We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, fantastic food, lovely town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed with my family for 2 nights. Had an amazing seafood meal in the evening, not particularly cheap but the quality and friendly service was well worth it. No complaints about the food. Hotel is simple but the only issue I had was the double bed was so bad I slept on the floor, changed beds with kids next night as the other was perfect. I told management and I guess they'll sort it out but no offer of a refund or anything else.... I don't expect perfection in any place and will not score them down on this but they could have handled it a bit better.
Breakfast was fantastic and all in all I would recommend this place and I would go back, so that says it all!

Room Tip: We got nosy and looked in a few open rooms, they all looked good! Upstairs rooms have a balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PaulFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Many decades ago I remember tasting my first mussels in garlic butter in Aherne’s……and the impression remains.

In May this year we stayed overnight for a family get together.Decided to go for the fillet cooked “blue” as the main course. And true blue it was…...to perfection. The benchmark for all future blue adventures but I don’t expect it ever to be surpassed, or even equalled.

Excellent food all round and a very enjoyable stay.

Professionalism.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackSir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed in Aherne's after our drive down from the North of Ireland, a very warm and welcoming place to stop with well appointed large room. We had our evening meal and that was just super in every aspect, both food and service great. Breakfast was a little shabby in it's presentation and indeed it's content but by no means the worst I have had.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Bobthedog198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great food. Friendly service. Spacious room.

Aherne's served as Youghal headquarters for our golf tour for three days in June. Both breakfast and fresh seafood dinners were delicious. The staff was friendly and helpful. A great time was had by all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank daduts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We loved our stay which included a 3 course dinner and breakfast. The rooms were clean and cosy, service was very friendly and the food was fantastic at a very affordable price. I am looking forward to visiting again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Namitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

... Aherne's is a good choice. As other reviewers have noted, the seafood in the bar and restaurant is excellent. It is fresh, local and very well prepared. The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable. What makes the place, however, are the owners and staff. They are friendly, talkative, well-informed and hospitable by instinct. Sit by the fire in the drawing room (yes, even in June) after breakfast and chat with them - chances are that you will change your plans for the day (for the better) as a result.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandVisitor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have seen Aherne's Seafood Bar in the Bluebook for years but never got around to visiting until last week when I was in the area. Place looks tired and can't vouch for the hotel side HOWEVER the seafood in pub and restaurant was really excellent. Not fine dining, but freshly cooked seafood with lovely sauces and good sides (available in pub or restaurant). Full range of fish and shell fish. I am a real sucker for these types of restaurants (O'Dowds in Roundstone or most of Kinsale) - really worth checking out. If you are driving around Ireland on holidays, this would make a great lunch stop - you wouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
0.8 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
376 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,705 reviews
9.6 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,710 reviews
9.4 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal

Address: 163 North Main Street, Youghal, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range: £122 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Townhouse Hotel Youghal, County Cork and famous Seafood Restaurant in the historic walled seaside town of Youghal on the beautiful sunny south east coast of Ireland. We also serve a bar food menu daily from 12am- 10pm. Privately owned and run in Youghal by the Fitzgibbon family for three generations. We aim to be "the best place to stay and eat in Ireland". We offer spacius and inviting accommodation in Youghal and the finest of locally sourced seafood available. We are also a proud member of Ireland's Blue Book.Aherne's Hotel & Seafood Restaurant Youghal is on the beautiful south coast of Ireland with lots of things to do and see in the local region. Within easy reach of the major cities of Cork and Waterford, airports, ferries and main roads - Aherne's is the the perfect base for leisure and business breaks in Cork. Look no further for Youghal Hotels. Ireland's Blue Book Vouchers are very welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aherne`s Seafood Restaurant And Luxury Hotel
Ahernes Seafood Hotel Luxury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing