We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of Stella Maris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stella Maris Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I recently had a meal in the restaurant at Stella Maris with my family and the food was AMAZING and very good value. It was so good that we returned for a second meal on our last night (when we always try to find somewhere special) and we were not disappointed as again the food was exceptional with a good range of wine at reasonable prices. The only negative that impacted on our enjoyment was the waitress on the last night was very unfriendly and most unhelpful, unlike the young waitress on our first visit who was quite the opposite. But despite this we would go back and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Have the surf and turf - its really good! Also great steaks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tryan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

On a recent trip to Kilkee after a long, long absence, we decided to stay at Stella Maris and were both pleasantly surprised and had a great time.

When we arrived Anne showed us to our room which was spacious, bright, spotlessly clean with a partial sea view. The room was located away from the street, so was very quiet at night.

A tasty breakfast was served in the conservatory overlooking O'Curry Street, so it brought back so many good memories having spent many summers in Kilkee. Before breakfast I had a walk on the beach and then after eating I headed off around the town.

When in Kilkee again, we will definitely stay at Stella Maris.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calams_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

went here for a meal which we had booked for the meal was booked for 8 but we finally got a seat at 10.30 we had children with us it was a group of 10 7 adults and 3 kids bar tender was very unhappy in his job and never smiled nor made eye contact, felt that it was an effort for him to serve us
meal was not good, lamb cutlets well 3 was 19.99 and not worth the money, it was a plate of lettuce, hake was swimming in a bed of tasteless sea water i reckon. burger was boring, curry was more spud than chicken and children's portions were too small very expensive for what it was!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank VALEKIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Used this hotel for business purposes whilst on holidays recently. The hotel looks very pretty and easily identified as you enter the town. When we came into the hotel. It took 10 - 15 minutes before we could even locate a member of staff to try to order a pot of tea and something to eat. we got our pot of tea but were told we could not have anything to eat as there was no food for another few hours. It was our first time to visit Kilkee and we certainly did not feel welcome in the hotel. There were three older women who should really take a course in customer service and even try to look like they enjoy their jobs. As we had no choice of other locations we were in and out all week and felt maybe they might be a bit nicer each day we went in, sadly not. However we have to say the guys & polish (I think) girl in behind the bar were a pleasure and we left a nice tip to them for their service. the food was fab but really was a let down on the other hand with certain others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My family and I enjoyed a fantastic meal in the Stella Maris Hotel.

We were a table of 8 adults and two children. We were given a table over looking Kilkee bay and were blessed with a beautiful Summer's evening.

The food was fantastic and the service from our Polish come Irish waitress was second to none.

Certainly worth a visit if you are ever in Kilkee.

Roger

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

One building stands out in Kilkee thats the "Stella Maris" Hotel and Restaurant, as its ideally situated at the top of the main road.
As we walked in, we passed people sat outside shaded from the evening sun from parasols. Cool bottles of wine and exotic cocktails looked tempting and called my name.
We were shown our table which had amazing views over the bay and was ideal for people watching.
The menu was full of delicious foods but for me it was always gonna be steak night.
So one sirloin steak with tarragon and balsamic butter later, I sat full, and marvously content.
Infact so content was i that I had it twice more that week.
I tried different starters all delicious but for me the Steak made the night.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank miniman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have always stayed at this hotel when visiting Kilkee. The location is perfect, right near the beach, smack in the middle of the town, plenty of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. The room was beautiful and large. We reserved dinner both evenings for the veranda which looks down over the town and really is the nicest spot in the hotel to eat. I would advise reserving your table even before you arrive at the hotel, the veranda is always busy. Our meal both evenings was wonderful. A fab dinner menu, the fish platter is to die for - I had it both evenings. There is a cheesecake on the dessert menu - just mouth watering. All of our party thought the same.

Breakfast is served til 10:30am. There is a buffet style plus a menu. The buffet consists of an array of cereals, orange, apple and grapefruit juice, and mixed fruit with plain yoghurt. There was a nice breakfast menu also but on both mornings the breakfast we ordered was quite poor. We found it to be very greasy, very overdone and not at all enjoyable. Also, on both mornings, we observed other guests asking for yoghurt and orange juice from the buffet as it was all gone but both times the waitress said there is no more. Surely there was more, the waitress just didn't want to bring it out. She did seem quite unapproachable too. This was 10am. Breakfast was served til 10:30am. But, having said that, we have had breakfast here many times before and it was always enjoyable - we're putting it down to just an off-weekend for the chef.

The owners and staff are very welcoming and chatty. Plus there is a lovely outside area at front of the hotel with chairs with thick cushioning, so comfortable, and such a lovely way to spend an hour watching people go by whilst having a drink. All in all, we would recommend this hotel and we will definitely be back time and time again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eireteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
0.0 mi away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Kilkee Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kilkee
146 reviews
14.2 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Spanish Point
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spanish Point
1,332 reviews
21.5 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
21.7 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel

Address: O' Connell St., Kilkee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Price Range: £83 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Stella Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Kilkee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing