We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in the Heart of Cavan.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Farnham Arms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Home in the Heart of Cavan.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in the Farnham from Monday the 14th July 2014 to Thursday the 17th as a base for a fishing trip to Lough Sheelin. What a deal we got! Two nights B & B with one three course dinner, for two people, for 180 Euro - Then because we had booked the "midweek" package, we were given an extra night with breakfast for FREE! That works out at just 30 Euro per person, per night B & B with a free dinner. We were allocated room 318 which overlooked Cavan Main Street but as we were on the third floor, we did not suffer any street noise. Our room was a bit dated but clean, cosy and comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and well supplied with soap, shower gel, shampoo, shower cap etc. and the towels were excellent. Now a piece of advice - If you want a good breakfast, choose the full Irish. I swear you will not need to eat anything else until tea time. The food was excellent with a decent choice on the menu and you could have your meal in the dining room or Percy French`s bar which seemed to be the "hub" of activity in the hotel. More noticeably on a Wednesday night and weekends. We returned on the Wednesday night after visiting Margaret`s uncle and aunt to find a full blown Irish music session blasting away. Obviously we were welcomed with open arms and enjoyed the music and a few bevvies. The staff at the Farnham really do make you feel welcome and special in their own inevitable Irish manner, always smiling and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them. In my mind, that`s the way a hotel should be. Thanks to all, we will be back as soon as we can get away again.

Room Tip: I reckon you could enjoy this hotel regardless of which room you stayed in. There is free parking, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank THB T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    32
    14
    12
    12
See reviews for
23
32
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

On our way from Donegal to Galway, stopped in Cavan for lunch in the Farnham Arms hotel. Carvery had a fabulous display of food and salad bar looked very appetising. I had a tomato and basil salad with baby potatoes, curried rice, Cajun chicken and yoghurt. My husband had lamb cutlets, sautéed onions, spring cabbage and carrots and mashed potatoes. We both found our food delicious. For desert my husband had lemon meringue and I had lemon cheesecake, which were definitely homemade. We would definitely recommend this resteraunt and will be looking forward to calling in on the way back

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Connor336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stopped in Cavan and tried this hotel for an evening meal. We had a delicious meal in
the bar. There was an extensive choice and the service was friendly and efficient.
The food was serviced fairly quickly and was well presented and very tasty. The Guinness
was also excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed last sat nite rooms cosy and warm breakfast delicious order taken and cooked in kitchen Percy s bar had great music we had bar food I never tasted a steak a steak so good and tender it would melt in your mouth and the service was very good great hotel home from home and friendly

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1611ona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This family owned hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment and will surprise those who have stayed in the past.The reception area is warm and inviting and we found the front of house staff pleasant,helpful and professional.The carvery has been decorated since we were last there and we found the the food to be of a high standard.The bedrooms have not been changed at this time,but we were assured that they too were to be refurbished in the very near future.The staff throughout this hotel are pleasant and attentive.The central location makes this hotel an ideal place to stay in Cavan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skyranger912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend for a family reunion food is terrible accommodation is terrible been locked out of hotel when told some body would be there to let us in
Staff are brain dead this place should be shut down it belong in the dark ages

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cavan hotels

Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We didn't stay here but called into Percy's Bar on a Sunday afternoon to watch a match and have some barfood. The service wasn't great as the barman was more interested in watching the match. The food was just awful. It was inedible and overpriced. I'm disgusted that we paid for this and that we didn't didn't complain at the time but it was too difficult to get the barmans attention so we just left. I don't write many reviews but I just felt I couldn't let this one go. (p.s The lady who brought us the food was very pleasant).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
10.6 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
765 reviews
12.1 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
22.7 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breffni Arms Hotel
Breffni Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Arva
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farnham Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farnham Arms Hotel

Property: The Farnham Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Cavan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Farnham Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing