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse

Property: The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse
Address: Strand Line, Kilkee 123, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This house popularly known as "The Strand" is now owned by Johnny (the Chef) and Caroline Redmond and Family. The Redmond's are the fourth generation of a family that have been in the business of catering and hospitality for 'visitors' to Kilkee for practically 160 years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing