We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Sitting in the hotel as I type this just had a great night from the room to dinner to breakfast was great food amazing and staff too would definitely return to cavan crtsyal hotel we were in a suite which was fabulous lovely Jacuzzi bath in it very happy with our choice of hotel

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Annbana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    239
    92
    32
    22
See reviews for
213
276
17
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
co. down
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed with a friend in the Cavan Crystal last weekend on a 2 night B+B, 1 evening meal and treatment deal. I have to say that I was impressed by the service from beginning to end. It was unusual to be contacted to book both the evening meal and treatment in advance- something that I think more hotels should consider doing. All the staff we encountered from reception to dining, leisure and spa were friendly and efficient. The rooms were a good size and beds very comfortable. The evening three course meal included in the deal was absolutely lovely. We used the pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and gym and all were very good. I really liked the fact that for breakfast you could order and have it brought to your table- something again that other hotels should do. There is nothing I hate more than waiting in a very long, irate queue for a piece of toast to pass through a machine! None of this at the Cavan Crystal :-) Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awardnominee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have stayed in the Cavan Crystal hotel a number of times and find it to be a good comfortable hotel. The rooms are large and the king beds are very comfortable. The rooms have all the facilities you would wish - but wifi can be a bit hard to pick up. The bar food is excellent and good value. The breakfast is great with eggs benedict on the menu. The only comment is that the hotel has dropped a bit in value with other hotels in Cavan offering better prices. That said I like the Crystal and feel it is worth the extra few euro.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked a family break for two adults and two children for 4 nights bed and breakfast with 1 dinner. The hotel was easy to find and check in was quick and efficient. There were carpets being fitted on the stairs and in the foyer when we arrived; which did make getting to our room a little bit of an adventure but wasn't a real problem. The carpets looked great. The room was well fitted out with a double and two single beds (plenty of room still). The bathroom was beautiful and looked like it had been revamped quite recently. We had an abundance of shower gel, shampoos and body lotion (3 of each) along with shower caps and soaps and these were replaced each day. The towels were proper bath sheets and were replaced each day if you left them in the bath. There was hanging space and shelves and drawers for storing clothing. There was a T.V (not a flatscreen) but it did the job; although limited channels but we don't go on holiday to sit and watch the telly anyway! There were tea and coffee making facilities which were also replenished daily. Our room was serviced everyday (the maids did knock and ask if we wanted the room serviced if we where still in the room).

Leisure facilities were great. The changing rooms although maybe a little dated were very clean. If you do have valuables to lock away simply ask for a lock when signing in at the leisure centre reception. The locks can be a little awkward to fit in the door lock but it can be done. Hats must be worn. The staff are very attentive and were out drying up any water on the pool side. The showers were lovely and warm. There were plastic bags for wet swim gear and 6 hairdryers for use in the ladies' changing rooms. The towels provided were super bath sheet sized towels which were great!

Breakfast was great- the normal selection of croissants, wheaten bread, cereal, fruit salad and delicious yoghurts (in lovely glass pots). You could then order a cooked breakfast, eggs benedict or pancakes with strawberries along with your tea and coffee and toast.

We ate on one night in the restaurant and it was all very scrummy.

The children attended the kids club and had a fabulous time. Definitely worth checking if the club is running when you book as it doesn't always run- just normally on main holiday periods. We tended to use the kids' club in the evenings when we returned from our days' out. The children would be asking what time it was as they didn't want to miss the kids' club.

You can access wifi. You just need to go to reception and ask for the wifi password and you will get a sheet with a four word password that you need to enter when you connect to the bitbuzz server (step by step instructions on what to do is on the sheet). Each password lasts for 24 hours but you just need to go and get a new password the next day- all very straightforward!

The staff are a true credit to the hotel. Every one of them was very friendly and eager to help out in whatever way possible. The receptionist who checked us in and out was particularly helpful (sorry- I didn't remember to get your name) and remembered our son's name on check out which is great attention to detail and made it feel like home from home.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moonbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Just back from a midweek stay in the Cavan Crystal and had a very enjoyable stay. A very impressive foyer and entrance. We had breakfast every morning and there was a great choice of cereals, fruit, yogurt and bread. Your order for the hot breakfast was taken at your table and served to you. Staff were very pleasant and efficient. We had dinner one night in the restaurant and that was also very enjoyable. We used the gym and pool and everything here was spot on. The room was a good size and everything was clean. Free wifi was available in the foyer and bar area. There was a buzz around the hotel as there seem to be a few other activities going on during the day. Overall we had a very pleasant break and it is also very easy to find the hotel, which is located opposite a retail park and near Aldi. If you like walking ask for directions to a nice lakeside walk in Killykeen forest park approx 8 miles from the hotel off the Killeshandra road (R198)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darragh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Decided to go on a last minute 2 night Break.
We dined in the restaurant on the first night. Food was excellent. The bar was busy on the second night but the staff were very attentive and kept smiling. Food was tasty bar food with some nice touches. The only downside was they were fitting carpets throughout the hotel on our second day and it was a bit noisy.
Great hotel We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CitygirlE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

HI All
Just back from a one night stay at this hotel and i have to say the staff are very helpful and can not do enough for you.
We got a family room ( 2 adults 2 kids ) room was very clean and comfortable ,food was excellent and the pool was very clean.
All in all a good experience only made better by the wonderful staff..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fletcher19gts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
2.7 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
11.8 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
23.5 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
566 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
11.3 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavan Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavan Crystal Hotel

Property: Cavan Crystal Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Cavan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavan Crystal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Otel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavan Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing