We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From a family of seasoned campers - thank you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Purecamping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Purecamping
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“From a family of seasoned campers - thank you!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at Purecamping for a week in August and really enjoyed ourselves. The campsite is very natural and beautiful, facilities are clean and more than adequte, and we totally support the eco philosophy. For us seasoned British campers, the kitchen was a novelty and very much appreciated. The dome was also a great (and dry) option for younger children. We would definitely go again. One small downside for us: the site is geared towards camping, or 'glamping' in the bell tents. There are only a couple of hard standing areas for camper vans, as no vehicles are permitted on the grass. Would be really good if there had been a small shop selling a few staples: bread, milk etc. and we could have had a bit more choice re where we parked our camper.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAsteroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
13
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westport
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

PureCamping is just fabulous.. Having stayed in a BELL TENT recently as a 1st time camper and a not very well prepared one at that - even I would rate it highly and go back!
It is a lovely quiet location - QUERRIN Village - and the site is private and quiet. Once you drive in the laneway you find yourself in an oasis of quiet and calm with a beautiful view over the sea on Loop Head Pennisula. The cars park is away from the tents, adding to the quiet and safety for kids.
Everything seems to be well thought out, I didn't see the wheelbarrows on the day we arrived so lugged the bags to the tent. Lucky then we were staying in a Bell Tent and didn't have a load of equipment. But this is a great idea, to wheel all your luggage/equipment to your tent or pitch (if you bring your own tent.). Needless to say, we availed of a wheelbarrow when leaving.
The Bell Tent was surprisingly comfortable, with futon style beds (linen provided), so didn't need to bring any bedding/sleeping bags. We got one without the stove as it was August, and it was plenty warm enough! Big enough to stand up in, so not a cramped feeling at all. Myself and 2 small girls shared a tent with 3 single beds, enough room for us and couple of bags.
Children slept well, me - not so good! But that was probably due to the fact that I'm not used to sleeping in a tent, rather than any reflection on the tent itself.. It was a bit windy on the 2nd night.
Each Bell Tent is also provided with a large(? It seemed large to me, but again no expert on camping!) cooler box in the camper's kitchen - didn't know this before arriving, very useful and thoughtful. But being a 1st time camper - I wouldn't thought to ask! You can put perishable food and other items in them & leave in the kitchen during your stay.
The camper's kitchen is basic, but more than adequate. Gas cooker (another pleasant surprise - I was afraid I'd have to cope without coffee in the morning !), so again no need to lug camping stoves. Unless you want to of course in true camping style! The site didn't seem to be full or that full (not sure what the max capacity is); so we never had any problems using the kitchen (or showers) when we needed to. Also sink and couple of picnic style benches with chairs.
I was with 6+7 year old nieces, so up early and 1st in the kitchen at breakfast time..
Lots of bins - all labelled for different types of recycling & waste - big emphasis on green living and no waste. Good to see..
The toilet & shower blocks are great facility (ladies & gents), with 2 good showers in the ladies. Can't comment on the gents! Assume it's the same.. Clever note in the toilets recommending users to have a 'navy' style shower and conserve water. The shower was hot both mornings with enough water. There was also solar powered shower, but didn't try these.
Playground on site for the children, which all seemed to love. Also some animals - 3 dogs, cats, chickens & donkeys. Children (especially younger ones) would have plenty to amuse them onsite and also big green area & woods to run around in...
The site is located approx. equidistant from both Kilkee & Kilrush. Kilrush has couple of supermarkets and other shops - handy to stock up with supplies enroute.
Kilkee is more of the tourist/visitor town, with several different restaurants and dining options. Lovely beach on a horseshoe shaped harbour. The weather wasn't great beach weather when we visited, but the kids enjoyed running around on the beach nonetheless.
And of course Loop Head Pennisula itself is just stunning, lovely drive around the Loop. Carrigaholt, Kilbaha & Loop Head Lighthouse all nice spots to visit. There is a great children's playground in Kilbaha, if small people fed up of the drive..
Trea was very helpful with booking and both herself & Kevin (and Ashling!) were lovely to deal with during our stay. Couldn't be more helpful.. The children were invited to feed the donkeys on 1 morning, which they enjoyed.
Note to self (for future visits) - torch is a good idea when camping!
Lovely stay, different & quiet, very pleasant break from the rush & stresses of modern life! Would definitely return.. Maybe avail of a yoga class..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marzi_1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinHeapes, Owner at Purecamping, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
It has been great to get all the responses and reviews that have been written over the season. Thank you for writing this in depth account of your stay here. It is helpful for us to get a view from the other side ... and a very nice one indeed and a pleasure for us at the end of our season. Things quietening down now and we are reviewing all our feedback .. .good and bad. so that we can try to meet the needs of all of our visitors and keep the ethos of Purecamping intact. Thanks !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Myself , my sister and 5 kids ranging from 16 down to 11 stayed here for 4 nights last week. It was our last hurrah before school started back. We weren't really sure what to expect and didnt come very well prepared. Luckly we had booked the large Bell tent with Bed linen included. The only important thing we didn't bring was a camping light for night time. We availed of the freshly made pizza dough and booked the pizza oven one night. The older lads kayaked in Kilkee and we swam in Pollock Holes in kilkee. We had a complete break from TV's and Internet. Loved the hens and Cock wandering around the tent and Trea and Kevin couldnt have been more helpful.
We met lots of lovely people and had a really great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valr62_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Purecamping is, simply, the best campsite. It is an absolute joy to stay somewhere that has been well thought through by people who have obviously done a bit of camping themselves and have an idea of what campers need. And that this has all been done with such a care for the environment too is proof that it can be done (and done well) that everywhere else should take lessons from. We brought our own tent but the pre-errected bell tents looked lovely (and reasonably priced). The dome is amazing as other reviewers have said, and there's a climbing frame and slide etc for the kids too. There are no cars on site, they're left in the car park at the top, but there are plenty of wheelbarrows and a big sturdy trolley to cart your gear, and it means to qualms about letting the little ones roam freely. They will make friends with other kids as quickly as you will make friends with other grown-ups. There's still enough space for kid-free grown-ups to not feel overrun. If I could add one thing it would be a toilet or two at the bottom of the site, near the kitchen and the solar-heated showers to augment the (warm, spacious and spotless) toilet & shower block at the top of the site. In all, our stay here was blissful and I would love to be able to return one day to check out the wood-fired sauna, the pizza oven, the yoga classes and to camp 'wild' in the eight acres of woodlands!

Room Tip: Each of the bell-tents has different features so pick what you need. If you've got your own tent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kh8081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liscannor, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This is my first review in a long time but we all had such a special time here it would be a sin not to post one. Stayed here the other night with two friends and our youngest member, an 11 week old baby. At the beginning, we were attracted by the yoga but even though it was on different days to the ones we stayed we still decided to stay. Best decision! From the very first phonecall to enquire about purecamping, we got such a warm vibe from the owners..Trea and Kevin. At first we were going to take the offer of a bell tent for the little ones sake but after a chatty and enthusiastic Lughadh gave us a tour of the beautiful woodland we decided to pitch our own tent in the 'wild'. Everything about our stay was amazing including all the lovely animals and chickens who themselves added to the great atmosphere. We cooked a fabulous meal in the campers kitchen where we met many other interesting travellers, then had a lovely singsong by the campfire, and were lucky to arrive on the night of a meteor shower. We lay back beside the fire and must have seen about 50 shooting stars. When we phoned our respective 'other-halves' who were about an hour up the coast all they could see were clouds. We sure felt lucky. Trea and Kevin were such gracious, accommodating hosts offering extra blankets for the little one and even lending us other random items we had forgotten. The next day although the time seemed to vanish it still felt as though we had been there for days as we all felt so comfortable and relaxed. The solar shower was an experience in itself. Definitely the most environmentally-friendly campsite I have ever been at.We will definitely be back. Thanks for such a memorable stay :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeannemckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I'm still listening to my 2 year old son talk about the "dome" a magical place especially for kids. He hasn't many words but "dome" is most of them. We stayed for 2 nights and it was the most perfect holiday I've had since my days backpacking. Our son had a his leg in a cast and couldn't walk very well until he arrived and forgot all about his leg and ran up and down the site with the other children. They have a great campers kitchen and pizza oven if you need it. We drank hot chocolate at the open fire under the full moon, what more could you ask for. We'll definitely be back and this time I might try the yoga on offer.
highly reccommended!

Room Tip: also have bell tents to hire if you haven't got your own tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scalthain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of July, and loved it. Friendly owners Kevin and Trea, with Kevin always on hand to chat to or ask questions of. Great facilities - solar showers, home-built sauna and pizza oven, sheltered area for washing up and eating...
It's also great to stay somewhere that you can see has been developed with the local environment in mind.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca_hazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
3.8 mi away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
3.8 mi away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Kilkee Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kilkee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
16.2 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilltop Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purecamping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purecamping

Property: Purecamping
Address: Querrin | Kilkee, Co. Clare, Kilkee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Kilkee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Purecamping, experience nature, and renew your energy. We offer a step back in time camping experience. The site, with its 10-acre native woodland, is south-facing on the Shannon Estuary. Luxury furnished bell tents, complete with stoves. Standard pitches in the main field, or for the more adventurous, in the woods. Eco-technology: solar panels/wood boiler, rainwater harvesting, well water, and reedbed Standard and compost toilets. Campfires allowed. Recycling and composting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Purecamping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing