We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSOLUTELY OUTRAGEOUS!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY OUTRAGEOUS!”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I contacted this establishment today to enquire about availability for two double rooms for 2 nights in late June. I rang the main telephone number which was answered by a man who just said "hello" I had to ask was I through to the Walter Raleigh hotel and explained my query to which I was told their reservations desk was extremely busy (I now rather doubt that!) and that I would be called back.

A short time later a woman named Jackie did call me back and I was told that yes they had two superior rooms available for my chosen dates but when I then proceeded to mention my livingsocial vouchers I was told that actually no they had no rooms for those dates! I asked to speak to a Manager and was told he was unavailable, so I asked for his name and was reluctantly told it was Brian and he would call me back. In fact it was a little while later that Jackie herself returned my call and told me that they could accommodate me but not in superior rooms (as there were none available!) but in ordinary rooms at the back of the hotel with no sea view which were a good deal smaller. I decided to go ahead with the booking and furnished Jackied with my name, address, voucher numbers. I was then asked for my credit card details to secure the booking and when I queried was this necessary as it was prepaid through livingsocial she explained that it was necessary for security purposes. I agreed that was fine but as I was out walking my dogs I would call her back within the hour with the details to which she replied that she couldn't make the booking without it. I said surely she could hold the rooms for an hour to which I didn't in fact I didn't get a reply just a sigh. I was then asked for the names of the people who would occupy the other room which I immediately gave and was told that they too would have to ring the hotel with their credit card details. I explained that I was gifting the weekend away to my friends and that I thought it was very inappropriate to have to ask them for their credit card info! I then asked to speak to Brian who was again unavailable.

He did call me back a short time later and boy oh boy what a man! To say he is dogged, disinterested and downright rude is an understatement. I was told that he was doing me a HUGE favour by giving us two rooms in the first place, he denied the fact that I was told that there were superior rooms available and that it was "company policy" to secure each room with a card. I have absolutely no problem with that but surely to God one card is enough to secure two prepaid rooms? He was totally uninterested in my situation and shouted that there was absolutely nothing he could do so I could take it up with their Sales and Marketing people if I wanted to. I asked who his superior was and was told it was none of my business! I wasn't even given his surname. I proceeded to tell him his customer service skills were sadly non-existent and that he was surely in the wrong job. I was continuously shouted down with every question I attempted to ask. It could certainly not be considered as a Manager/Customer conversation as all he was interested in was the sound of his own voice. After about 10 minutes of refusing to answer my queries or assist me in any way other than to try and shrug me off on his Sales and Marketing colleagues HE HUNG UP!!!!

I have never in my life been treated so disgustingly or with such disdain and this from a so-called Manager who is supposed be setting an example for his staff! I can only say that if you have purchased a livingsocial voucher for this hotel good luck to you! I will be contacting them to get a refund. Spend your money somewhere else. Somewhere you will be treated like a paying customer who matters.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank CowgirlLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna H, Director of Sales at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for taking the time to speak with me this morning, to discuss your recent experience when calling the Walter Raleigh Hotel & my sincere apologies for the manner in which your reservation was treated. We value all our customers at The Walter Raleigh Hotel & I can assure you that an incident as you have experienced will never happen again. Your comments have been taken on board and will be dealt with very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    68
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
95
108
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I am using one of the hotel meeting rooms on a daily basis. I have to say i have found Brian the operations manager and the other staff to be a joy to deal with. Anything I have asked for I have gotten without complaint or delay, including facilities that came as an additional cost to them. Complimentary coffee delivered every morning when I arrive, delivered with a smile and plesant conversation.
I have eaten from the menu and the food was very good and reasonably priced. Parking is abundant but the cream on top is the location, wonderful views of Youghal bay and the 1911 memorial park across the road.
I cant comment on the accommodation but there are plenty of tour buses pulling in to they must be doing something right :)

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front for the amazing view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niall h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Niall,

Thank you for taking the time to post this pleasant review.

I am so glad that the team here contributed to making your time at the Walter Raleigh enjoyable.
We put a strong emphasis on friendly service here and are lucky to have such personable members of staff. It is always our aim to make each guest's experience a memorable one for all the right reasons.

Thanks again and Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youghal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We went to a sports event here in the main hall as a family! 2 adults, a teen and a young child. Never again!
The way we were treated, we'd have been better treated in the Mart. They loved the main toilets on us (crowd control the manager said) not a crowd at it... Worst year ever. We have it there every year and usually it's a massive crowd... Not this year. Easy to say why. My child almost his pants. Then we were refused entry to the main bar (my sister took our kids home to use the toilets). One manager said we could go to the bar and another manager wouldn't leave us in! Place is a joke.
We were treated like animals. Sorry it took me so long to write review just at the time there was no Walter Raleigh hotel on this site.

Avoid this place like the plague!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenderry
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

What a wonderful Hotel, we stayed as a family of 4 in a family room the size of which was more than expected. We dined in the bar and were so surprised as to the high standard and presentation of the food, not to forget the value also. The staff were more that helpful and were most friendly indeed. I have stayed in quite a few Hotels and would say without hesitation that their breakfast is outstanding! We will definitely return and hopefully sooner rather than later.

Martin M
Offaly

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook the Bay at the front of the Hotel are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Martin,

I was so pleased to read your review and am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are a small close knit team here and our main emphasis is on providing a warm welcome combined with friendly skilled service and good food, in a clean environment. I am so glad that you acknowledged and appreciated this and that we contributed to making your break away truly enjoyable.

We look forward to your next stay with us; next time an extra large breakfast is guaranteed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The experience I had with the girl who answered the phone and subsequently the "Manager" was so shocking I am in disbelief that it happened at all. Having made a phone call the day previous to check availability for the following weekend it was confirmed that there would be a room available, I went ahead and bought an offer that was available on the living social website. I rang again the following day to make my reservation for the same weekend that had previously been discussed, only to be told that there was no availability. I explained my situation and my reasoning for the phone call the day before and the assurance of the availability to be told "its not my fault I was only here for a few hours yesterday and its not my fault if the rooms were filled when I wasnt here!" I dealt with the same girl on all occassions, including this time. She could not have been less interested, less helpful or less caring, I advised her of this and told her to have a manager call me. She suggested he was not available. I told her I was very dissatisfied and would be taking this further. Within five minutes I had a call from the "manager". His introduction was harsh, defensive and loud. He introduced himself though I missed his name he was speaking so quickly. I thanked him for returning my call so quickly as I had been told he was unavailable, I started to explain my situation: he suggested he had "no interest in hearing what I had to say, he did not need to put up with this level of abuse, that it was my fault that I did not read the terms & conditions" no matter how hard I tried to intervene and ask him to let me speak and listen to the circumstances he continued with the same reasoning, "he did not want to hear from me, I had nothing of interest to tell him, he did not want to know, I was offensive and abusive, I had upset his staff and he did not have to put up with this". I asked his name, he refused to give it. I told him I hold a managerial position in a service industry dealing with the public on a daily basis and if I behaved in such a manner I would expect to loose my job. He suggested "I should not hold such a position". I told him he was a pig and I ended the call. On returning to my desk further down the corridor a work colleague asked me who had been shouting at me down the phone? I have never ever had such an experience. I have spent the day making it my business to read reviews on this hotel and every one of them has been negative. Please dont even contact this hotel and give your business to someone who both wants and deserves it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna H, Director of Sales at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Jenny,
I apologise about the confusion surrounding your room reservation at The Walter Raleigh Hotel & the manner in which your issue was dealt with. Rest assured your comments have been taken very seriously. Further to your conversation with our company CEO I am delighted that you have accepted a complimentary stay in another of the AHS properties as our way of apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed one night recently. It was a really good price for a room only special rate. The girl at reception was very friendly at check in and out. However, we were out late at a function that night and it took ages for someone to answer the door to leave us in to the hotel and even longer for someone to come to reception to give us our key.

We had a room looking out to the park and the beach accross the road which was lovely. The room was basic enough, but clean.
However, the walls must be really thin as we could hear everything from the room next door - even our neighbour blowing their nose or zipping up their luggage - and there was no hope of sleeping in once everyone in the surrounding rooms started having their showers.
Incidentally, our shower was cold.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bogbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
0.7 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#1 of 8 in Youghal
342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.8 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,570 reviews
13.9 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
9.7 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walter Raleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walter Raleigh Hotel

Property: Walter Raleigh Hotel
Address: O'Brien's Place, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Walter Raleigh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old building, well kept to a high standard. Set on the outskirts of Youghal town, nestled perfectly on the edge of the Atlantic ocean. Beautiful sandy beaches at our front door, with miles of walk way along sandy beaches & country settings. A perfect, peaceful, relaxing setting, enjoy fishing, canoeing, boating, shopping, hunting, clay pigeon shooting, cycling, at The Walter Raleigh we have it all covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Walter Raleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing