We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First experience with B&B”
Review of Avonmore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avonmore House
Ranked #3 of 7 Youghal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First experience with B&B”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our first real experience with a B&B and our first trip to Ireland. The accommodations were excellent - clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were enjoyed by our whole party and the location to town was very convenient. We walked most of the time. The hosts - Jack & Eileen were welcoming and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend Avonmore House to anyone traveling in that area.

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, the front rooms on the top floor have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKS1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    18
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
53
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenmare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Overnighted at Avonmore House in March 2013. Central location, very clean, freshly renovated room to a high standard. Lovely couple hosting us. Cooked breakfast was delicious. Provided helpful advice for our onward journey. Much appreciated.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My partner and I have been travelling and working for almost two years since leaving New Zealand and this is easily the best place we have stayed in the entire time!

The hosts were friendly and helpful.
Try the full Irish cooked breakfast, simply delicious.
We had tea and coffee making facilities in our room.
The room was spacious and comfortable, with an amazing en-suite.
Our bed was large and comfortable, as was the sofa in the room.

The bedroom and en-suite were immaculately clean!
There was free parking in the yard out front.

I really do believe there is nothing you could fault this place on.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We spent one night at the Avonmore House and it was a great experience.
The bedroom was very spacious with a large bathroom (equipped with a great bathtub).

The building is old and well refurbished but you can hear the doors opening and closing and it's quite cold.

The breakfast was great, and the service too. A very good experience overall.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pralthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Very nice place. We had a very large room on the upper floor with a comfortable king size bed. It had a great shower in the bathroom. The Wi-Fi didn't work well upstairs, but we were able to use it in the sitting room downstairs.

Breakfast included a few choices, but mostly in terms of how you wanted your eggs prepared. There was a little fruit, yoghurt and cold cereal available.

Parking was right in front. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

This was the best B&B we stayed at. Youghal is pronounced y'all. It's within walking distance to town center, clean, and had very large rooms with a full bath. The breakfast was great. Wifi worked pretty well.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madtownponydr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clane, Kildare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The room was spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Lots of walks and activities within a short distance. Fishing boating sailing. A town rich in history and culture. Many places of great interest within 20 minute drive. Ardmore Ballycotton Cobh.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
0.2 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
329 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.5 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
5.5 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,672 reviews
9.3 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonmore House

Property: Avonmore House
Address: Avonmore House South Abbey, Youghal, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Avonmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing