We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farnham Estate lovely as ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great hotel, location. Everything was lovely. Had the best night's sleep in a hotel ever! Lost of choice for breakfast. We enjoyed the walking trails in particular, as neither of us are golfers. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Yosdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Yosdesigns

Delighted you had the best nights sleep in a hotel ever! Delighted that you enjoyed the facilities here at Farnham Estate and thanks for your lovely comments, which I have passed to the team.

Lovely to read that you can't wait to come back and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,634 - 1,640 of 3,003 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked as overnight stay at family wedding - loved the hotel, it was clean and bright. The food at the reception was fantastic, and breakfast in the morning, set me up (on unsteady feet) for the rest of the day! The Estate is wonderful to go for a walk - if you can get out of the bed which is the most comfortable I have experienced other than my own! :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Robert B

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit for a family wedding and thank you so much for your lovely comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back and I hope you have just as nice a visit next time!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

As Captain of our golf society, we had the good fortune to book the resorts golf course and restaurant for my Captains Day. The course was not the best we ever played but provided the challenge we required, the facilities at golf reception are in a portacabin as were the changing and showering facilities which was disappointing, if the resort intends to securing more business in this area then they need to invest in a clubhouse.

After our round we retired to the main building and the bar, this was fine perhaps a little pricey, but this was a special day so we pushed the boat out. Our meal was held in the Botanic Restaurant and the food an service was first class.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Stewart T

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

I am sorry for any disappointed caused due to our facilities at our Golf Course. These are a temporary measure only and we do have plans for a full club house and facilities.

I am glad to read that you found food and service in our Botanica Restaurant to be first class and I have passed your comments to the team.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate again soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A souless money making venue that is most certainly not value for money. The majority of the staff are students of school leaving age or at University. For the better part they are courteous and friendly but they do not have the training or experience need in the Hospitality industry. They are of course cheaper to employ than trained experienced staff

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
2  Thank E1412EYjohnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear E1412EYjohnn

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit to Farnham Estate and thank you for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor Review.

I do hope that you enjoyed certain aspects of your visit.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a recent wedding, but this hotel would make a great getaway for couples. It's certainly not the cheapest hotel, but the quality of rooms, good and amenities makes the price acceptable. Make the most of the walking trails on the estate. The car park being some 400m from the hotel is a bit of a pain, but a free shuttle bus is available.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Andy_and_Adri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Andy_and_Adri

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit for a recent wedding and I do hope that you will get the chance to visit again for a couples getaway and make the most of all our facilities.

Thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Last year we went to Farnham and had a brilliant time so decided we would try and make it an annual thing! This year it was a little disappointing for a number of reasons. We felt that the hotel were trying to scrimp and save in areas, which we noticed straight away! I'm going to divide this review into pros and cons:

Pros:

Excellent, Friendly Staff and Service
Fabulous Breakfast, plenty! of choice
Maids work very hard and keep the rooms very clean.

Cons:

Only 1 shampoo and 1 conditioner left daily in bathroom for two people
Last year we had bottles of water on arrival for us in our room, this year there were none.
The walking trails, although a lovely edition to the place are overgrown and the bushes need a good cutting, we were whacked in the face a few times while walking!
As repeat guests we hoped we would get a good room,........we didn't we were in a small corner room next to the maids closet, the view was limited and obstructed!We could see into the room across from ours as could the guests in this room!Because there are no chiffon/net curtains........ once the draped curtains are open, you either leave the curtains open and have every joe soap gawking in or close the curtains and stay in your room in darkness even during the day!
Hairdryer didn't work thankfully I could use my mothers.
In mother and aunts room their safe had been removed from the press and so had to leave their valuables in the room.
Set menu in restaurant states in their book that it is 40 euro pp however it is 45 pp....bit steep.
A lot of the water therapy baths in the spa were not functioning and the outdoor pool area was covered in dry leaves on either side.
Also no lockers available to put our stuff in so had to carry valuables around at pool or leave them back in our room.

I think some improvements are needed perhaps spend a bit of money on what was mentioned above!I could not fault the staff they were fantastic but the maintenance needs better upkeep!

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms as view is obstructed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Realtin3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Realtin3131

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your second trip to Farnham Estate.

We do appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve our service to our guests. Please be assured that I will be discussing your points with my team in the coming days and thank you for bringing these to our attention.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding staff, which I have passed to the team.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate as we would certainly appreciate the chance of restoring your faith in us.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Got a voucher as a weddin present for 150 euro. This didn't cover the 180 euro Saturday night b and b rate. Quite expensive for a 4 star cavan hotel in all respects. The room is nice despite the fag butts outside the patio door. The smell of cigarettes still was present in the non smoking room. Had a few cocktails when we landed which were nice and profitable for the hotel. Had dinner in the packed hotel restaurant that evening . Food was very average. Service ok. breakfast the next morning was busy but as buffet breakfasts go it was fine. Overall after spending over 400 euro for a nights stay with drinks and dinners it is certainly not worth it. Overpriced but people at weekends are queuing up to get into it.
Nice clean hotel , we complained on checkout which was well handled by a senior member to be fair. Would we go back at them prices certainly not.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank btrav81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear btrav81

I am sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your visit to Farnham Estate.

Please be assured that I will be discussing your comments with my team. I am glad that your concerns were addressed to your satisfaction on check out.

I do hope that you will return as we would very much welcome the opportunity of restoring your faith in us.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
2.7 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
841 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Farnham Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
269 reviews
24.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
24.7 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort

Address: Farnham Estate | Farnham Estate, Cavan H12 H635, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range: £93 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing