We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch this space”

Derragarra Inn Seafood & Grill Bar
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cavan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Watch this space”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

News has just reached us that the once popular Derragarra Inn is now in new ownership and is due to reopen for business in the Spring of 2014. At one time the Derragarra saw a brisk passing trade, but all of that changed when Butlersbridge on the N3 became by-passed and the inn's reputation began to fade over the past decade or so. Lets hope that the new owners facing an upward battle can make something of it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Cavan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    8
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I have reviewed this place before on a previous visit and it resulted in an unpleasant exchange of private messages with the chef the upshot being he accepted my review when I told him I still had the receipt! He then offered me a complementary meal to re review which I declined. However after he apologised I decided I would go back a few months later as I wanted to be fair.

We both again had fish but mains only. I cannot recommend, the plate was covered in multicoloured sauces and balsamic reduction with designs akin to a desert cobweb style with the fish plonked in the middle. It was a hot mess on a plate.

The service - when we sat down there were no wine glasses on the table, although all other tables had matched wine glasses. The bar tender searched around behind the bar for ages and brought us two mismatched glasses one which had a huge clip out the base. My partner had to be careful that it didn't tip over every time he replaced it on the table - it was kind off funny, we laughed.

The wine was placed on the table with the screw cap loosened, but no offer to taste or pour or any iced method of keeping it cool. We poured ourselves.

Faulty towers sprung to mind, we were at least having a laugh about it, although my partner was starting to make noises about having been dragged back to the place by me.

We were graced with being served our veg by the owner/chef. We know this because there was a photo of him in the window beside us. He said he would get us spoons to serve the veg but didn't return.

We had no further visits to the table by staff and we paid at the bar on the way out. The laughter had worn off.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Murray007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl River, NY
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great location, just okay food.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Spent an afternoon on their deck soaking up the sun and having a couple of pints. All great. Food was not great though, but setting your expectations at pub grub, it was edible and the location on the banks of the Annalee made up for any culinary shortcomings.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gudgels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not what we expected!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Called in to Satuday 23rd to thaw out from the chilly weather, we asked for a panni but waitress said chef wasn't making them as she was too busy!! There was 8 people in the bar area and a small family party was gathering in the dining area. We ordered soup and toasted sandwiches and tea. The tea arrived and 35 mins later the soup and toasties arrived, my friend with me wanted to get up and leave and I'm sorry now we didn't. Def won't be back!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sign said "Food served all day" at 3p.m. nothing available”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We visited for old time's sake at 3p.m a the sign outside said "Food served all day" we entered an empty premises, met a very pleasant member of staff who advised that the chef took a break in the afternoon so there was nothing available. I would suggest that the chef should have a break but surely a competent person could serve snacks, soup, sandwiches etc during that period. We went away hungry and sad that we could not reminisce. The above rating is not valid but the box had to be ticked for purposes of submitting the review

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank VeronicaL495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Derragarra Inn Seafood & Grill Bar also viewed

 
Cavan, County Cavan
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing