We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem”
Review of The Olde Post Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cavan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Olde Post Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Cavan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Was a guest at a wedding here recently Live locally so unfortunately didn't get the pleasure of staying over night.
Superb place . Food excellent with a lovely homely atmosphere
Great for photographs. Cosy fore burning . Staff very nice

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csjIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

Having relatives in Cavan I have eaten in many many establishments across the county. None can compare to the Olde Post Inn. We had lunch there and from the moment we walked through the door we felt immediately welcome. The staff are friendly, relaxed and accommodating. The menu is varied and adaptable. The vegetarian on our table was given a separate menu (impressive by any standards) and the celiac at our table was accommodated with three different types of bread -just like the non celaic friendly bread. Service was relaxed, the food was melt in your mouth and the portions were perfect in making sure you felt full (but not too full!) and satisfied. This is a place I know I will return to again and again and again. I look forward to checking in soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

On my first visit to the Olde Post I knew it would not be my last! The setting is beautiful both during the day and at night, and the restaurant itself is so welcoming and cosy! The staff greet you with friendly smiles making you feel at home while you are invited to sit on the couches in the reception area where you can order a drink from their full bar and look at the menu. The service is excellent, although they are busy they never rush you and make you feel very comfortable to stay as long as you feel. The food is 5 Star, everything from the presentation to the fresh produce make their food desirable. I dined with a Coeliac and a Vegetarian who were so happy how accommodating the staff were for them. They had a full separate menu for vegetarians and they were able to tell which dishes were suitable for coeliacs and what could be changed to suit their needs, they also brought out a trio of breads suitable for coeliacs! Their deserts are all fresh and divine so leave room for them! I have dined there twice for dinner and once for their lunch menu and have enjoyed the experince each time. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Cavan. I would loved to stay for B&B next time because I can only imagine how delicious their breakfasts are!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelOzAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed for a night prior to attending a wedding in Cavan. The room was small but comfortable. The main thing here is the food which was excellent - both the evening meal and the breakfast being exceptional. Service was beyond reproach.

Despite the price, we would stay here again in a flash.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWR_EG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We had a family get together here on Saturday evening, we had a lovely relaxed apéritif on arrival in the bar area infront of a open turf fire. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating considering the restaurant was very busy. The best was to follow, we had a wonderful meal from start to finish, as some of our party were delighted to see the choice of game on the menu and each and every course was superb, will definately be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I was quite surprised when i saw great reviews here about pleasant staff. Myself and a few others had a very bad experience involving ignorant and unhelpful staff. The chef was also extremely rude. I agree the place itself is lovely, between the gorgeous decor and cleanliness It's spot on. I can speak for the 15people that were there, not one of us would step back in or recommend them to anyone simply because of the staff. Maybe we just hit on a bad day, even though it was quiet they should have appreciated our custom.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Liam1238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Enjoyed a very relaxed and delicious Sunday lunch. Both the food and the service were impeccable. We really enjoyed the imaginative use of local ingredients. Will definitely go back. A gem in an unexpected location.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Peelsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavan
5.6 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
7.7 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
6.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
265 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Farnham Arms Hotel
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
Avalon B&B
#3 of 3 in Cavan
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Olde Post Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Post Inn

Address: | Cloverhill, Cavan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cavan
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olde Post Inn, is a Michelin Guide listed restaurant, run by Gearoid Lynch and Tara Lynch. Gearoid is a Euro-toques Chef, who has racked up several awards for his food, as has Tara for excellence in customer service. The Olde Post Inn has been recognised as one of Ireland's Most Romantic Wedding Venues by Georgina Campbell. There are six beautiful upstairs bedrooms in the original "Post Office" part of the building, with open fires downstairs. Gearoid prides himself on providing a fine dining experience for those on a gluten free diet. He is happy to adapt to the individual needs of his patrons. Accommodation is available to dining guests only. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing