We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend at The Walter Raleigh Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have just returned from a weekend stay at this hotel. We were greeted with a very warm welcome, great first impression. Double room was small, comfortable, with fantastic sea view. Weather so nice window remained opened during the night and we could enjoy sound of lapping waves !! Bar food was very good and reasonably priced. Staff were very friendly. Location of hotel is well placed for a nice facing the beach with a nice walk to the heart of Youghal. I believe this hotel to be recently opened by the new owners, I wish them the best of luck for the future.

Room Tip: Do request a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fioname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us, your kind comments are truly appreciated by all the team here.
We hope that you may get the chance to stay with us again soon, please feel free to request a larger room, we would gladly arrange that if available.

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

Firstly must say that the staff were excellent and very friendly. The restaurant was very good value for the quality. I got an older room, very clean and lovely view of the bay. Youghal is a beautiful town and this hotel is max. 10 minutes walking to the town centre.

I wish the new owners the best of luck with their enterprise - they were both very friendly. The standard and style of the interior is very tasteful. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay here at the Walter Raleigh Hotel.

Hopefully if you return to us again, you will be rewarded with a stay in one of our newly refurbished bedrooms, do please mention this request when booking.

The owners of this hotel designed the interior themselves and are delighted that you find it to be so tasteful and suitable.

We hope to get the chance to welcome you back in the near future,

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just back from what I can say enjoyable night at the Walter from arriving yesterday we were met with the receptionist Laura who had a smile on face from the greeting still we left this morning such a pleasant person breakfast was perfect staff was pleasant and couldn't do more thanks to Marie and the rest of the staff who made our stay most enjoyable have to say we were there a year go my total different place thanks again and we will be back

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coco123434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, you will be pleased to know that Laura’s smile is even brighter now from your kind comments!
We truly appreciate your kind words as we are very proud of our hard working team here and love when their efforts are acknowledged.

We hope that you may get the chance to return to us again soon,

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights for a short break. When we drove up to it, we didn't really think much of it as there was scaffolding outside and it looked shabby. Once you get inside it is a completely different story! the lobby area was bright and fresh, and the bar was lovely! There is also ample parking. Our room was on the third floor and we were pointed to the lift to go up, and that was the first and last time we used it, as it was very old, very slow and didn't feel one bit safe! Our room was gorgeous with an amazing view of the sea right across the road! Unfortunately the renovations on the hotel started very early (8am or before) and woke us up, and was so noisy it was giving us headaches! Staff were very friendly, and I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100,125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Reviewer,

I am delighted to be able to say that the scaffolding has been taken down! I hope that you appreciate that it was necessary in order to facilitate the extensive ongoing renovations throughout the last 6 months.

I feel I must assure you that the lift is perfectly safe and has to undergo regular safety inspections and maintenance; it is simply slower than many newer elevators.

I am delighted that you we pleased with your room and the panoramic views it offered and I can only apologise for the noise disturbance from the onsite workers. They normally do not start as early when guests are asleep and had we been notified that you were awoken from the noise we would have contacted them to stop immediately.

We are very proud of our hard working team here and are delighted that you acknowledged their efforts.

We hope that you may stay with us again,

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Clearly this is a work in progress, lobby and bar very good. yes the lift need to be upgraded. room very clean but basic. But what ever you do keep the chef, food excellent. Good breakfast not a buffet, I dont mind waiting a few minutes. Staff lovely. Very good value

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2013

Dear Reviwer,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

Your kind comments have been passed to the kitchen, a new chef has indeed only recently joined our team and we will most definitely be holding onto him, proudly showcasing more of what he has to offer!

I am glad that you appreciate the value in your stay with us; we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The rooms and the bar area is fine. They are doing a lot of work on the hotel and from my last visit it is alot brighter and clean looking, but they need to get in a new lift.
The only thing you must watch out for is, they take out €150 from your card, in case you smoke in the room. I am sure they are meant to tell you, but we were not. We do not smoke and have not for at least 15 years. The only other thing is that Breakfast was abit slow, but as the number of people ringing looking for work, this should improve.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noddy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We only pre-authorise your card on arrival for €150.00 we do not take any money. If you use a credit card on check-in it does not affect your balance on your card account but if you use a debit card your bank will hold the pre-authorised amount. We only receive payment when you check out and we complete the transaction. It is our policy to inform our guests and provide them with a copy of the card receipt, please accept my apologies if this did not happen. We cook all breakfasts to order, which we think is far superior to the buffet option, we note your comments and will monitor the service time. We too would love a new lift but you will be happy to know that it has recently passed its independent safety inspection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Decided to go to youghal for I night on sat 25 may from the moment we arrived we were greeted by a lovely receptionist named Maria our room was on third floor and was not yet renovated but was spotless clean and had a lovely view out to the sea we had a meal in the bar on sat night and it was exquisite my compliments to the chef !!! Breakfast on sun morning was the same everything was lovely and fresh and a great variety I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel Cant wait to go back soon

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraWRH, Manager at Walter Raleigh Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and truly appreciate your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again, soon hopefully!

Warm Wishes & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
0.7 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
382 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.8 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,726 reviews
9.7 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,735 reviews
13.9 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walter Raleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walter Raleigh Hotel

Address: O'Brien's Place, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range: £105 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Walter Raleigh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old building, well kept to a high standard. Set on the outskirts of Youghal town, nestled perfectly on the edge of the Atlantic ocean. Beautiful sandy beaches at our front door, with miles of walk way along sandy beaches & country settings. A perfect, peaceful, relaxing setting, enjoy fishing, canoeing, boating, shopping, hunting, clay pigeon shooting, cycling, at The Walter Raleigh we have it all covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Walter Raleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing