We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel with great staff”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kingscourt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dun A Ri House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kingscourt
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Nice small hotel, very good value for money, the staff are outstanding and go out our their way to help your every need, would stay here anyday if passing again. Its in the centre of kingscourt as well and easy to find.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhoy029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

The remodeling is lovely. If you were there before the remodel you should try it again. Bit noisy on weekend nights, but just join the fun. Lots of special activities, look them up on facebook. Love the town of Kingscourt, lovely people, not far from Dublin.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onceuponatime167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

We did not stay in Dun a ri but felt compelled to share our dining experience!
We stopped off to get some food , v quiet and took our choice of seats. We then had to change seats as the table was too low and chairs too high and my husband said he felt uncomfortable.

The food was ok, other than the chef buttered my husbands bagel even though he picked the option with cream cheese not butter. Sent back and 10 min later it was sorted but I'd already eaten my food.

Woman with child having coffee and juice opposite us left, waitress cleared glasses but never wiped table down or cleared cutlery even though the 4 year old had been pawing them.

Next was the worst, a young gentleman cane in to complain about an incident in the nightclub and was not taken to one side or into the office but shared the whole incident unwittingly with the diners, seeing as the bar lady didn't ask him to hold on until she got a manager. We heard everything and observed the way it was dealt with and it was unprofessional to say the least. Then after the young gentleman left the bar lady discussed the matter with a customer dining at the bar counter again at full volume so we heard every word. Extremely unprofessional. I noted 3 expletives the bar lady said whilst we were having our food at full volume.

Definitely left a sour taste in our mouths. We didn't even tip, but my tip would be to train your staff better.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Hondapetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

my husband and I stayed there last weekend as we were attending a wedding at nearby Castle; room dated, adequate, shower great, always a plus for me. They turned on heating at our request and room cosy. But, alas, there is a nightclub attatched next door so we got no sleep, we did not get to bed till 2am due to wedding, yet youngsters gathered, awaiting taxis, shouting and singing etc. for hours to come, and alarms rang all night long.
Breakfast was the usual Irish fare, the lady was most attentive, even refreshing the pot of tea.The young lad on reception where we checked out was most pleasant, even offering to drive us back to nearby Castle hotel, but we were happy to walk as it was a beautiful morning. We left our luggage for collection later. I can't see ourselves returning due to noise of location, but all at hotel most pleasant.

Room Tip: back of hotel away from street if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The family that owns this Hotel are lovely and the staff was friendly and extremely helpful. I will stay there again when I visit my family again. The food was very good. The town is lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onceuponatime167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Great location for a wedding at Cabra Castle which was out of our price range! The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was nice and comfortable. It was great value for money and the food was excellent (breakfast, lunch and dinner).
It's a cosy family run hotel, lovely decor.
There are a lot of lorries passing as it is in town so I imagine some of the rooms may be a little noisier but we found it fine. We didn't stay Fri or Sat so there wasn't much outside noise at night either. Great for families.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emt210274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunarikingscourt, Manager at Dun A Ri House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2011

Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay at Dun A Ri House Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We got married earlier this year and many of our guests stayed in Dun a Ri Hotel before and after the wedding. We ourselves also stayed there the day after our wedding and had a family get together in the function room. The staff were extremely accommodating and easy going and they couldn't do enough for us. We had delicious hot buffet food for our function and it was just a perfect way to wind down after the wedding. The function room is very modern with state of the art facilities - we had about 50 people - food, drinks, live music and they even arranged to have a photo slideshow on the LCD screen for our guests which was GREAT!
The bar is very cosy....a real locals type of place - I think our guests said there was a traditional music session on in the bar the night before the wedding but we didn't get to it. The rooms are very modern and fresh with all the facilities....power shower, hairdryer, flat screen TV and internet connection.

Breakfast the next morning was delicious....there is something to say about having a nice sit down "full irish" breakfast as you don't get that in many hotels these days (most hotels now do buffet style breakfast which is the easy option out).

I would definitely recommend this to anyone for a break away or if they are attending a wedding in Kingscourt.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meathwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunarikingscourt, Manager at Dun A Ri House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2011

We are glad you and your family enjoyed their stay at Dun A Ri House, we really enjoyed welcoming all your guests they were a great bunch. Sorry you missed the impromptu traditional session in the bar, hopefully you will be back again to enjoy another one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingscourt
1.2 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,375 reviews
6.0 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plantation Lodge B&B
Plantation Lodge B&B
#1 of 3 in Kingscourt
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dun A Ri House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dun A Ri House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Kingscourt, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Kingscourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kingscourt
Price Range: £71 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel for the past 15 years located in the town centre beside the landmark dun a ri forest park, with a well earned reputation for friendless and hospitality. Beautiful designed bedrooms, new modern Park Avenue resturant with homecook food, cosy bar, residents lounge, Newly Renovated Function Room, entertainment every weekend, walking, golf, fishing, horseriding, all local, ideal base for touring. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing