We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Irish Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Imperial Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great Irish Breakfast”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were in Youghal and dropped in to the Old Imperial for breakfast.
We were seated in the bar area and the service was friendly and efficient.
We had great food - one full Irish breakfast which was really well presented and tasted as good, and one smoked haddock with poached eggs which was fantastic.
All this served with fresh brown bread and toast and the real treat was the marmalade made from what tasted like fresh orange peel mixed with orange puree.
Hotel breakfast is generally the forgotten meal of the day but this one we will remember.
F and G

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Frank D
Thank you for reviewing your breakfast experience with ourselves and more importantly we are glad that you enjoyed the visit. The kitchen crew appreciate the kind words and the Marmalade is home made using whole oranges minced and made into marmalade.
We hope to play host again sometime in the near future.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    61
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
100
125
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Nice food reasonably priced and a comfortable atmosphere. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The menu has a good selection of dishes. I would not hesitate to go back again. This is a good location as it is in the town centre close to two large car parks.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear William O
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with ourselves. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to playing host again in the future.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had the best fish cakes at their restaurant as well as great service in the restaurant and hotel. The fishcake was made with capers and served with greens and a sweet dressing. With a Guinness, these cakes served as our dinner, they were so delicious. The waitresses were so helpful and friendly. The hotel receptionist was even more helpful looking up our next destination even though we were not guests at the hotel. Meeting the friendly and articulate owner at dinners and breakfasts revealed the source of this restaurant's excellence. LizEd 243

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizEd243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear LizEd243,
Thank you for your very kind words about your visit with ourselves. We pride ourselves in providing as hospitable an experience as is possible and we are glad that you enjoyed your time in our care.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Heading to youghal for a wedding I decided to stay in a small but oh so friendly hotel. And boy was I glad. It's only when you experience the friendliness the informal but nevertheless professional approach with attention to detail that you wonder why you continue to stay in hotel chains. Reception was welcoming and check in was ready for me. Hotel has 18 rooms and I was on top floor bright room and spacious overlooking a historical site at back of hotel. Welcome water and tea coffee maker was a nice touch and delighted to have a walk in shower. Based on the wonderful breakfasts my only regret was that I did not get a chance to dine in evening. Try the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon.superb. If travelling by car parking available. The hotel bar another gem olde feel yet modem service. The bus stop is only 50m from hotel if traveeling from cork or waterfitd. I had forgotten the historical dimensions to youghal. Three sites very near the hotel including an alms house. In summary there is nothing olde about this hotel except old standards of great friendliness and genuine intetestvin their guests that was very much evident by all staff and owners who are hands on. I have decided to return again this summer. Thank you firvreminding me small us beautiful .

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mark S
Thank you for your exuberant review of your stay with us recently. we take great pleasure also in the fact that you enjoyed the historical aspect to the town also. The kitchen crew thank you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you over the summer all going well.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have had the pleasure of eating here twice in the last two weeks - both times food has been fresh, tasty and of great value. We have eaten in the bar both times, fresh fish, home made burgers all served by people with a great attitude.If you have reason to be in Youghal or are taking a day trip, if you are looking for a great meal at very reasonable prices this is the place for you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Simone Y
Thank you for taking the time to review your visits to our establishment and we are glad as a team that yo enjoyed your experiences. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I am 44 years old and the vege dish servered at a reception we attaended was the worst meal I have ever tasted, it beggers belief that a country with such fine produce could produce such poor food. Both the vege starter(mushroom risotto) and main(Lasagne) were equally disgusting, the lazy chefs standard vege dish should have been a warning. The side salad was also a disaster, how on earth can you get that wrong ?? Both my dishes were returned to the kitchen with my complaints and the same for the only other vege at the event. Other guests appeared to enjoy the standard everything fried fare of steak etc.but this is by no means fine dinning, Most of the menu is available at a good fish and chip shop.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear P K
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. We take all comments seriously however would like to point out the following:
Relating to your "Lazy Chef" analogy, the same individual who is half owner of this business starts each morning at 6:45 and finishes at approximately 10pm each night so as to ensure this business which employs 35 people stays open.
Relating to your "Fish and Chip" shop comparison please find me one that serves Pâté, prawn cocktail, pan roasted salmon, grilled chicken etc or perhaps I am missing the point. We also have an extensive à la carte menu available also which has many other choices.
Relating to "Fine Dining" we are a 3 star hotel and we do not presume to, or attempt to provide a fine dining experience, may I suggest the wonderful Cliff House in Ardmore with their Michelin Star restaurant for your next event if this is what you had hoped for.
I trust this puts the matter in order for you, should you wish to speak to either of us please cal us on 024 92435
Kind regards
Mark Golden/Mark Johnston
Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed in the old imperial hotel last weekend. I feel so lucky to have got a room at such late notice, (the night before!) so i wouldn't dream of commenting on my third floor room without a lift. The visit was well worth it and i would have stepped it to the fourth floor if need be. The room was fitted out beautifully, with tea & coffee, 2 large bottle of cold water, an iron board and a fab en suite bathroom. A very nice touch i thought was the restaurant menu in the room also. We went for a walk around youghal and to be fair the old imperial looks the best premises on the main street.
We ate in the bar around 4 in the afternoon and we didn't plan on such a large serving but that didn't stop us coming back to the restaurant around 8.30. Thinking we could just walk in for dinner, a little slip up on our part.... we never booked a table but the obliging Anna who had come on shift after the ever so helpful Phil got us sorted within 5 mins as we were guests in the hotel. Sorry we could only manage a main course, the chicken was fab and the cod equally good. The presentation was fantastic. Breakfast super also.
Mark was excellent, there in the afternoon, the evening and at breakfast the following morning. It is so obvious the he loves his job and takes great pride in the service he provides and never leaves his guard down.
I wish both Marks the very best of luck in the future.
p.s the decor throughout the hotel is wonderful. We will definitely return again. Thanks to Mark who gave us some recommendations on Kenmare which we travelled on to, the No. 35 restaurant was very enjoyable.
Also Anna recommended J.D.s bar main street Youghal which has live music, it was well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear holidayfocus,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your stay with ourselves. We are glad that you enjoyed the overall experience and the whole team thank you for your positive words. I'm also glad you enjoyed your stay in Kenmare afterwards.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,641 reviews
13.6 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
14.3 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Imperial Hotel

Property: The Old Imperial Hotel
Address: The Old Imperial Hotel 27 N North Main Street, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Imperial Hotel is one of the oldest accommodations in the historic town of Youghal. Built in the 18th century, it was used as a stage coach stop for the Bianconi Line. Located in the heart of the town, yet only a 1 km walk from the sea front, The Old Imperial Hotel is committed to providing excellent service and value to all our guests. With a fantastic location just off the N25, each of our newly refurbished 18 spacious en-suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated with complimentary WIFI, and tea and coffee making facilities. All 18 of our newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms are designed with comfort in mind. Accommodation includes a range of superior rooms, large family rooms which can accommodate up to 2 adults and 3 children, standard double rooms and twin and single rooms. In room amenities include TV, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms with free Internet access. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30am - 10am each morning. Full a la carte menu available daily from 11:30am including daily specials. Secure private car park for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing