We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay, but no lift” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella Maris Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stella Maris Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, but no lift”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is just a short walk from the beach. The rooms are both clean and comfortable. There are tea making facilities and free WiFi. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, from front of house to cleaners. The breakfast is more than adequate with a choice of cooked or cereals etc. We dined here twice and I have to say their beef lasagne was one of the best I have ever had, the Turbot was excellent too.
There were only two slight negatives from our point of view which is why I gave it 4 stars and not 5. 1- there is NO LIFT therefore anyone with mobility problems (and there were a few of us I noticed) has to negotiate stairs and carry luggage up and down same. No doubt the staff would help if asked. We had a lovely room on the top floor with a view of the beach but the final flight of stairs had no hand rail for the last 10 or so steps and was quite hair-raising. A hand rail is a much needed addition there. However, it was worth the climb if you want the view and the quiet.
The second problem was parking as there is no car park for the hotel. There are places to park in the streets if you are lucky but, again, you might have to walk a few hundred yards, so if you are less mobile get the driver to drop you before they go searching for a space. We were there at a weekend in August so it was extra busy, not as bad on the week days.
There is a great deli opposite the hotel, Nolans, which does great sandwiches and wraps for a reasonable price although the hotel will do packed lunches. Beware the traffic in Kilkee especially round the hotel. There are about 5 or 6 roads junctions in a small area and there is no designated pedestrian crossing so you need to be alert. We actually saw one elderly gentleman knocked over by a car whilst we were having dinner at the hotel!!

Despite my minor moans this is a great hotel and I would recommend it

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor have a beach view and are reasonably quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrioleMcFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    54
    11
    10
    7
See reviews for
58
77
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Always love this hotel for food & service is fantastic & quick, everyone makes you feel so welcome too the staff can't do enough for you. Whole family thoroughly enjoyed there meal here def be back☺️☺️ well done guys

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

A meal to savour: Wonderful Lobster Thermidor, reasonably priced., my friend also really enjoyed her meal.
The friendliness and attention to detail from Anne and staff despite the hectic bustle of a busy evening created an enjoyable ambiance... Well worth a visit.
Anne M

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location, rooms are very clean and spacious and staff were friendly, helpful and well informed about the area. Food was top notch. Rooms at the front of the hotel had a view but were a bit noisy as faced the main area of the town but rooms in the back were very quiet. Would definitely recommend to others visiting the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a great view of the town and bay but rooms at the back of the hotel are quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HOwen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a few days here. Place is very welcoming, with live music on some days which makes the place rather lively. Ann is great and goes out of her way to help if she can. Food is pretty good as well. Location is right next to the beach and at the start of the Main Street. Room is spacious. Free wifi available- works better in the morning than at night probably due to the number of ppl trying to get on at night! Thanks for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessi071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here just for one night, as part of a wedding celebration, with other family members, it's a nice little hotel, simple, clean, friendly staff, and ok for one night.

Good breakfast, good daytime food menu, and great location, easy to walk anywhere in Kilkee.

The front rooms can be a tad noisey, as it's a lively place, but fun too!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stevecentlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkee, Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

lovely 3 course meal here in the dining room the stuffed chicken and ham was very nice so was the meringue the service was very fast there was around 70 people at this party and it went off very well everyone enjoyed it

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilkee
0.0 mi away
The Bayview
The Bayview
#1 of 5 in Kilkee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
14.2 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
14.4 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kilkee Bay Hotel
Kilkee Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kilkee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
23.2 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
21.8 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel

Property: Stella Maris Hotel
Address: O' Connell St., Kilkee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kilkee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stella Maris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Kilkee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing