We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roseville(Youghal)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$151
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Devon View House(Youghal)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
266
84
19
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
84
19
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelgreen parkhigh standardfish pieroom with a sea viewsea frontfamily weddingpoached eggsfunction roomwould highly recommend this hotelsunday lunchfrom start to finishperfect stayexcellent foodlovely viewsconesbite to eat
Filter
Updating list...
347 - 352 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Beautifully renovated. Food was delicious. Hospitality exquisite. In driving distance to fantastic attractions such as Fota and titanic experience. Hope to return again someday and have no hesitation rrecommending here as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickilikesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team here work extremely hard each day and it is a great reward to be acknowledged with kind comments like your own.

We hope that we may get the chance to welcome you back again soon so that you can absorb more of what East Cork has to offer.

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed for 2 nights B&B last weekend with a voucher. Downstairs in the hotel has been nicely renovated but unfortunately our room was a disappointment. I'm sure there may be plans to update the decor and renovate the rooms but that wont change the fact that our room was freezing cold upon arrival and remained very cold for most of our stay. Although we had an amazing view we couldn't see out the dirty windows and I never saw so many cobwebs in a hotel room in my life! (room 14) A welcome pack containing information on the hotel and surrounding area would have been very much appreciated. Breakfast options were very limited. The only good point was that the staff are very nice. We will not be returning as there are far better hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YvonneOffaly_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Yvonne,
We were disappointed to hear you didn't fully enjoy your stay with us and would welcome the opportunity to talk to you in person about your experience. I inspected room 14 and could find no evidence of cobwebs or dirt on the windows. I am sorry that your room radiator was not turned up before you arrived as the weather was very cold and this should have been taken care of for you before your arrival.

Unfortunately one of the few drawbacks of being on the sea front is that after a storm the wind leaves a salt residue on the windows and I would suggest that you may have mistaken this for dirt.
You are correct; we are starting the second phase of our bedroom refurbishment program later this month when completed we will have refurbished 50% of our rooms.

I would like to thank you for your comments and suggestions.

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I stayed at this lovely hotel 8th March for the weekend with my husband and 10 year old son. The staff can't do enough for you. They hotel is full of history and the bar is so relaxing. The food is excellent and good value. We went bowling in a large indoor leisure complex a few minutes drive away,
I strolled up to the beautiful lighthouse only 5 minutes up the road and was amazed at the scenery. The view from the bedroom overlooks the bay. There was a lovey Antique fair on in the hotel on the Sunday which I really enjoyed. The buildings in Youghal are very old and well maintained and have a great history. I will be back in the summer to explore more in the town.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are overlooking the bay so you won't be disappointed
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulinemcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We really appreciate you taking the time to outline the details of your pleasant stay with us.

We hope that we can welcome you back again soon so that you can explore more of what East Cork has to offer.

Thanks again from all the team here,

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights with a special offer voucher. The hotel looks quite run down from the outside but don’t be put off as the inside is lovely. The reception, bar etc have all been recently redecorated in a very tasteful fashion. We were glad to see it had been done in keeping with the old style of the building. The rooms are currently being refurbished. We were in one of the ones which hasn’t been done yet but it was still really nice with a lovely large and very comfortable bed and a great view of the sea. The only problem we had was that the window seal was almost completely gone but I’m sure this will be addressed when the room is being re-done. We ate in the bar on the first night and the food was excellent. All the staff in the hotel were extremely pleasant and helpful. Our only complaint was that breakfast was a bit poor. The options were very limited and the cooked breakfast and porridge were not great. It was a bit of a disappointment compared to the quality of the dinner. Maybe this is something that the hotel could look into. However, I would still recommend it as a good place to stay in Youghal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheepie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.

Your kind comments are appreciated by all here, we hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back again when are refurbishment works are completed.

Warm wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel at the weekend and have nothing but good comments to say about it.
The staff are beyond excellent and just cant do enough for you. I cant wait to go back when they have finished renovating it as what they have done so far is lovely and modern. The view was briliant when i woke up i thought i was in the middle of the ocean it was beautiful.
Every one in Youghal must walk and the whole way along the strand are exercise machines that you would find in a gym so if you are health conscious and love to walk then this is deffo the place to go. Everything was great no complaints and we will definitely be back for more. About a 40min drive into Cork city which is a shoppers paradise.

Pauline , Michael Butler.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank pollywollyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Pauline,

From all the team at the Walter Raleigh Hotel we wish to express our thanks and appreciation for your kind review.

It is always so rewarding to be acknowleged for our efforts in making your stay as pleasant as you outlined .

We hope that you do indeed visit us again here in Youghal in the near future,

Best Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews