We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cliff side cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean right on your doorstep
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean right on your doorstep
You'll love the charm and classic styling of Cliff Cottage This 1800's gem - tastefully restored to let its original character shine.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean right on your doorstep
You'll love the charm and classic styling of Cliff Cottage
This 1800's gem - tastefully restored to let its original character shine.
Main bedroom with spectacular sea and beach views
Cottage hallway
Lovingly restored original stone alcoves in the cottage hallway
Old world charm of the cottage
Bring your slippers and make yourself at home!
Towels and linen provided
Relax, unwind and enjoy the charm of the cottage
Well-proportioned rooms and original high ceilings add to the charm of the cottage
Main Bedroom ensuite with sea views
Twin Bedroom with en suite and breathtaking sea view
Ensuite for twin bedroom
Single bedroom with adjacent toilet and shower room
Bright twin bedroom with beach view, toilet and shower room adjacent
Stylish, yet highly functional kitchen
Kitchen area of open plan extension showing side entrance to the property
Fully-equipped, hand-painted kitchen
Dining area with seating for 8 people
Lounge area of open plan extension with cosy wood-burning stove
Dining and relaxing space, complete with wood-burning stove
Well-proportioned open plan kitchen, dining and living space
Dine al fresco, Irish weather-permitting!
On those balmy days, breathe in that fresh air!
View from front of cottage
Next stop, North America!
Unwind to the therapeutic sound of the waves on the rocks
At one with nature
Nearby Loop Head Peninsula - voted European Destination of Excellence in aquatic tourism 2010.
Choice of three golf courses on your doorstep-Kilkee Golf Club only a two minute stroll up the road
Carrigaholt Pier and Village 20 minutes drive away
Nothing like a fresh Atlantic swim in Kilkee's famous Pollock Holes
Dolphin watching - a must do! These incredible cruises leave regularly from Carrigaholt and Kilrush
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kilkee, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gill M
1 review
“Fabulous cliff side cottage”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

We booked Cliff Cottage in Kilkee, County Clare, for a family birthday celebration in May 2018. We flew into Shannon Airport, hired a car and drove the short distance to Kilkee. On arrival we parked up in the space provided outside the front door and were greeted by the delightful and welcoming owners of the cottage who showed us around the property – and what a property it is!

The cottage is a pleasant enough addition to its street scene but it keeps its real secrets for the bay side of the house. Three enormous windows permit the large living room and kitchen area unparalleled views over the stunning bay at Kilkee. These windows leave the living room wonderfully bright and airy and it was a real delight, whether eating a meal or relaxing in the comfortable armchairs or sofa, to have such a stunning panorama to enjoy. Bay views are further enhanced by the existence of a large patio that stretches from the windows to the harbour rock formations themselves. As with the rest of the house the proprietors have thought of pretty much everything and chairs and table are available for sitting out on the patio in good weather.

We spent a week at the cottage and at no point did we identify anything additional by way of equipment that we needed in the kitchen. The owners seemed to have thought of everything and their welcome pack of goodies was much appreciated. All the kitchen equipment was great quality, modern and, as with the house in general, spotlessly clean.

The cottage is wonderfully well appointed and equipped with high quality, modern, appliances. It is stylishly decorated throughout in pastel tones. The living room and kitchen form the natural hub for the house with bedrooms and most bathrooms reached by an interconnected, naturally lit, passageway.

In keeping with the rest of the house the bedrooms are very comfortable with those on the bay side again having great views over the town and harbour. The bathrooms are similarly well appointed and equipped and, as with the rest of the house decorated in a modern and attractive manner.

The owners made themselves available if we needed them and always responded quickly to any messages we sent or requests we had.

All in all, Cliff Cottage played an absolutely central part in our enjoying a great week’s holiday in the lovely town of Kilkee in beautiful County Clare.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
Many thanks Gill for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of Cliff Cottage. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay and you are most welcome back at any stage. Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully restored cottage with the most stunning views!”
Reviewed 30 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I stayed at Cliff Cottage for a three night break. On arrival we were met by Mary who showed us around her beautiful house. Mary had thought of everything that we could need, even a good supply of logs for the log fire. It is clear that a lot of attention has gone into the design and finishing touches to the cottage. It is luxurious but yet retains a very cosy and personal feel. we will definitely be back!!

Many thanks Mary!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah H
Pleasanton, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our Stay Here Was the Highlight of our Vacation!!!!!!”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I am still dreaming of this wonderful home! We were traveling with our adult children and everyone agreed it was the highlight of our family trip. The property and the owner are beyond compare. This historic cottage has been lovingly restored and should probably be featured in Architectural Digest. There are spectacular ocean views from every window, The house is right on the ocean! I love to cook and the kitchen was beautifully equipped. The house was immaculate. Another special bonus was the full sized washer and dryer. The cottage is a very easy walk to the restaurants and pubs in Kilkee. There is plenty of easy parking.

The owner is very kind and extremely patient. We had to text her a few times with questions and she always responded immediately. She greeted us at the cottage upon our arrival and gave us a delicious apple pie that her mother had prepared.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Deborah, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the cottage and for your very kind comments. Thrilled it rated so highly with all age groups in the house! It was a pleasure hosting you. Until the next time...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“pristine, stunning location, everything considered, generous, comfortable, probably the nicest place I have ever stayed!”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We loved our long weekend in this stylish, generously provisioned and,
oh so comfy, house. The astounding view is perfectly framed, there were
a series of jaw drops as each guest arrived, it really is amazing. We
loved the well considered kitchen, the tasteful decor and the warmth
that pervades. The workings of the house were clearly communicated and
Mary made sure we had all we needed to make it such a special place to
stay. Even all these superlatives don't do justice to Cliff Cottage, it
was a unique experience. Thank you very much Mary, we would love to do
it all again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2017
Thank you so much Ide for the incredible review - I was moved by it. It's always so nice to know that people appreciate the effort and love that has gone into Cliff Cottage. You and your friends are very welcome to revisit, Ide!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Seaside Cottage”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The view of Kilkee Bay from Cliff Cottage's wall of windows is both spectacular and mesmerizing.The weather by the sea changes by the hour and you have a front row seat from the comfort of the most beautiful and modern living space. Everything about Cliff Cottage, from windows to appliances to cabinetry, is first-rate.The kitchen and each of the four bathrooms are wonderful. All of the bedrooms are very well-appointed.
Mary and her husband Matthew met us at the cottage on our arrival.They are extremely nice people. Throughout our stay, Mary could not have been more helpful and accessible. There are several bars and restaurants within a short walk. The surrounding landscapes in County Clare are breathtaking. In short, if you choose to stay at Cliff Cottage, you will never regret it. There is no better place from which to explore and experience the wild Atlantic coast of Ireland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2017
Don, thank you for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to host you and thrilled that you enjoyed Cliff Cottage and all that Kilkee has to offer. Thank you for taking such great care of the cottage and leaving it as you found it, in perfect condition. Hopefully you are all hooked on The Wild Atlantic Way and that we will see you back in Kilkee and West Clare again soon. Kindest regards to all. Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dccc77
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular: fab as honeymoon venue!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Booked this for my hubby's birthday.. what a fabulous house, better than 5 star! Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated & personalised welcome for us! Would definitely recommend it as honeymoon vacation spot for overseas couples!! Pictures do not do it justice!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2017
Caroline, thank you for your very kind review. Delighted that David enjoyed Cliff Cottage to mark the occasion. Glad that you appreciated all on offer there. Best regards.Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila P
Lakewood Ranch, FL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wildly Exceeded our Expectations...on the Wild At,antic Way!”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

If you are looking for a home away from home to explore the wonders of West Clare the Cliff Cottage is an outstanding choice. With three generations visiting from the States we had ample room for privacy and comfort. The website photos are very representative of the property and yet we were still blown away on arrival by the views and amenities. The home is fully stocked. The weather even cooperated to allow for a couple of al fresco dinners on the patio. The town is easily walkable for restaurants, shops, or a visit to a pub.

Great location for visiting nearby sights: trip to Loop Head, visited our family farm in Glascloune, enjoyed a pint or two at the last bar til New York, a day in Galway, an overnight in Dublin and we enjoyed several rounds of golf at the Kilkee Golf Club.

Mary has done an outstanding job modernizing this traditional Irish cottage into modern day luxury. She couldn't be nicer or more accommodating to ensure a great holiday for us.

We look forward to another wonderful trip to Kilkee!

Slainte

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Sheila, it was a pleasure to host yourself and your family and delighted Cliff Cottage provided a good base for all you fitted in to the holiday. Looking forward to meeting you next time. Kindest regards. Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;