We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

From the moment we arrived at the Walter Raleigh Hotel my parents and I were treated as friends. Nothing was too much for Nick, Grace and their wonderful staff. I had mentioned when making the reservation that it was a special occassion and on arrival we were told that there were complementary coffee/tea and scones in the bar for us. There was also a congratulatory card in my parents bedroom for their 50th wedding anniversary.
The rest of my family came for a special dinner on St. Patricks day and Nick and Thomas made sure that there were enough tables reserved for us in the bar.
Special mention to Trish, Lorraine and Thomas who made the stay very special. Thank you.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrygirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Refurbished to a high standard the Walter Raleigh has a warm and friendly atmosphere with staff that are prepared to go that extra mile to ensure your stay with them is second to none. The food is fantastic and the rooms having a sea view are great with the most comfy beds. I haven't a bad word to say about this hotel and recommend this hotel to anyone, I for one will be returning again and again

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neiljmcv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

There were four adults and three children, all under 4 yrs, for lunch on mother's day. As the hotel was recently reopened we were looking forward to our meal. We had booked a table in the bar. On arrival we saw that the bar was very busy. On being seated we were given our menus and we all ordered. Some of the children did not want chips only potato and vegetables. The food was lovely, but service was very slow. We were there for 3pm and did not leave till 5pm. While we were getting up to leave we saw that there had been a special menu for mothers day, we were never given this menu, just the regular one. Also, the childrens potato and veg were 6euro each, which I thought was excessive. Their mother had wanted a main course that she could divide between them but the only one with potatoes and veg was beef, which was sold out. This would have worked out better overall. I can appreciate that the hotel has only recently reopened but we were disappointed for that special occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank sallybruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Two of travelled down to Youghal for our friend's wedding. We were reminded over and over again that the hotel had just opened, that we were going to be the first guests to stay there and that the wedding we were attending, was the first one to be held there.
From the moment we arrived, we loved it. All the staff went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. Our room was perfect - all sparkly and new and with a lovely view over the water. Our breakfast was made to order -- maybe there could be a few more items to offer those who don't eat meat, or even more of what was served. Still, everything was really tasty.
Then, onto the wedding. The room was beautiful, the service was impecable, the food - all 4 courses - was delicious. If this is how Nick, Grace and the rest of the staff perform on their 1st big day, things can only get better. Amazingly, having bade farewell to the ever-so-patient staff and my fellow wedding guests at about 5.45 am, the staff were up, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed to serve us a much needed 'full Irish' a few hours later!
We loved our weekend in Youghal and loved our stay in the beautifully furnished Walter Raleigh Hotel; we will definately reccommend it to others. Thank you Nick, Grace and all the staff

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheIrishC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We had a my sisters wedding here a few nights ago and I can literally fault nothing. The decor,lobby, reception room and bedrooms were stunning. The food was absolutely top notch and the thing that really stood out was the professionalism me the staff. The owners nick and grace could not have done more for the bride and groom and really were part of their special day. An amazing location for a family wedding of any size. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melzo_cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Called into the hotel to day for a meal and I have to say it was very disappointing. We have had lunch here before and it was always good. To day I ordered med rare steak. On arrival it was extremely rare to the point that it was impossible to cut . Chips under cooked and plate cold . Resulting in food being cold. The other order of bacon and cabbage was ok but again cold. We were offered a comp desert but we declined and the manager said she would adjust the bill .. Unfortunately she didn't . Maybe this hotel would need the Brennan brothers back again . A lot of staff faffing abour falling over each other behind the bar and it was not even that busy !

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

oh my god all i can say is fanastic we had the pleasure of having my sister wedding and all i can say was nick and grace were brilliant they literally fell over us as i am five months pregant and was chief bridemaids nick made all the family so welcome from start to finish and treated us like royality so thanks to nick and grace and staff that made stephanie and thomas day so special

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coco123434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
0.7 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
387 reviews
13.9 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.5 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
9.2 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walter Raleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walter Raleigh Hotel

Address: O'Brien's Place, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range: £85 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Walter Raleigh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old building, well kept to a high standard. Set on the outskirts of Youghal town, nestled perfectly on the edge of the Atlantic ocean. Beautiful sandy beaches at our front door, with miles of walk way along sandy beaches & country settings. A perfect, peaceful, relaxing setting, enjoy fishing, canoeing, boating, shopping, hunting, clay pigeon shooting, cycling, at The Walter Raleigh we have it all covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Walter Raleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing