We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”
Review of Kilkee Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Had a terrific time in Kilkee, Stayed in Kilkee Bay Hotel. It was a family weekend. We asked at reception to have convenient room for our parents and they gave them a lovely room. Staff at reception and bar great, really friendly and helpful. Food in bar was good and breakfast was generous if you were able for it. The hotel is only a 3 star and hotel reflects that, no pool or gym and rooms are standard but staff where brilliant and the rooms were great value 158 for 2 for 2 nights including breakfast. Kilkee is a hidden gem, great restaurants and fantastic beach

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkeeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at Kilkee Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentory review of the kilkee bay hotel
and in particular our team. Customer service and value for money is our main focus and i am delighted to hear you feel we are succeeding in this. We very much hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again to The Kilkee Bay Hotel in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Staff and facilities were satisfactory. Room clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good.

. On a Saturday night in West Clare ,the bar was totally empty. Not one tinkle of music---not even on the stereo.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkeeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at Kilkee Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

You review has been shared with our Management team and staff and thank you on behalf of everyone here for taking the time to post this review.
I hope that you will visit us soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed over with my family. From the moment we stepped into reception we felt like we were home, warm and inviting. Friendly staff and the room was lovely and spotlessly clean. Had a fine breakfast with a choice of both a buffet and sit down meal. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motor eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkeeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at Kilkee Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

I wish to thank you for choosing The Kilkee Bay Hotel on your recent visit to Kilkee.
The team here are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that it will not be too long before we get the chance to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Negative experience all round, from the shabby entrance foyer to our shabby room RIGHT next to reception to the receptionist who clearly doesn't know how to manage her time properly, keeping at least 8 people waiting to check in while she slowly looked up local attractions for other people who were just whiling away the time of day. Full payment was then demanded up front (huh?)
Terrible bar/restaurant experience. Friday evening, even though the place was empty, we decided to eat there. A group of 8 of us ordered clearly, with the waiter looking at each of us in turn and writing something down in his pad. 6 dishes arrived fairly promptly (with opinions ranging from 'sauce straight out of a can' to 'just ok' to 'goodish'). 2 of us were left waiting. And waiting. The others finished and when we politely asked about the missing dinners, the waiter told us 'oh sorry' he hadn't taken them down!!??!! Sigh. Many many tummy rumbles later they arrived. We weren't charged for them and were given a free drink but really............

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AylaPesaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Arrived at hotel on Saturday afternoon,it was very quiet hardly anyone around at all .Had to pay for our stay on arrival, I've never experienced that policy of paying on arrival before ,found that a bit strange . Room was ok ,clean and tidy very basic bed linen but the room was warm and clean . Bathroom was nice but the overbath shower sprayed onto the floor and it was dangerous and slippy . There was a menu posted for evening meal but the restaurant was closed and the woman on reception said they were serving in the bar , we waited for a good 10 minutes and no one came to serve us, so we left and ate elsewhere. We returned later that night and had a couple of drinks in the bar before retiring for the night . there was only about 10 people there altogether and it was not very warm ,but the barman was very nice . Breakfast was nice but basic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElizabethCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights (B&B) recently. Room on first floor was clean albeit a bit dated. View was not good as there was a lot of work going on around the place.TV was old but worked ok. Breakfast was in a large room with no view of 'outside'. While choice of cereals was basic, the cooked breakfast was lovely and filling while the brown bread was delicious. The Staff were very friendly and helpful. This was our first stay in this Hotel - we received a very good value for money deal. We look forward to returning in the future when work has been completed and rooms renovated/updated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nood408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkeeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at Kilkee Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. The Team here very much appreciate you comment regarding your breakfast and customer care you experienced. We were delighted to read that you plan to return and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

invited here for breakfast very poor selection of cereals
no original yoghurt left
pancakes and bacon very nice
no coffee left on tables if you wanted more you had to ask for it
pineapple juice not nice
orange juice ok

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TimB787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KilkeeBayHotel, Front Office Manager at Kilkee Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is important that we hear all comments, Good and Bad in order to improve our facilities and service throughout the Hotel
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
0.7 mi away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stella Maris Hotel
Stella Maris Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kilkee
230 reviews
14.3 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Spanish Point
603 reviews
7.3 mi away
Trump International Golf Links & Hotel Doonbeg
6.0 mi away
Hilltop Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkee Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkee Bay Hotel

Address: Kilrush Road, Kilkee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Price Range: £26 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilkee Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new management following extensive renovations and redecorating May 2013, Kilkee bay hotel offers a warm friendly “cead mile failte” in comfortable 3 star surroundings.All of our newly redecorated en suite guestrooms combine comfort and convenience offering light contemporary decor and modern furnishings Each is equipped with • Satellite television• Direct dial telephone• Tea/coffee making facilities• Hairdryer • Complimentary toiletries PJ's Bar is where you are invited to simply enjoy yourself in comfortable surroundings enhanced by vibrant conversation, stirring music sessions, plus of course one of the finest pints in Clare! Crokers restaurant serves a menu offering a host of fresh, locally sourced delicious dishes. Our excellent conference and banqueting facilities make our hotel the ideal wedding venue and the only choice for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kilkee Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Kilkee
Bay Kilkee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing