We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carleton Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carleton Village
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the 4 bed luxury villa for the week and couldn't believe how good it was. All bedrooms were modern and good size and kitchen was equipped with everything. The views are stunning , we spent hours gazing out to sea! Great facilities for the kids and the Tuesday night bbq( including face painting and kids entertainer) was brilliant for the €3 each. Overall- best family holiday we have had in Ireland to date!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
87
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent 4 weeks in a 3 bed villa over looking the pool area..We had the most wonderful time at The Carleton Village, I couldn't fault a single thing..The staff were amazingly helpful through out the booking process right down to the day of departure..We will definitely be returning next year. It was worth every single penny and I cannot put in to words how well the Carleton village is constructed and how helpful the staff are..Not many places have this standard of customer service these days any where in the world. Plenty to keep the whole family busy..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aoifec5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just back from week in Youghal staying in Carleton Village - stayed in 3 bed Villa with 5 kids ages 12,11,9,6 and 4 - all the kids loved it there as there was something for everyone - badminton, tennis, soccer, basketball, movies to hire, bbq with entertainment not to mention the outdoor heated pool! The staff are all lovely, friendly and knowledgeable about the area and their recommendations were genuinely great days/evenings out. The house was fine for a family of 7, very clean and well equipped, with nice touches like a Jacuzzi bath, dvd player and a dryer as well as a washing machine! The beds were very comfy. If weather if good, there are lots of activities for kids so you don't need to plan additional trips. However, Youghal is a good base point for east Cork and we liked the beaches nearby as well as the Ballymaloe cookery school gardens, Leahy's farm, the Aura swimming pool (which is very new and modern), as well as a couple of nights at the greyhound races for something different. Ceolta Si was an excellent local home grown Irish music and dancing session and for really delicious ice cream, try Fantastic Flavours. We tried Luigis for food and were disappointed with quality of food (some fresh dishes, some few days in the fridge). But there are a few nice coffee shops and bakeries (Collins and Le Goumet). The weather was super and all in all we had a really fun week which was full of the cead mile failte everywhere we went and really good value for money. Thanks Carleton Village we will return!

Room Tip: If you have a larger family, ask for house with more space; some a little bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CALPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in a delux villa and both the villa itself and the surrounding gardens were excellent with a beautiful view. The bedrooms were a great size as well. The only negatives about the house were the that the kitchen is small and the bedrooms don't have curtains only blinds that let the light in very early in the summer. The walled garden is great for younger children. The pool is quite small but is warm. There are beautiful beaches nearby and youghal is a good base for exploring other parts of cork and west Waterford

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenPike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This has been the 5th year in a row that I have brought my family on holidays here. I have found the facilities and the houses fantastic everything is well maintained and always totally clean. The friendly staff always make you feel welcome and nothing is ever too much, they are always there to help every one is so friendly and you can tell they take real pride in thier work. I would definitely recommend these houses to any family its a fab holiday. Already dreaming of next year!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annette-mck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had a fantastic holiday,our fourth at Carleton.
The house and the gardens were lovely and very well maintained
The house was very well equipped
The staff are absolutely fantastic.They always go the extra mile. Thank you Joan,Katrina,Michael and David.
The kids love the outdoor swimming and I love to sit and relax in the lovely walled garden and look out at the beautiful Waterford countryside while they swim.They also really enjoyed going to the playground and meeting other kids on holiday.
This year we had wonderful weather, a very welcome bonus!
There are lots to do as short trips if the weather is not so good. Youghal is a town of real historic interest and as a community continues to battle the loss of business to the bigger modern retail centres..Ardmore in Waterford is a lovely little village to visit also.
We will be back!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Imelda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Hi Imelda,

Lovely to have you and the girls again this year. Take care and I'm sure we'll be seeing you again in 2014

Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I am writing as a repeat visitor to Carleton Village - together with three other families this is our fourth return to the fantastic facilities and fabulous welcome offered by Carleton Village - every year it gets better - we have not been able to find anything to compare anywhere in Ireland when it comes to facilities and upkeep, the houses are clean and comfortable with all mod cons, the grounds are impeccably kept, the tennis courts, play ground, kids club and walled garden games provide endless distractions and the heated pool is the icing on the cake and the wonderful lifeguard Michael the cherry on top - makes it sooooooooooo safe for all the kids - he is so fantastic at his job - the kids love him and he brings added fun with his pool games! We will be back again in 2014 please God- it is the highlight of the summer for the kids. And Youghal has improved year on year as a destination with more restaurants and eateries opening up - a great destination all round. See you all in 2015 x

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank cramptontravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarletonManager, Manager at Carleton Village, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Hi Mary,

Always great to have you and the clan. Delighted you all enjoyed your stay, I'll make sure and order the good weather for same time next year.

All the best
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.6 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#1 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
19.3 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carleton Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carleton Village

Property: Carleton Village
Address: Golf Links Road, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carleton Village Holiday Homes Youghal are ideally located to offer you and your family an activity packed relaxing family break. Only a 2 minute drive from Youghal, Carleton Village offers you an onsite heated outdoor pool, two championship tennis courts, a fantastic playground, The Carleton Village Family Fun BBQ night, *Kids Club and Walled Garden packed to the brim with family fun activities. We’ve even got rainy days covered with our free DVD and local loyalty scheme. All this along with fantastic views overlooking Youghal, the river Blackwater and Atlantic Ocean all set in a 20 acre private secured complex. 40 minutes from Cork City, 30 minute from "Fota Wildlife" and only 2 1/2 hrs from Dublin, Carleton Holiday Homes is the perfect place to start your stress free family holiday. Carleton Village Holiday Homes Youghal, East Cork No.1 in Family Fun Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Carleton Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing