We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dinner with views of sunset”

Lir at Kilkee Golf Club
Ranked #7 of 22 Restaurants in Kilkee
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Newly Renovated throughout, luxurious interior with panoramic ocean views. Cafe, restaurant & bar. Open to the public.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“dinner with views of sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Good value for evening meal. Three out of four of us happy. Medium to rare steak was served well done and had to be taken back and redone which meant we were almost finished when his meal came out. Disappointing but food was tasty. Staff friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    11
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bray, Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Visited this restaurant as part of a party of 17 on 16th July. It is in a great location, with great parking, overlooking Kilkee bay. Everything about it was great, with good food, and excellent, and friendly service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We were passing this restaurant for a walk up along the cliffs in kilkee and decided to pop in for a coffee and cake, we were so impressed with what we ordered we came back for dinner that evening. We had the crab claws and superfood salad for starter and then the steak and sea trout for main course, vanilla mascarpone and raspberries and a crumble for dessert. All the food was beautifully presented and delicious. Staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Great value drinks as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. While the weather was not great it was still lovely to sit and enjoy the amazing views out over the bay. Will definitely be back!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything just great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I had the best mushroom risotto ever! And the chocolate fudge cake is to die for!
Amazing views too!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I have dined at Kilkee golf club on many different occasions under several different managements but I have to say that since Deirdre took over the management of the restaurant relaunched as Lir there has been a noticeable improvement in the range and quality of meals available.

Presentation of all meals from gourmet sandwiches to evening dinner is marvellous and service is extremely good. Membership of the golf club is not required in order to frequent Lir and prior booking is not necessary. We have found the prices to be very good value and I would highly recommend the seafood chowder!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vonniemacmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lir at Kilkee Golf Club also viewed

Kilkee, County Clare
 
 
Kilkee, County Clare
Kilkee, County Clare
 

Been to Lir at Kilkee Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing