We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carleton Village
Nearby Hotels
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
US$542
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garryvoe Hotel(Garryvoe)
US$136
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
109
15
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
109
15
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsholiday villagebed villawalled gardentable tennistennis courtsheated poolfamily holidayoutdoor gameskids clubspent a weekfantastic holidayplay groundkids loved the playgroundfota wildlife parkgreat place to staygreat familyblarney castle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I am writing as a repeat visitor to Carleton Village - together with three other families this is our fourth return to the fantastic facilities and fabulous welcome offered by Carleton Village - every year it gets better - we have not been able to find anything to compare anywhere in Ireland when it comes to facilities and upkeep, the houses are clean and comfortable with all mod cons, the grounds are impeccably kept, the tennis courts, play ground, kids club and walled garden games provide endless distractions and the heated pool is the icing on the cake and the wonderful lifeguard Michael the cherry on top - makes it sooooooooooo safe for all the kids - he is so fantastic at his job - the kids love him and he brings added fun with his pool games! We will be back again in 2014 please God- it is the highlight of the summer for the kids. And Youghal has improved year on year as a destination with more restaurants and eateries opening up - a great destination all round. See you all in 2015 x

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank cramptontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Hi Mary,

Always great to have you and the clan. Delighted you all enjoyed your stay, I'll make sure and order the good weather for same time next year.

All the best
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent a week in the 3 bedroom rental at Carleton. Described on the website as 'luxury' rentals, this house was cramped, small and in places quite grubby. The outdoor patio area was littered with cigarette butts, there was a crack in one of the handbasins, several of the lights didn't work, the kitchen area was absolutely tiny, and there were only 5 chairs around a miniscule table. I have rented much bigger houses in much nicer areas for considerably less. I do not consider this holiday to have been good value for money. On a more positive note, the women who welcomed us couldn't have been nicer and our kids really enjoyed themselves, making great use of the amenities which included tennis, swimming, table tennis and barbecue evening - BUT the accommodation was really deficient in all sorts of ways.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Hi Sarah,
I’m so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I must point out that your booking came through a Tour Operator who we have used numerous times and we have never had an issue with the advertising that they do for us. However, having a guest disappointed with their holiday is not something we at Carleton Village take lightly. In response to your complaint I have contacted your operator and requested that all images are labelled correctly and we have also remove pictures of our deluxe villas from their site entirely. I can understand that you felt disappointed as you were under the impression that you were getting one of our bigger houses. With regards to lights not working, we have maintenance on call 24/7, had this been mention we would have someone down immediately to change the bulbs. Again I apologies that there were cigarette butts on your patio area, I have passed this issue on to housekeeping for immediate attention, again had you brought this to our attention we could have had housekeeping deal with it immediately.
I am glad that the kids enjoyed their stay and the use of the facilities and that you found the staff welcoming and friendly.

Kindest Regards
David Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Loads for kids to do. Very helpful and friendly staff. Well kept. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Would consider returning. The kids had a real good time and we felt very relaxed.

Martine
Belfast

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Martine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Had a great time...staff were so friendly..loads for kids to do..loved the outdoor pool..would have loved to stay for another week,villa was lovely and clean...the bbq nite was sooo tasty..plus loads of free lollipops for kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My husband and I and our 3 children (12, 6, 3) just returned home from our stay at the Carleton Village Resort. This was our second time to stay here. We highly recommend it. It has everything a young family needs - playground, kids club, tennis courts and best of all a heated out door pool which is situated in a walled garden which also houses numerous lawn games. Stunning sea views. The kids just loved the pool - it is supervised by Michael, the resident Life Guard. There is a weekly barbecue held - definitely the highlight of the week - they even have entertainment for the kids music, a magician and face painting. The Resort is very well run. The Villas are very clean and well equipped. The staff are very helpful and friendly. One of Ireland's best kept secrets. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank U2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews