We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class seafood, wonderful service, big but somewhat dated rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here recently and dined at the restaurant. We chose the tasting menu and were not disappointed. Each course was beautiful and the service was excellent. We were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms were very clean, very spacious but could be a little more modern.

The breakfast in the morning was also a treat to behold - highlights included poached pears and cod.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RazorCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

One has the feeling that there are many laurels here upon which the staff are lolling about while ignoring two important facts: that there are customers that need serving and the competition in this town is hotting up. I have eaten there several times now over the years and the last visit was just that: the last. The service is appalling, rude in fact. The wait for food is unreasonable and frankly inexpicable. Don't waste your money (it will be a LOT of your money), go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank zogabong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

From the room to the breakfast to the management this is the perfect place to stay in Youghal.

Clean, comfortable, welcoming and right in the centre of things! Well worth the price. Will be staying here every time I go back to visit my family.

I really liked that I was able to pick from the rooms availiable!

The breakfast was lovely and plentiful with a good selection to choose from.

The main bar and restaurant are overpriced dont be suprised when you get the bill in there!

Room Tip: Pick the room you want from whats availiable - just ask the manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheQueen_202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The staff at Aherne's was so helpful and informative. The guest rooms and lounge made me feel as if I could just stay forever! I particularly liked the charm of the guest rooms. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank JOANNE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The welcome was great and the staff friendly throughout our two night stay. The room was excellent with a huge bed and overall it was very comfotable and clean. Dinner in the restaurant was a delight, great food and atmosphere and overall a very fine dining experience. Central location to town and beaches, both of which warrant at least one visit if not more. Great craic in the bar in the evening, with a sing song to round of St Patrick's Day. Would definitely stay again and would recommend a stop here at any time. Thanks for making a wonderful trip even better. With great roads down from Belfast, it's not as long a trip as it used to be and very possible even if you only have a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed for 2nights ,it's a family run hotel & they were great, full of info about the area. The food they served was really tasty and great value. Rooms were really clean , large equipped with everything you need! Would definitely return!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blondechickdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We had a very enjoyable dinner and stay at Aherne's Seafood Restaurant recently.
The thing that really impressed us was the welcome and friendliness of the staff and owners.

Our room was very spacious and well furnished and the lounge area downstairs was very comfortable with a lovely open fire.

Our meal in the restaurant was top class, the service was friendly and efficient while the fish and seafood was extremely fresh and cooked to perfection. On enquiring about the lovely homemade chutney on the cheeseboard, I was delighted to get a sample and the recipe the next morning by the owner while having breakfast.

If hotels in Ireland could offer the service and quality as that of Ahernes , I think Irish Tourism would be well on the way to recovery.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelier41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
0.1 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#3 of 7 in Youghal
391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
364 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
15.6 mi away
The Pilgrims Rest Hotel (ADULTS ONLY)
9.6 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal

Address: 163 North Main Street, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range: £122 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Townhouse Hotel Youghal, County Cork and famous Seafood Restaurant. Based in the historic walled seaside town of Youghal on the beautiful sunny south east coast of Ireland. We serve a bar food menu daily from 12am- 10pm. We aim to be one of the best place to stay and eat in Ireland. We offer spacious and inviting accommodation in Youghal and the best of locally sourced seafood. We are also a proud member of Ireland's Blue Book. Aherne's Hotel & Seafood Restaurant Youghal is on the beautiful south coast of Ireland with lots of things to do and see in the local region. Within easy reach of the major cities of Cork and Waterford, airports, ferries and main roads - Aherne's is the the perfect base for leisure and business breaks in Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aherne`s Seafood Restaurant And Luxury Hotel
Ahernes Seafood Hotel Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing