We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
281
87
20
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
87
20
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel green park high standard fish pie room with a sea view sea front family wedding poached eggs function room sunday lunch lovely view would highly recommend this hotel scones first floor perfect stay no hesitation in recommending this hotel bite to eat
Filter
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Just spent a very relaxing weekend in the Walter Raleigh hotel in youghal ,this friendly hotel is currently being renovated we stayed in one of the older rooms ,it was a bit small but did what it says on the tin. The staff were all amazingly friendly.
The view from our room 33 was stunning and it was lovely to fall asleep to the sound of the waves lapping on the shore .The food was basic but very tasty and breakfast was served as opposed to buffet a big bonus for me.would definitely go back for a short break with the hubby.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Magsclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Reviewer,

I would like to express my gratitude for your review, from all the team here we truly appreciate your kind words.

I do hope we may get the chance to welcome you again and please feel free to request one of our newly refurbished rooms, before the end of the season 70% for our rooms should be completed.

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

On a recent visit to Youghal, we stopped off at the Walter Raleigh Hotel for lunch. We were reliably informed the hotel was under new management and under going an overdue face lift. The setting is beautiful overlooking the sea and there is also a very nice park directly across the road. As the weather was quite cold, we enjoyed a very satisfying lunch in the cosy bar. The hake was cooked to perfection as was my sisters choice of pork belly. For dessert, we had a sherry trifle and a very tasty rice pudding served with rhubarb. The staff were friendly and efficient, eager to please and gave prompt attentive service. We asked to see the refurbished Function Room as we had heard the Walter Raleigh was a social dancing venue and we are keen dancers. It is a beautiful room, sparkling clean with a resurfaced floor and would make an ideal venue for any kind of function including social dancing. A restaurant upstairs was in the process of construction and we look forward to a return visit when a glass of wine could be enjoyed on the terrace.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank tippland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

We truly appreciate your comments, you are very kind.

I do hope that you may return to us soon and hopefully you will be able to schedule your visit in time for one of our social dancing nights.

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Newly renovated hotel in a great spot right on the sea front. Bedroom and bathroom newly decorated, clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly, we arrived late and they kept the kitchen open so we could get some dinner, which was great, good quality and value.

My colleague asked if they had any bananas for breakfast and they sent someone out to get some.
Looking forward to returning for a longer stay when I'm not on business!

Room Tip: Rooms at front can be a little noisy due to the main road.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaMcc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post this wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

All small gestures on our part; we are more than happy to oblige in any way we can, but I am delighted that these contributed to making your stay a more pleasant one.

We do hope that you return to stay with us again in the future,

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Beautifully renovated. Food was delicious. Hospitality exquisite. In driving distance to fantastic attractions such as Fota and titanic experience. Hope to return again someday and have no hesitation rrecommending here as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickilikesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team here work extremely hard each day and it is a great reward to be acknowledged with kind comments like your own.

We hope that we may get the chance to welcome you back again soon so that you can absorb more of what East Cork has to offer.

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed for 2 nights B&B last weekend with a voucher. Downstairs in the hotel has been nicely renovated but unfortunately our room was a disappointment. I'm sure there may be plans to update the decor and renovate the rooms but that wont change the fact that our room was freezing cold upon arrival and remained very cold for most of our stay. Although we had an amazing view we couldn't see out the dirty windows and I never saw so many cobwebs in a hotel room in my life! (room 14) A welcome pack containing information on the hotel and surrounding area would have been very much appreciated. Breakfast options were very limited. The only good point was that the staff are very nice. We will not be returning as there are far better hotels for the same price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YvonneOffaly_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Yvonne,
We were disappointed to hear you didn't fully enjoy your stay with us and would welcome the opportunity to talk to you in person about your experience. I inspected room 14 and could find no evidence of cobwebs or dirt on the windows. I am sorry that your room radiator was not turned up before you arrived as the weather was very cold and this should have been taken care of for you before your arrival.

Unfortunately one of the few drawbacks of being on the sea front is that after a storm the wind leaves a salt residue on the windows and I would suggest that you may have mistaken this for dirt.
You are correct; we are starting the second phase of our bedroom refurbishment program later this month when completed we will have refurbished 50% of our rooms.

I would like to thank you for your comments and suggestions.

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews