We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“holiday at Carlton Village Youghal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Carleton Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carleton Village
Certificate of Excellence
limerick
1 review
“holiday at Carlton Village Youghal”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I booked the Carlton Village Villa for our family this summer, and found them to be brilliant. we have a 4 yr old and a 16mt old so it proved to be ideal. everything was on site to entertain them. the heated pool was opened even though it was the last week in june. The villa was very clean and modern. The staff were all soooo freindly, my son loved getting a pop at reception everytime he called for a dvd!! The site is close to so many things, we went to Fota wildlife park one day, and Leahy's open farm another, all proving enjoyable to our family.
I would highly recommend staying in Carlton Village, and we are even thinking of going again with another family next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
87
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here for a week in June – where do I start – simply amazing. We stayed in one of the 4 bedroom Deluxe villas and it was out of this world. My dream house. If only I could move it to where we live  The house had everything and more – spotless, all the kitchen utensils you would ever need, an American style fridge, the bed linen was crisp and the beds so comfortable. Towels supplied in every room. The bathrooms - all 4 of them were lovely. The en suites in the 2 upstairs bedrooms were huge. The views from the house are stunning, loved having our own balcony off the bedroom, nothing like climbing out of bed and stepping onto the balcony and taking in the view 1st thing in the morning. The floor to ceiling windows in the lounge were amazing, lovely to watch the sunset as you relax. There is a huge area around the house, our kids loved running wild, playing ball etc. The kids also loved the onsite playground, it was visited on a daily basis...the walled garden/pool was not open as we were there before peak season but I’m sure if the house and playground are anything to go by it’s a great set up. The staff we encountered were more than welcoming. Mary who checked us in was lovely. You are given an information pack with plenty of leaflets letting you know what’s close by. Carleton Village is in a great location for touring about. We took a trip to Fota Wildlife Park, a day in Cork City, travelled to Ardmore and other little villages. Of course a day was spent at Youghal beach and a few trips to Perks entertainment – great to have the discount voucher from Carleton village for kids rides. We had Sunday lunch at The Red Store – it was lovely. We also ate (a few times) at The River Gate – this had to be our best find in a long time – doesn't look like too much from the outside but they have a lovely menu, €17.50 3 course special and the food was absolutely delicious. Carleton Village have an array of houses, apartments etc, I personally think it is a great place for any family to holiday, amazing accommodation, lovely staff, great location. My in laws from New Zealand are coming to visit next year. I hope to take them to Carleton Village and make some more wonderful family memories.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I had a long stay at the Carleton Village in the off season, from November 2012 to April 2013, and we were very happy with how good our stay was. We found the housewares and facilities to be as described or better. We were in a spacious 3-bed, 3-bath villa in excellent condition and as clean as we could wish. It was really light with big windows.

The agent who rented the villa to us is Niamh, and she couldn't have been more perfect: very friendly, helpful, and speedy. Only a couple of small things needed attention in the time we were there and Niamh immediately sent over a professional, who fixed them in a jiffy.

The landscaping is nice, well kept; and during our time there we saw that the management has regularly scheduled maintenance projects: for example, scrubbing the building exteriors, repairing or replacing faulty window blinds, checking all the fire extinguishers.

We found two odd things in our villa: in one or two of the sinks/tubs, the water taps were hooked up backward (so check yours, especially if you have kids), and there wasn't a bureau as such, so we used the bedside table drawers for some of our clothes. I wouldn't say it was a problem, though. There was a wardrobe in each bedroom for hanging clothes, and one room had a walk-in closet, a nice luxury. And the villas do vary a bit--our neighbor had under-bed drawers for storage and didn't have the crossed water taps.

Not to repeat other people, but it was very quiet--could not hear the neighbors through the shared walls--with pretty views and not too far for walking to the beach or downtown, which is good because we didn't have a car. I would caution a winter visitor that you may want an extra sweater for windy days--these villas aren't insulated against the worst of the cold (but neither are the other, more recently built places I've been in in the area, which is really a shame, but true).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We just came back from our long weekend at The Carleton in Youghal. We have booked a 3 bed villa for 2 adults and 3 children.
The positives first: the house ( wouldnt call it a villa) was very clean, modern inside and well equipped, beds were very comfy, linen clean, bathrooms spotless. in the kitchen you have all you need, pots, pans, glasses, mugs cutlery, oven and hob, kettle dishwasher and washing machine, the living room although tiny had very comfortable seating ( not enough for 5 people though). the Tv was very small with very bad reception of channels there was a DVD player but no remote.
The staff: we only met Joan and she was very friendly, she gave us a welcome pack on arrival with different leaflet from area which helped a lot. We have tried ringing reception on day 2 & 3 to get remote for the dvd player and we got no answer. It meant the kids got to watch whole dvd of Dora rather than one epsode ( they were very happy about that!)
the playground was lovely, clean and safe.

The negatives: the village is very dated, all the houses are in desperate need of painting outside. Our one was extremly overloked. from the downstairs bedroom you had a "patio", paved out a bit of space with a bench. looking into neighbours bedroom. you could not sit out the front. Also we have given the ages of kids ( 3, 4 and 13 ) and the youngest bedroom was supposed to be downstairs with twin beds adn two double bedrooms upstars. I'm sorry but to leave two toddlers with a door going out of the house??? so they ended up sharing a big bed which ment i was up loads at night as they kept bumping into each other...
the pool was not opened even tho i was assure it will be opened June bank holiday weekend. there was nothing organized for kiddies. garden not opened. i was very dissapointed as the pool was one of the reasons we booked this village.
also i found the communication with reception prior to arrival difficult, have sent few emails and to day did not hear anything back...
Youghal itself is very quiet, with nothing to do really.
I must say the vilage might have been great years ago but not now. the villas give you no privacy, you cannot sit outside and enjoy the heat wave we had. The photos were very misleading and we will not be returning...

Room Tip: avoid villa 39...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for a review
As someone who also works in the hospitality industry and was also a ‘friend’ of the booking agent I am surprised by your review. Firstly you are completely correct in regards to the remote control for the dvd player being missing, from time to time some items and in particular remote controls tend to disappear between lets so I must apologise for this.
In regards to your other issues;
The pictures on the all our sites are up to date
Our swimming pool and walled is only open during July and August, we state this on our website very clearly and it also highlighted on the booking agents site through which you booked. Our pool has never open for the June bank holiday weekend and I can assure you that our staff as well as any of our booking agents are well aware of our opening times. I would much appreciate if you could contact me on and let me know where you assurances came from.
Youghal was designated a family fun hub by Failte Ireland in 2007, as it is a holiday town it is quieter during the off season but with the playground and tennis courts onsite, the beach, Aura, Perks Entertainment Centre, Blackwater River Cruises at your door step and Fota, Leahy’s Open Farm, The Suir Valley Rail Way, Ardmore Open Farm between 10 to 40 minutes away, all open for during June the majority of our guest seem to find more than enough to occupy themselves.
I am sorry that you were disappointed by your stay and wish you all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Just back from a week in Carleton Village. We got upgraded to the deluxe villa. It was amazing, very clean, comfy beds, amazing views of the sea. If we needed anything, it was just a phone call away. Great customer service. The highchair and stair gates were provided on request. My toddler had great fun in the playground and garden around the villa. I would thoroughly recommend this self catering village to anyone. We were there off peak so I can only imagine the great fun kids would have playing together during peak season in the walled garden and playground. Youghal has a Lidl, Tesco and Supervalu so grocery shopping is a breeze. Loads to do locally, lovely boardwalk on the beach, Aura swimming pool with slides etc. Fota Island 40 mins away. Enjoy, book it now!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logical13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just back from a week long break in Youghal, in Carleton Village. Upon arrival we were met by Joan who could not have been more welcoming. Our house was spotless, could not find one fault . As it was Easter there were some events planned for the children but as it was raining some were called off , however Joan called in with Easter eggs to our four children. Facilities were great , playground tennis courts and out pool heated and open July and Aug. there is lots to do in and around Youghal and we were provided with a info back incl local discounts on our arrival. All in all a great hol, fab place in stay , cannot go wrong booking a break in Carleton Village.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2013

My husband and I wanted to get married/have a honeymoon in Ireland, so we planned a trip in fall for three months. We decided to rent a two-bedroom villa at Carleton Village. (We chose this property based off of its previous excellent trip advisor ratings and were extremely happy that we did so.)

We enjoyed every minute of our experience in Youghal, and at Carleton Village. Our landlady, Niamh, was so friendly and spectacular. She made us feel as if we were living at home. The property was spotless and the grounds were maintained every week. The villa itself was very affordable for all of the accommodations included with it. The villa contained every type of accessory we could have asked for (sets of towels, extra blankets, bed-sheets, complete set of kitchen accessories/pots and pans, vacuum etc.). All of the furniture and items in the villa seemed brand new and were of quality construction. Our bedroom had an amazing view of the ocean and both bedrooms had excellent views of the bay off to the side! The property included two tennis courts, a children’s playground, and a picnic area/swimming pool (which are open during the summer time). The property was located perfectly in Youghal. It was propped up on a hill and had lookouts over the town and ocean. It took us only ten minutes to walk to town or the beach.

The customer service we encountered there was unparalleled with anything we had experienced before. We would encourage any couple traveling to Ireland (including families with kids) to stay at Carleton Village.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.6 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#1 of 8 in Youghal
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
1,997 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
14.0 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carleton Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carleton Village

Property: Carleton Village
Address: Golf Links Road, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carleton Village Holiday Homes Youghal are ideally located to offer you and your family an activity packed relaxing family break. Only a 2 minute drive from Youghal, Carleton Village offers you an onsite heated outdoor pool, two championship tennis courts, a fantastic playground, The Carleton Village Family Fun BBQ night, *Kids Club and Walled Garden packed to the brim with family fun activities. We’ve even got rainy days covered with our free DVD and local loyalty scheme. All this along with fantastic views overlooking Youghal, the river Blackwater and Atlantic Ocean all set in a 20 acre private secured complex. 40 minutes from Cork City, 30 minute from "Fota Wildlife" and only 2 1/2 hrs from Dublin, Carleton Holiday Homes is the perfect place to start your stress free family holiday. Carleton Village Holiday Homes Youghal, East Cork No.1 in Family Fun Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Carleton Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing