We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Imperial Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead, UK
Level Contributor
512 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Good ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Room 3
18 January

Excellent check in and very helpful receptionist.
I was pleased that the room faces the back.
Double bed, shower with tea and decaf coffee facilities - no non decaf coffee in the room.
I could not get the main light to come on - blown bulb?

I wonder about the light coloured curtains - can they keep the light out on a summer morning?

Very good breakfast - quality ingredients and well presented.

Great bar in the hotel, nice fire and good atmosphere.
Enjoyable stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear expectant customer,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on your stay with ourselves. The main light in your room had indeed suffered from blown bulb which was replaced after your departure and had I known I would have replaced whilst you were here. We have roller blinds to be attached to the windows on all the back facing rooms before this coming summer season takes off, we took that on board from our guests comments last summer. The absence of regular coffee was an oversight of accommodation staff for which I apologize. We are glad you enjoyed the bar and breakfast services and we look forward to hosting you again should you be in the area.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    58
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
94
120
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here over XMas and NYE for a family occasion. On arrival we received a warm welcome from the receptionist. After check in, we ate in the bar and were treated to some really good tasty fresh food. We were sitting by a lovely cosy fire and there was a terrific buzz there (this was at 6pm).

Our room was perfectly clean and quiet, and had terrific artwork on display (as was evident throught the areas I saw)....I was disappointed that we were only staying one night.

Our breakfast was cooked to order - and we were asked more than once if we required more toast/bread/tea..... Again the food was fresh and tasty :)

The receptionist checked us out with a smile on her face - as did all the staff we dealt with in The Old Imperial - I would definately give this place a thumbs up!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corkmar73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Corkmar73
Thank you for your positive words which the entire team appreciate and none more so, that the very hard working kitchen crew. We look forward to playing host again should you be in the area.
Best wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youghal, Ireland
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was my second time visiting,but my first visit under the new management,and boy were we glad we did.The upstairs restaurant was very nice and cosy and had a good atmosphere about it.I was in a party of six,and service was excellent.The food here is simply delicious.We went for the set menu which was all that was available on the night,but it was very comprehensive and imaginative Overall a very pleasant experience.It was nice to see the owner collecting dishes from the tables and asking the customers if the enjoyed their meals.We will certainly be back.The only fault be it a minor one was the distance to the toilets.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear hairyfairycork,
Thank you for your positive review of your visit with ourselves and we are glad that you enjoyed your meal and service. There is a toilet upstairs which you might not have been made aware of, and if this is the case, then please accept my apologies. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.
Best wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Had a lovely one night stay in the Old Imperial recently, and was sorry it wasn't longer. My room was lovely (and perfectly clean), the bed was very comfortable, and breakfast was great. Looking forward to returning in future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Fiona O
Thank you for your kind words. We're glad that you enjoyed your experience with ourselves here at the hotel and we look forward to playing host again soon.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had a party of 25 people booked for Dinner and overnight stay at The Old Imperial Hotel Youghal. We had a great Dinner, food and presentation couldn't be better. Great value too. The rooms were very comfortable, very clean spacious and very relaxing. Can't wait to go there again. The Staff were so friendly and helpful, and nothing was a problem for them. I have to say Mark Golden is a treasure every hound should have one,!!!!! The Bread is fantastic and all made in their kitchen,also their homemade Marmalade. Overall fantastic.

Room Tip: No lift so if you might need to book a room on the 1st floor. All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkJessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear CorkJessica
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind words.. We all, as a team, are glad that you enjoyed your overall experience whilst in our care. We look forward to having you stay again should you be in the area.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Excellent Family Lunch in Youghal on the way to Cork for the Christmas Shopping. The lunch menu was excellent, plenty of choice. The food was excellent. We were stuffed as the portion size is very generous. I would certainly recommend this Hotel Restaurant for food. Now I want to stay here too.
Only negative was the corner of the menu I received was melted and seemed a bit odd that it was not thrown away and replaced. Keep up the good work !!!

The staff and waitress were welcoming and friendly and because of this we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixiedoggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Dixiedoggy1
Thank you for you positive review of your visit with ourselves and we are glad that everything was to satisfaction with food and service. Regarding the menus they are all being replaced this month (Jan 14) as the back up that we had, to replace the one being singed by candles on tables, has ran out so a complete overhaul in in order. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Best wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Had a great lunch today, my friend ordered do steak sandwich, I had d goats cheese salad. We were really impressed, food and presentation excellent and value for money. Staff really friendly too. Wish I had ordered d steak sandwich after seeing it come out, I will do next time :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Lisa D
Thank you for your upbeat review of your lunch visit here. We do our utmost to ensure that our gusts enjoy their experience. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
0.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.1 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
9.6 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
13.6 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Imperial Hotel

Property: The Old Imperial Hotel
Address: The Old Imperial Hotel 27 N North Main Street, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Imperial Hotel is one of the oldest accommodations in the historic town of Youghal. Built in the 18th century, it was used as a stage coach stop for the Bianconi Line. Located in the heart of the town, yet only a 1 km walk from the sea front, The Old Imperial Hotel is committed to providing excellent service and value to all our guests. With a fantastic location just off the N25, each of our newly refurbished 18 spacious en-suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated with complimentary WIFI, and tea and coffee making facilities. All 18 of our newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms are designed with comfort in mind. Accommodation includes a range of superior rooms, large family rooms which can accommodate up to 2 adults and 3 children, standard double rooms and twin and single rooms. In room amenities include TV, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms with free Internet access. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30am - 10am each morning. Full a la carte menu available daily from 11:30am including daily specials. Secure private car park for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing