We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carleton Village
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$139
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$419
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$406
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garryvoe Hotel(Garryvoe)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
109
15
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
15
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsholiday villagebed villawalled gardentable tennistennis courtsheated poolfamily holidayoutdoor gameskids clubspent a weekfantastic holidayplay groundkids loved the playgroundfota wildlife parkgreat place to staygreat familyblarney castle
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I had a long stay at the Carleton Village in the off season, from November 2012 to April 2013, and we were very happy with how good our stay was. We found the housewares and facilities to be as described or better. We were in a spacious 3-bed, 3-bath villa in excellent condition and as clean as we could wish. It was really light with big windows.

The agent who rented the villa to us is Niamh, and she couldn't have been more perfect: very friendly, helpful, and speedy. Only a couple of small things needed attention in the time we were there and Niamh immediately sent over a professional, who fixed them in a jiffy.

The landscaping is nice, well kept; and during our time there we saw that the management has regularly scheduled maintenance projects: for example, scrubbing the building exteriors, repairing or replacing faulty window blinds, checking all the fire extinguishers.

We found two odd things in our villa: in one or two of the sinks/tubs, the water taps were hooked up backward (so check yours, especially if you have kids), and there wasn't a bureau as such, so we used the bedside table drawers for some of our clothes. I wouldn't say it was a problem, though. There was a wardrobe in each bedroom for hanging clothes, and one room had a walk-in closet, a nice luxury. And the villas do vary a bit--our neighbor had under-bed drawers for storage and didn't have the crossed water taps.

Not to repeat other people, but it was very quiet--could not hear the neighbors through the shared walls--with pretty views and not too far for walking to the beach or downtown, which is good because we didn't have a car. I would caution a winter visitor that you may want an extra sweater for windy days--these villas aren't insulated against the worst of the cold (but neither are the other, more recently built places I've been in in the area, which is really a shame, but true).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stella Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We just came back from our long weekend at The Carleton in Youghal. We have booked a 3 bed villa for 2 adults and 3 children.
The positives first: the house ( wouldnt call it a villa) was very clean, modern inside and well equipped, beds were very comfy, linen clean, bathrooms spotless. in the kitchen you have all you need, pots, pans, glasses, mugs cutlery, oven and hob, kettle dishwasher and washing machine, the living room although tiny had very comfortable seating ( not enough for 5 people though). the Tv was very small with very bad reception of channels there was a DVD player but no remote.
The staff: we only met Joan and she was very friendly, she gave us a welcome pack on arrival with different leaflet from area which helped a lot. We have tried ringing reception on day 2 & 3 to get remote for the dvd player and we got no answer. It meant the kids got to watch whole dvd of Dora rather than one epsode ( they were very happy about that!)
the playground was lovely, clean and safe.

The negatives: the village is very dated, all the houses are in desperate need of painting outside. Our one was extremly overloked. from the downstairs bedroom you had a "patio", paved out a bit of space with a bench. looking into neighbours bedroom. you could not sit out the front. Also we have given the ages of kids ( 3, 4 and 13 ) and the youngest bedroom was supposed to be downstairs with twin beds adn two double bedrooms upstars. I'm sorry but to leave two toddlers with a door going out of the house??? so they ended up sharing a big bed which ment i was up loads at night as they kept bumping into each other...
the pool was not opened even tho i was assure it will be opened June bank holiday weekend. there was nothing organized for kiddies. garden not opened. i was very dissapointed as the pool was one of the reasons we booked this village.
also i found the communication with reception prior to arrival difficult, have sent few emails and to day did not hear anything back...
Youghal itself is very quiet, with nothing to do really.
I must say the vilage might have been great years ago but not now. the villas give you no privacy, you cannot sit outside and enjoy the heat wave we had. The photos were very misleading and we will not be returning...

Room Tip: avoid villa 39...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for a review
As someone who also works in the hospitality industry and was also a ‘friend’ of the booking agent I am surprised by your review. Firstly you are completely correct in regards to the remote control for the dvd player being missing, from time to time some items and in particular remote controls tend to disappear between lets so I must apologise for this.
In regards to your other issues;
The pictures on the all our sites are up to date
Our swimming pool and walled is only open during July and August, we state this on our website very clearly and it also highlighted on the booking agents site through which you booked. Our pool has never open for the June bank holiday weekend and I can assure you that our staff as well as any of our booking agents are well aware of our opening times. I would much appreciate if you could contact me on and let me know where you assurances came from.
Youghal was designated a family fun hub by Failte Ireland in 2007, as it is a holiday town it is quieter during the off season but with the playground and tennis courts onsite, the beach, Aura, Perks Entertainment Centre, Blackwater River Cruises at your door step and Fota, Leahy’s Open Farm, The Suir Valley Rail Way, Ardmore Open Farm between 10 to 40 minutes away, all open for during June the majority of our guest seem to find more than enough to occupy themselves.
I am sorry that you were disappointed by your stay and wish you all the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Just back from a week in Carleton Village. We got upgraded to the deluxe villa. It was amazing, very clean, comfy beds, amazing views of the sea. If we needed anything, it was just a phone call away. Great customer service. The highchair and stair gates were provided on request. My toddler had great fun in the playground and garden around the villa. I would thoroughly recommend this self catering village to anyone. We were there off peak so I can only imagine the great fun kids would have playing together during peak season in the walled garden and playground. Youghal has a Lidl, Tesco and Supervalu so grocery shopping is a breeze. Loads to do locally, lovely boardwalk on the beach, Aura swimming pool with slides etc. Fota Island 40 mins away. Enjoy, book it now!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logical13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just back from a week long break in Youghal, in Carleton Village. Upon arrival we were met by Joan who could not have been more welcoming. Our house was spotless, could not find one fault . As it was Easter there were some events planned for the children but as it was raining some were called off , however Joan called in with Easter eggs to our four children. Facilities were great , playground tennis courts and out pool heated and open July and Aug. there is lots to do in and around Youghal and we were provided with a info back incl local discounts on our arrival. All in all a great hol, fab place in stay , cannot go wrong booking a break in Carleton Village.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

My husband and I wanted to get married/have a honeymoon in Ireland, so we planned a trip in fall for three months. We decided to rent a two-bedroom villa at Carleton Village. (We chose this property based off of its previous excellent trip advisor ratings and were extremely happy that we did so.)

We enjoyed every minute of our experience in Youghal, and at Carleton Village. Our landlady, Niamh, was so friendly and spectacular. She made us feel as if we were living at home. The property was spotless and the grounds were maintained every week. The villa itself was very affordable for all of the accommodations included with it. The villa contained every type of accessory we could have asked for (sets of towels, extra blankets, bed-sheets, complete set of kitchen accessories/pots and pans, vacuum etc.). All of the furniture and items in the villa seemed brand new and were of quality construction. Our bedroom had an amazing view of the ocean and both bedrooms had excellent views of the bay off to the side! The property included two tennis courts, a children’s playground, and a picnic area/swimming pool (which are open during the summer time). The property was located perfectly in Youghal. It was propped up on a hill and had lookouts over the town and ocean. It took us only ten minutes to walk to town or the beach.

The customer service we encountered there was unparalleled with anything we had experienced before. We would encourage any couple traveling to Ireland (including families with kids) to stay at Carleton Village.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews