We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2007

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank lucanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,983)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,946 - 2,952 of 2,983 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2007

Stayed here weekend of Jan 26-28. Spa & pool is excellent and wood/lake walks are great. Breakfast 10/10, really wonderful - exceptional choice and standard. I'd agree with all comments re the car park - ridiculous - and the lack of panache by the bar staff and room service...it took 4 phone calls, sandwiches only available and a it was a huge effort for them..other than that excellent. Very new, modern, stylish. Excellent house-keeping - towels changed twice daily..There was a wedding on but it didn't impact as you'd expect. Highly recommend the Olde Post Inn in Cloverhill if you want an alternative to the hotel restaurant - this place is wow - book well in advance! Fabulous service except for the somewhat cold manager - she may have been the owner - but her team of waitresses more than made up for her..

5  Thank holidayjunkieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2007

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is lovely, bright, airy and modern and the the spa is state of the art. My husband and I both had spa treatments.

The 3 negatives are that the carpark is away from the hotel and you have to wait for someone to pick you up. This is a bit bizarre and there are no signs (as yet - the manager says they are on the way) telling you how it operates. When we arrived we thought there was valet parking and drove up to the door. My husband then had to drop me off and drive back to the carpark.

The friendly manager did come out and offered to park the car for us though. The drivers always arrive within about 2 minutes but it does leave you a bit uneasy as to whether you're being picked up at all. Also it is a bit inconvenient to have to get a lift to your car all the time - say if you just wanted something out of the boot.

We had dinner, lunch and breakfast in the restaurant. The breakfast is out of this world - everything you could want for a buffet, from fruit salad and a selection of nuts, pastries, cheese to scrambled or boiled eggs, bacon, two types of sausage, the works. The only thing wrong with it was that the potatoes on offer were hard and undercooked. Otherwise it was delicious. The toast arrived fresh and on time both mornings too.

The dinner we had on the Friday was satisfactory. I had duck which was nice and my husband had the veggie option which was quite heavy but nice too. Unfortunately lunch the following day wasn't as pleasant. I ordered chicken which arrived slightly pink - some parts too pink to eat. I didn't bother sending it back but I said it to the waitress when she collected the plates. She explained that it was pink due to the way it was killed. I protested that regardless all of the pink should have been cooked out of it. The potatoes were also hard for lunch but that seems to be a bit of a policy ! They were too hard to eat. I was surprised that the waitress didn't mention the chicken to the manager and nothing was done - we were charged the full amount for lunch. However I didn't bother complaining and the dessert nearly made up for it as it was delicious.

On departure I discovered that when the hotel had taken my card on check-in two transactions were put through (instead of just "pre-authorisation". When it came to settling the bill the full amount was debited again and this pushed my (deliberately) small limit over so it came back "unauthorised". This was quite embarrassing as there were other people checking out behind us. I explained to the girl that she had debited me twice and although she still protested the original was only a "pre-authorisation" she reversed it and the bill went through ok.

Also - the spa was fully booked on the Saturday so we had to have our treatments on the Friday. I get the impression that the spa is booked due to local non-residents using it as the hotel wasn't that full. You have to book weeks in advance if you want a Saturday appointment which is a bit annoying if you book a last minute weekend like us.

We went on some nice forest walks nearby which was fun and there are a lot of wild birds to see - encouraged by a multitude of birdboxes assembled on the forest trees. The walks are mapped out with signs.

The bedrooms and bathroom were spotless and modern - very pleasant for relaxing and overall the staff were very pleasant, efficient and helpful.

I would definitely recommend this hotel if you don't mind the parking situation and perhaps the restaurant will improve in the future too !

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Sandra32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2007

Stayed for a long weekend in late Nov. Hotel is an interesting design mix with an old country house linked to a modern accommodation and spa complex. Rooms in the modern area are furnished to a high standard while suites are very well appointed and in the old house.
Staff are helpful which helps with the minor teething problems of a new hotel. Part of the grounds are being developed as a golf course and are not looking their best.
Restaurant has a limited European menu which is not changed from day to day. This means if you are staying more than a few days the choice runs out.
We enjoyed the stay and found whole stay very relaxing. The spa is excellent and is available for guest use. This is a hotel to stay for a second night to ensure you get to use the facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ArdvarkNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2007

We stayed, as a family of 5 (all adults), at the Radisson after Christmas to attend a Wedding - the reception was held at the hotel.

We had booked for two nights but our plans were ruined when, because of bad weather our Ryan Air flight from Bristol was cancelled at the last minute. We then had to travel by taxi to Birmingham to catch a later flight that evening - as we did not want to miss the wedding. This meant we landed too late to pick up our hire car from Dublin airport and had to book into a travel lodge there for the first night instead. Not a good start to our holiday!

We phoned The Radisson to explain our situation and they were charming - could not have been more helpful. They assured us that they had no intention of charging us for the missed night - even though it was much too late for them to re-let our rooms (3).,
and allowed us to occupy them straight away the following morning, even though the usual take over time was 4pm.

The rooms were lovely. Every possible mod con and wonderful views of the grounds from every window. The swimming pool and spa area were also wonderful, we just wished we had longer to take proper advantage of them.

I could not fault the wedding reception in any way. There were 150 guests, who were all looked after superbly, and the food - a four course a la carte meal was excellent. I really cannot agree with other reviews about poor quality.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. Either as a place to hold a special function or just to get away from it all for a few days. The price is very reasonable for such high quality. I think once all the renovations are completed (golf course etc) it will be much more expensive. I would certainly go again, but not with Ryan Air!!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank melbermar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2007

We stayed in the hotel for 1 night and the overall experience was disappointing. The premises is impressive and the facilities are great but the general impression is that the management are not on top of things. The restaurant food is poor although the staff there are very courteous and friendly. The staff in the Botanica are quite the opposite - unhelpful, a bit lazy and not at all friendly.The car park is quite a distance from the entrance and a shuttle bus is in operation to ferry people to and from the hotel. Its seems a bit odd and as the bus may not be immediately on hand when you park you should bring an umbrella!There were no newspapers available the following morning as the "supplier had let them down". Although several people enquired about their morning papers the answer was still the same. We asked if they could send one of their drivers to a local shop but this was impossible due to "insurance reasons"!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AthloneJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2007

My fiance and I got a great Internet deal to stay at this hotel for 2 nights in Nov 06.
From the moment we arrived we instantly de-stressed! The grounds are absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed many romantic strolls in crisp Autumn weather!
The room was great - especially loved the sliding window into the bathroom and of course the view across the beautiful grounds. The only complaint we had with regards to the room was that the heavily advertised 'free broadband' access was not yet up and running and the staff were very unhelpful in assisting us to get any kind of internet access.
The swimming pool and leisure facilities were out of this world and the main reason why we would choose to go back to the hotel. We didn't have time to try any additional paid for treatments unfortunately.
We found the restaurant food to be good - if not a bit pricey. The cellar bar was nice for a pre and post dinner drink but was lacking in atmosphere - some music would have helped! I do agree with another post here that the reception area could also do with a bit more atmosphere - a fire or central focal point would help.
All in all we had a fantiastic couple of days relaxing at the hotel - and to top it off for a very good internet rate. I'm sure the prices will jump when the golf facilities are up and running.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Toots79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
9.2 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
2.7 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
829 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Farnham Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
267 reviews
12.9 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
12.9 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort

Address: Farnham Estate | Farnham Estate, Cavan H12 H635, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range: £89 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing