We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view was the only positive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 6 Kilkee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The view was the only positive”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Ate here recently with friends and was extremely disappointed. We all ordered Triple Deckers, although given the wildly inconsistent standards between plates, one would think that we had placed several different orders. Mine was the last to arrive and was pretty meagre, with nothing but a measly piece of tomato and chicken between two very thins slices of bread on some of the sandwiches on my plate. The service was very abrupt, bordering on rude. However, the staff at the bar when we paid were more friendly.

Positives: The view of the sea. One of our groups's sandwiches was inexplicably well filled and as described on the menu. Had all our food been of that standard we would have been much more pleased.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Olga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    26
    6
    8
    6
See reviews for
49
52
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Wa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Strand during our month long bicycle tour of Ireland. We liked both Kilkee and the Strand so much that we opted to spend an additional night and make a "rest day" enjoying both the town and the Strand. We enjoyed the sound of the waves from our view room. Johnny (owner) was most welcoming and helpful. He does a great job as chef in the kitchen as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattle1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorthuizen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

During our trip through Ireland, from 22 to 29 May, we stayed two days in Kilkee. It was the highlight of our trip! From Guesthouse The Strand we made beautiful trips along the cliffs, in kilkee as well as in Loop Head.
The Strand is beautifully situated on the bay, from the room you can enjoy the breathtaking beauty of the sunset. The price - quality ratio of the rooms in The Strand is excellent; For little money you get everything you need!
The friendly and helpful owner Johnny Redmond gave us valuable tips for our stay. As a result, we have seen the dolphins at Loop Head.
From The Strand, you easally can go by foot to the village amenities such as restaurants, shops, pubs etc.
If you ever go to the west coast of Ireland, The Strand in Kilkee "the place to be!" We loved it!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 388Rob_St
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire, uk
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for a weekend break and it was just lovely, from the welcome owners to the stunning views across Kilkee bay. Restaurant food was excellent especially the crab claws.Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munstermag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A really pleasant stay at the Strand, Kilkee whilst working in County Clare for a week. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and have fantastic views across Kilkee bay. Thirteen of us used the restaurant for a meal on the Thursday evening, and every meal was served hot, with no delay. The staff are really friendly and ensure that every detail is attended to.

A real pleasure, and I can't wait to visit again.

If you are travelling as a tourist, there is so much to see and do, that you won't be disappointed. I would suggest taking the dolphin watch boat trip on the Shannon estuary.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimDav15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Myself and my wife had a great time here, will definitely be back, could not be better. The owner made us feel right at home and the views of the sea were just amazing. Everything is here,. My wife would be back tomorrow. Thank you Jonny

Room Tip: any room with a sea view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenmoore2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

If you make it to Kilkee, then stay at the Strand Hotel which is actually down by the sea on Kilkee Bay. The hotel is well appointed and has been updated to suit today's traveller. Having visited Kilkee many times over the decades and stayed at numerous fine accommodations, our family find this the best of all with location, décor, furnishings, the fabulous history, great food in the Bistro / restaurant and of course the hospitality of the "Redmond Family", your hosts for your stay.

If you listen carefully during your stay at the Strand Hotel you may hear the call of the Sirens beckoning and wailing from the Atlantic Ocean.

Make sure you book the dinner and a table by the window.

Room Tip: Book in advance or call Johnny direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
0.1 mi away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Kilkee Bay Hotel
#5 of 5 in Kilkee
146 reviews
14.2 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,259 reviews
21.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
356 reviews
7.6 mi away
Trump International Golf Links & Hotel Doonbeg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse

Property: The Strand Seafood Bistro and Guesthouse
Address: Strand Line, Kilkee 123, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This house popularly known as "The Strand" is now owned by Johnny (the Chef) and Caroline Redmond and Family. The Redmond's are the fourth generation of a family that have been in the business of catering and hospitality for 'visitors' to Kilkee for practically 160 years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing