We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleaning staff need a bit of praise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilkee Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
1 review
“Cleaning staff need a bit of praise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I see a lot of reviews saying that the rooms are outdated but nothing about the excellent cleaning staff that must put a lot of work into those rooms to make them look respectable. One of the girls in particular (Claire, i think her bag said) was real a pleasure to meet and talk to. She had no bother with any job i asked her to do and with three kids with me it felt like i was running to her the whole time. She was respectable, kind and very professional for a young girl who seemed to be everywhere at once. She always had a smile on her face and made me feel welcome in hotel. The same can also be said for the two girls at the front desk (Niamh amd siobhan?) both of them went out of their way to be nice me and my kids. The food and service was beyond excellent as well but i really felt the need to say that these girls went out of their way to nice and that the cleaning staff needed a bit of praise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkeeBayHotel, Manager at Kilkee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Sincere thanks for taking the time to write this review of our hotel and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found members of our team to be friendly & courteous. We do believe its the people you meet that really enhance your experiance and are delighted that you acknowledged our hard working team for this.
So great to hear you enjoyed both the food & service while staying with us and your comments have been passed onto all our team.
Please do keep an eye on our website and Facebook page for future special offers as we would love to welcome you back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    39
    41
    15
    27
See reviews for
57
48
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Our room was clean,old decor.was able to open the windows wide open.no tv remote.
Reasonable breakfast.
The stuff at the concierge were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is situated at the village entrance,walking distance everywhere.
you get what you pay.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amiram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkeeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at Kilkee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
On behalf of our team, i thank you for taking the time to post this review and hope we will have an opportunity to welcoming you to the Kilkee Bay Hotel again someday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

After reading the favorable reviews, I made an online reservation for one night. There was nothing good about this hotel. Claim new ownership & renovations; however looking at the decor, those renovations must have been in the 1950's. Beds, linens, towels, TV and fixtures were very old and outdated. Worse bed I have slept in. Overall look of hotel is dingy. Lobby had large leather couches with cheap blankets covering what is probably damage leather. Advertise Wi-FI, but there was no reception at all in the rooms and extremely poor & weak in the lobby and after resetting the modem. TV had no remote and there were not spares around. We had breakfast and were glad to be checking out.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrooklynNYMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkeeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at Kilkee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write your review.
As we have only just reopened in June 2013 under new ownership & management, it is important for us to get feedback in order to improve our facilities and services throughout the hotel.
Maintenance in a building of this age and size is an ongoing issue for which we employ a full time maintenance man and have a number of tradesmen on call to rectify any issues that may arise promptly and with minimal disruption to our guest
In relation to the WIFI, currently there is no wired broadband coming to the town of Kilkee, therefore our only option is wireless broadband which is not as consistent, and unfortunately we have no control over it but have done our best to provide the service in our Lobby area
On behalf of our team, i thank you for taking the time to post this review and hope we will have an opportunity to welcoming you to the Kilkee Bay Hotel again someday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The bedrooms in this hotel are in serious need of an revamp. Beds appeared clean & bathroom was ok. We moved the bed in the room when we got there in against the wall as I had a baby with me & all underneath the bed was pop corn & dust. Reception had it dealt with straight away.
Breakfast the next morning was just a plate of grease, I personally couldnt eat it so I just had some coffee & toast. We didnt eat an evening meal in the hotel so cannot comment on the bar food.
The staff in the hotel are the one good thing they have got going for it extremely helpful & friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkee, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is the second time I visited the bar for a meal at the Kilkee Bay Hotel and on both occasions the service was second to none. The food was beautiful and well presented. If I have one small complaint, and it's not really a complaint, the starter I had tonight was big enough to be a main. I had the Buffalo strips on a salad bed but had to leave some to make sure that I had room for the swordfish that was my main. Both courses were excellent. Next time I'll do what I did on my first visit and have a main and dessert. Living in Kilkee I have no need to stay at the Hotel itself but have found the reception and bar very well furnished with very helpful and attentive staff. As a lone diner the waiter, I think his name was Anthony sorry if it is not, took time to have a small chat with me at the end of my meal. I will deffinately be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janetaManchster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkeeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at Kilkee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, Anthony & Our Kitchen team are particularly delighted that you had pleasant experiences and we hope you will call and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

My family and I (20+ people) stayed in the homes/apartments adjacent to KBH. During our stay, Dan was extremely helpful, from organizing a dinner in the hotel bar for our large crowd to helping me out with information for a garage when a rental car emergency came up. Also helping Dan out with the garage info was a lovely lady - can't remember her name, but they gave me this info on Friday July 26, after 9pm. Thank you KBH staff, y'all are rockstars!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryTowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkeeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at Kilkee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
It was a pleasure to share your lovely review of our hotel with the team here at the Kilkee Bay Hotel. We are so glad that your party enjoyed their time in here and Dan is over the moon at the mention! Thanks again and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Enjoyed a lovely night at kilkee bay hotel!
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Rooms a little dated needing to upgrade TV's !
Ate in bar which did take over a hour to come but was very nice.
Group booking and all enjoyed stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hevbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkeeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at Kilkee Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, it is important that we hear all comments in order to continue to improve our facilities and service throughout the Hotel, the team here hope to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
0.7 mi away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
14.3 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
23.0 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkee Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkee Bay Hotel

Property: Kilkee Bay Hotel
Address: Kilrush Road, Kilkee ., Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilkee Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management following extensive renovations and redecorating May 2013, Kilkee bay hotel offers a warm friendly “cead mile failte” in comfortable 3 star surroundings.All of our newly redecorated ensuite guestrooms combine comfort and convenience offering light contemporary decor and modern furnishings Each is equipped with • Satellite television• Direct dial telephone• Tea/coffee making facilities• Hairdryer • Complimentary toiletries PJ's Bar is where you are invited to simply enjoy yourself in comfortable surroundings enhanced by vibrant conversation, stirring music sessions, plus of course one of the finest pints in Clare! Crokers restaurant serves a menu offering a host of fresh, locally sourced delicious dishes Our excellent conference and banqueting facilities make our hotel the ideal wedding venue and the only choice for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kilkee Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Kilkee
Bay Kilkee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing