We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eddie Rockets of Cavan!”

Smith's Diner & Takeaway
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Fast food, American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: 65 Seater restaurant, american style theme, serving an extensive breakfast and lunch/dinner menu. Wine available. We strive to have a family friendly environment in relaxed and welcoming surroundings.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eddie Rockets of Cavan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

One of our favorite places to eat as a family. Great choice of food, excellent value for money and friendly and attentive staff. What more could you want.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Methekidsandhimself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Smith's Diner & Takeaway, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thanks for the review we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    28
    4
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super food, well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Have had lots of takeouts or sit-downs here, burgers, chips, tacos, potato skins, fish, very tasty, nice staff, new extended sit-down area is perfect for group, best in town I would have to say

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank irish59575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Smith's Diner & Takeaway, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thanks for the kind review it is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Takeaway ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Had a takeaway delivery from here when it opened and it was terrible, but put it down to they were just opened so gave it another go all I got was a Caesar salad and potato skins well now it was no Caesar salad it was lettuce and hard bacon smothered in Caesar dressing disgusting the potato skins were stuck to the packaging they was that much cheese on them . Wouldn't recommend it at all

Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maspeth52, Owner at Smith's Diner & Takeaway, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thanks for the review. What can I say once is bad twice is unacceptable I can assure you this is not the norm here. If you would like to contact me privately which I would greatly appreciate I would be more than happy to refund you or if you would allow me to remake the food to the quality that we have become known for and normally achieve. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Friendly staff and big portions of food. Love the Diner themed decor. Great spot for the whole family.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaFitzhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Had a takeaway from here and it was lovely,I got chicken wings and Chips and they both hit the spot,When i want a takeaway in cavan i prefer to go here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Of-my-chest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smith's Diner & Takeaway also viewed

 
Cavan, County Cavan
Cavan, County Cavan
 

Been to Smith's Diner & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing