We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Fortnight At Carleton Village Villa”
Review of Carleton Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carleton Village
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fortnight At Carleton Village Villa”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Just had to come on and share our wonderful experience of Carleton Village. Both myself and my husband have spent two lovely weeks in Youghal with our 17 month old toddler.

We booked a fortnight 'off peak' at the holiday homes and secured a great rate with thanks to the help of some Super Valu tokens we had. On arrival we were given an complimentary upgrade to a 4 bedroom villa and a stair gate was provided. Car parking is ample and the village is well lit at night. A security code is required allowing only those resident to enter the village.

We had read the reviews here before going and have to agree with all the great compliments about this holiday village. Spotlessly clean on arrival, copious amounts of towels available, good quality furniture and fittings, bedlinen attractive and suitable and ample supply of kitchen utensils with all mod cons. The outside landscaping is very well maintained too.

The holiday village was quiet, we didn't see anyone else holidaying in the village during our stay, there are some families and young professionals residing there long term but these residents are quiet and bar hearing one neighbour having a hard time starting his old banger of a car each time he was going anywhere we had no complaints about noise or disturbance.

Our toddler had plenty of fun in the playground daily which is clean, well maintained and safe. We had a game of tennis on the courts which are in great condition and open all year round. We had been informed on booking that the kids club, outdoor pool and seasonal reception would not be available during off peak season and we had no problem with this.
Toddler was also very happy in the home, layout was safe for children and comfortable. The Jacuzzi bath was an extra treat.

Naturally spending two weeks at the holiday home we wanted to cook at home a lot, our oven temperature didn't work satisfactorily on our first night there, a text to the owner to report the issue was all that was required and the oven was repaired and in perfect working order within a few hours. Communication with the owners is great and the welcome information pack provided in each home is very informative and useful.

We availed of the discount price for residents at the local Aura pool/gym and at Perks funfair in the town. We found Youghal a useful base from which to explore East Cork.

We would certainly stay here again. We will take great pleasure in recommending this holiday village to other families.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Hi Nutty Laura,

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you so very much for the fantastic review and we look forward to seeing you and the family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
87
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed in Carleton Holiday Village in Youghal for 5 nights with our 2 year old during the first week of September. We had originally booked a two bedroomed villa, but as our stay was during the start of the non-peak season, we were kindly upgraded to a 3 bedroomed villa for free. The house we stayed in was spotless clean, with all the mod cons needed - in the kitchen there was washer/dryer, microwave, toaster, kettle, dishwasher and plenty of cutlery and dishes. There was a generous supply of towels aswell. Heating is by storage heaters which heat up very quickly and have temperature and timer controls aswell. Emersion is on timer aswell. In the sitting room, there was a stero, a medium sized flat-screen TV with integrated DVD and in the bedroom downstairs, there was antoher TV too. The bathroom downstairs had shower and jacuzzi bath. Upstairs, is the master en-suite bedroom, and box-sized bedroom with a separate closet on the landing too. House is very generously sized.
Just to note though, we discovered that some of the plumbing is a bit mixed up - in the bathroom downstairs for example, on the bath - the hot tap is the cold tap and visa versa - so if your child plays with the taps during bath time, word of warning to check that there's no hot water coming out of the cold tap - so to avoid any burns or scalding. This was the same in the electric shower in the en-suite, when the dial was turned to the hot setting, it was ice-cold water coming out!
We found at night time it was really quiet and as we didn't have any neighbours next door, there was no issue of any noise disturbance - again, one of the advantages of off-peak booking. There was no issue about the playground being too busy or much noise outside during the day either.
The grounds were excellent - as we were staying during out-of-season, the pool and walled garden were closed off (we were aware of this during our booking) - but it was not an issue as the weather was not suitable for swimming outdoors anyways :) In any case, the playground was excellent and was more than enough to keep a toddler entertained. The tennis courts and basket ball courts were open, and were also excellently maintained.
It's possible to walk to the town and to a small beach area from the holiday village - it's a steep walk on the way back though! About 3 minutes drive away is the fantastic 5-mile stretch of blue flag beach. Absoutley fab.
The manager was extremely pleasent and helpful. There's keypad entry at the main entrance to the holiday village, and again at the access gate down at the end of walkway to the town / beach and again at the fenced-off rubbish storage areas.
Overall, as this was our first experience of staying in a holiday home, all our expectations were met - and most definately would return. Would recommend a visit here for sure.

Room Tip: Book during off-peak season to have the place to yourselves !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennydean01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Dublin 074,

Thanks for the fantastic feed back. It's a great boost to all the staff here to receive such great praise.

Hope to see you again next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meath, ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

just home from week in youghal, stayed in carleton village 3 bed villa, house very clean had everything you could need e.g bed linen kitchen utentils. have 3 children age 1/5/6 yrs, walled garden with pool and other sports very good, very child friendly, play ground and tennis court, all grounds well maintained, bbq on tuesday eve good fun, children loved the magician, will return.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank therese m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Hi Therese M,

Delighted you and your family had a great time. The BBQ night has been great success again this year and the feedback that we get from the whole evening has been resoundingly positive. Hope you are all keeping well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed in Carleton Village with three kids,5,10 and 13 years old. The accomodation was first class with all modern facilities,jacuzzi bath ,dishwasher, washing machine , two tvs, one in master bedroom complete with queensize bed ensuite toilet/shower. The kitchen was better equipped than our kitchen at home! Who needs a flan dish on holiday? Was lovely to note just how spotless everything was. The Village facilities are excellent with two tennis courts, play ground,outdoor heated pool (life guard and even armbands!), badminton. BBQ on Tuesday evening which is held by the management and the ever helpful Katrina.Gounds and Accomodation are well maintained with the setting providing views of the Blackwater River and Youghal Harbour. There was a short walk to town and beach. Youghal itself is a hillside town looking onto the bay with a relaxing holiday atmosphere with friendly local people.
The weather was good and meant we could go to the local Blue flag beaches and also trips to Ardmore and Whiting Bay (this beach had a lot of seaweed washed up and a dead seal!!!!!)
One wet day head we went to the local swimming pool with waterslide.

Eating out was good with plenty of options from Pub Grub, Chinese, Italian and the chipper!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This was our first visit to Carleton Village. We are a family of 5 with two older teenagers and one younger 7 year old. We were a bit concerned about trying to please them all but I need not have worried. On site there was everything needed for my youngest son the tennis courts, kids clubs (Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday), heated outdoor swimming pool (with a fantastic lifeguard Michael) and games in the walled garden area. My older sons played tennis (onsite) and golf (Youghal Golf Club across the road and very friendly). There was also the aura swimming pool complex 5 min car drive where you could use an indoor swimming pool and one slide and gym. The house was cleaned to a very high standard and was very well equiped we had beautiful views of the atlantic from our house (3 bedroomed villa). You could walk into Youghal town and beaches (there is a steep hill to walk back up) or alternatly you could drive (2 mins). All in all we all had a great time and are considering a delux villia for next year.

Room Tip: Delux villas have fantastic sites overlookin the Atlantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loughinisland11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Myself and my family,3 children aged 15 14 and 5, had the pleasure of staying at the Carleton village for a week in July. We found the onsite facilities second to none,from the heated outdoor pool which my youngest daughter spent many happy hours in, the sports facilities, tennis,volley ball, table tennis, bowls,and giant jenga. there was never a shortage of things to do. The athmosphere created by the staff was excellent, in particular on the barbecue day.Special mention for the care and attention of the pool lifeguard who went out of his way to make sure all were safe, and having a good time.I will most definately be back. Peter in Finglas,Dublin

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank peterjkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Our family have just returned from a week at Carleton Village. We picked this location as they boasted a kids club & on-site outdoor heated pool, as well as other activities - play park, tennis courts, garden games etc. * To note - the Kids Club is extra (which was not mentioned on the website)
We have 2 children (5 yrs & 2yrs) and wanted somewhere that would give us, the parents, a little freedom also.
It didn't disappoint. All the facilities where there and very well maintained. The accommodation was well fitted out with all the necessary bits. There is a family BBQ on the tuesday evening which was a good chance for the parents to meet and have a glass of something nice! Our children really made good use of the pool and met lots of other children to play with. Michael was the 'on hand' lifeguard, who made us feel very safe.
All in all a good experience and we will be sure to return in the future. Thanks also to Niamh for the upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pflynn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.6 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
19.3 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,069 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carleton Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carleton Village

Property: Carleton Village
Address: Golf Links Road, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carleton Village Holiday Homes Youghal are ideally located to offer you and your family an activity packed relaxing family break. Only a 2 minute drive from Youghal, Carleton Village offers you an onsite heated outdoor pool, two championship tennis courts, a fantastic playground, The Carleton Village Family Fun BBQ night, *Kids Club and Walled Garden packed to the brim with family fun activities. We’ve even got rainy days covered with our free DVD and local loyalty scheme. All this along with fantastic views overlooking Youghal, the river Blackwater and Atlantic Ocean all set in a 20 acre private secured complex. 40 minutes from Cork City, 30 minute from "Fota Wildlife" and only 2 1/2 hrs from Dublin, Carleton Holiday Homes is the perfect place to start your stress free family holiday. Carleton Village Holiday Homes Youghal, East Cork No.1 in Family Fun Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carleton Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing