We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
279
87
20
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
87
20
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelgreen parkhigh standardfish pieroom with a sea viewsea frontfamily weddingpoached eggsfunction roomsunday lunchlovely viewwould highly recommend this hotelsconesfirst floorperfect stayno hesitation in recommending this hotelbite to eat
Filter
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Was passing and decided to stop here for a coffee and a scone as i had heard it was under new management and undergoing refurbishment. On entering hotel you a greeted by a lovely bright, clean reception with plenty of space and some lovely seating areas. We sat in the bar which is a bit dark and could do with some more lighting. We ordered our tea/coffee and scones we promptly received our tea & coffee but where had to wait another 20 mintutes for our scones which in my opinion is far to long when it is something that does not have to be cooked and at a price of €11.80 for 2 scones and a tea & coffee which in my opinion is a bit excessive.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to outline your recent experience at the Walter Raleigh Hotel.

We are indeed in the process of renovating the hotel and are delighted our new reception area is to your liking.
I am disappointed that you feel you were waiting too long for scones, they should not have taken so long. Our scones are baked fresh each morning, perhaps they may not have been quite ready at that time of the morning but you should have been infomed of this; please accept my apologies.

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My daughter and new son in law celebrated their wedding dinner at this hotel - and it was superb! The owners and manageress could not do enough for us - beautiful Christmas decorations lit the way around, subdued lighting with little coloured spotlights on curtains to create atmosphere, very well trained and friendly staff, a great dance floor - we had a ball!
Everything went like clockwork and I know we were thrilled with the hotel - which is now under new management and , by God!, I know you can expect the best when they finish some of the renovations they are planning. Great value, great food, great time - really I was delighted with the great effort the new owners put into the wedding for us. A great venue for a wedding !

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the front and you wake up with the sea in front of you.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kierangroeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Kieran,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post that wonderful review, it was very kind of you.

From all the team here we wish Maeve & Tony all the best for their future together!
They are a lovely couple and a pleasure to work with while planning their special day.

We will hopefully see you again soon Kieran when we repoen at the end of January,

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This is a charming old-fashioned hotel with personable staff who are attentive and helpful beyond the call of duty. The hotel is situated in a wonderful location overlooking a seaside park where I played as a young child so bringing back some very happy memories. Breakfast was simple but well presented and contained the best of Irish ingredients. It was also really very good value for money. I would recommend this to anyone staying in Youghal, Co Cork.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor at the front of the hotel facing the sea
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind review which is very much appreciated by us all here.

It is always so rewarding to receive kind comments like your own and definately improves staff morale and motivation.

We hope to welcome you here again in the future,

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We spent a weekend at the Walter Raleigh Hotel and were very pleasantly surprised having read some negative reviews on here. Firstly, I can't say enough good things about the staff. We travel a lot and they were probably the friendliest we have ever met! We think the guy who checked us in was called Thomas (we asked one of the girls). He was so friendly and helpful from the minute we arrived he just set the tone for the whole weekend and couldn't do enough for us during our stay. He also served us our breakfast the next morning and made sure we had plenty of everything. The same goes for the rest of the staff. They're a credit to the hotel.
We stayed in room 33 on the third floor. It wasn't the largest room we've stayed in and the bathroom was pretty small too, but that's not something that bothers us and it is an old building after all. The hotel bar is immaculate. It looks like it has been recently refurbished. Nothing wrong with the Guinness either. Or the Murphy's. We had the full Irish breakfast both mornings. It was perfect. Top quality food and plenty of it with no waiting around. After breakfast we brought our tea out to the reception area to read the papers and were asked if we needed a refill.
If we ever find ourselves in Youghal again we will definitely be staying at the Walter Raleigh Hotel. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molloy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Reviewer,

From all the team at the Walter Raleigh Hotel we wish to express our thanks and appreciation for your kind review.

It is always so rewarding to be acknowleged for our efforts in making your stay as pleasant as you outlined .

We hope to see you stay with us again in the near future,

Best Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

My husband and I went here on a living social deal,if we paid full price i would be pretty annoyed at the hotel,the staff we beyond friendly and helpful and saved the hotel,the hotel itself reminded me of faulty towers increadibly outdated,would be almost charming if not for the toilet paper thin walls,the lift is beyond scary it shakes and rattles so much.we got a free meal in the hotel,we ended up having it in the bar early as we wanted to look around the town,but the food was bland and basic,tasted like it came from tesco value and upset my stomach so much we had to go straight home the rest of the day ruined.ok if you needed a quick over night hotel but would not reccomend for couples

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank HappyDee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Reviewer,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us and may I thank you for your kind comments about our team here.

It is unfortunate that you did not bring it to our attention on the evening that you dined that your meal was unsatisfactory as we would have welcomed the opportunity to rectify the situation and discuss this with you.

Please be informed that The Walter Raleigh Hotel has changed ownership within the last month and will close in January for work to commence on extensive renovations.

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews