We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St. Martin's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 8 Youghal B&B and Inns
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely people”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Couldn't have been made more welcome by Margot and Pat. Plenty to see and do in this holiday town. Church histoty is interesting, Golf course looking down over the Atlantic,with very reasonable fees and a 2 minute walk from St. Martin's you can take in a game of Hurling. Great people and place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toady94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macedonia, Ohio
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Both Margo and Pat treated us like family. We enjoyed out intial convesation with Pat, as Margo was not yet home from babysitting for her grandchildren. When I asked Pat to describe "hurling", he asked us to wait a minute, and soon returned with his "personal" hurling stick which he had used many years ago, before the time when the player wore helmets. We loved hearing those stories. When Margo returned, we continued our conversation as if we had been family who had not seen each other for a long time until we needed to get out to dinner before they stopped serving. One of their dinner recommendations was the Imperial Hotel Bar/Pub, which was excellent and moderately priced. We were the only guests for the night we stayed and our room was very nice and the traditional Irish breakfast was perfect. We would love to stay with Margo and Pat again if we ever returned to this area in Ireland

Room Tip: Our room was great, so no other suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeandKarenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Margot and Pat were great hosts. They answered all our questions and provided us great travel tips. We had very nice rooms at a good location in Youghal. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gearymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We planned on staying one night to start the 8 day driving trip of Ireland and when we got there asked if we could spend a second night. Margot was very accomodating and we were able to stay. We had a nice room and Margot & Pat were very knowledgeable about Youghal and how much history was there. Free WI-Fi is always nice & the breakfast to order was much appreciated. We went to Mass at the oldest continuous church in Ireland, St. Mary's Church of Ireland and after went to a Midievel Faire on the church grounds. We toured the Church Cemetary & walked part of the remaining city wall.
Margot, hope your trip with your new GPS navigator worked out for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank een65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Follonica, Italia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Unfortunately we stayed only for one night, but this is really a wonderful B&B! We slept very well, we had a tasty breakfast and there was free WI-FI connection! Could we ask for more??

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alona06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We had a good nights sleep in comfortable beds and got a breakfast that kept us going until late afternoon . The owner Margot were very charming and we felt like visiting a good friend.
A good choise if you plan to stay in Youghal.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Margot and Pat, the elderly couple that run this B&B, are so friendly that they make you feel at home...we even sang Happy Birthday to Pat...and I would do it again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isabel_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Youghal hotels
0.6 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
1.3 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Avonmore House
Avonmore House
#2 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.0 mi away
Glen House Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Devon View House
Devon View House
#3 of 8 in Youghal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Martin's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Martin's Bed & Breakfast

Property: St. Martin's Bed & Breakfast
Address: Greencloyne, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Youghal
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing