We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Imperial Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We spent one night at the Old Imperial and really enjoyed our brief time here.

We were given a family room (#1), that included one double bed and three singles. And there was still room to move around. The bathroom was very spacious too!

I met two of the women who worked at reception and they were so nice.

Our rate included breakfast and we were given several choices of cooked-to-order options such as Irish breakfast or an omelette. Great breakfast! They were even willing to make up our childrens' meals so we could bring them up to our room.

Delightful place. Fantastic staff.

Only downside is that it isn't easy to get to. I found it from a search on expedia.com for a hotel in Waterford and it isn't near that city.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jewels_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Jewels_Travels,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its nice to hear that you felt looked after from the moment you arrived. The kitchen crew pass on their thanks as do the ladies at reception. Relating to us coming up on an expedia search for hotels near Waterford we have passed on your comments to expedia as it is indeed misleading from their point of view and ours.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    63
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
104
129
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We made the plan to go to Youghal last Wednesday because of the RTE show At Your Service which featured the hotel last year. I brought my elderly Dad there for lunch. The food was freshly made, tasty and beautifully presented. For a Wednesday they were very busy and that has to be because of their reputation as there were a lot of locals in as well as visitors like us. The atmosphere was great. As soon as you enter their doors, every member of staff is aware you're there. They greet you with a smile and are attentive throughout your visit. One of the proprietors, Mark Golden went to every table to see all was well and chat with the customers. They have a lovely garden area to sit also, and provide parking at the back, although we were able to park on the street in front as there is free parking between 1pm and 2pm. The hotel is in the main street of the town so would be ideal if staying in the hotel, being easily able to walk to all the shops and restaurants in the town. Youghal is only 40 minutes from Cork city and a great shopping town with lovely traditional quirky shops, as opposed to the high street franchise shops of cities. Moby Dick the movie was made here in 1954 and many locals can tell the tales of seeing Gregory Peck walk around the town.The beautiful Ardmore beach is only a few miles away, along with many other things to do in the area. We would definitely stop by for food when in the area again, and if looking for a weekend away, would be delighted to stay in this hotel. They deserve all the business they are clearly getting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear MaryCork,
Thank you for your uplifting exuberant review, which is appreciated by all of our team here at the hotel. Equally as important it is nice to see such glowing words about the local area. We look forward to hopefully playing host to you again should you be in the area.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stopped off here with family for a bite to eat. Had previously eaten & reviwed here before & remembered saying the food was fine but wouldn't run back om this occassion however my mind has been changed !
Disappointingly there was no table free in the restaurant but we got a table in the bar and sat on the stools provided not the most comfortable but adequate. We chose the early bird menu excellent value @ 25 euro for 3 courses per person.
The choice was good & so was the service fast & efficient & the food was just amazing ! We all enjoyed the dinner & we will definitely be back & will recommend

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Sunshine978,
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive words about your visit. We are glad you enjoyed meal and more importantly that you left on a positive note and will be happy to recommend . We look forward to welcoming you again should you be in the area.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston Clinton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

just back from trip to youghal county cork
while there had a very nice meal at the imperial hotel staff very friendly followed by a nice pint. also had a fun game of pitch and putt by the beach which is very up and down hill

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank roybeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, General Manager at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear roybeat,
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind words about your visit to our establishment. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again should you be in the area.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What makes this hotel stand out is its excellent friendly and helpful staff who provide a real service with a smile. We could not fault the food and the great choice for a breakfast menu. My husband and I stayed here for two nights and we were recommended various places to visit by Anna and Mark which we appreciated and enjoyed. I recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled egg for breakfast which was very tasty. Youghal is a lovely place to visit and this hotel is close to all amenities where you can park the car and enjoy the heritage walks around the town.Thanks to all the staff at the imperial for making our wedding anniversery a wonderful weekend and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Biconi junior suite which was very roomy and great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Anne C
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here and we are glad that you enjoyed the whole experience. More importantly we are glad you enjoyed the town itself and we would be delighted to play host again should you be in the area.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were in Youghal and dropped in to the Old Imperial for breakfast.
We were seated in the bar area and the service was friendly and efficient.
We had great food - one full Irish breakfast which was really well presented and tasted as good, and one smoked haddock with poached eggs which was fantastic.
All this served with fresh brown bread and toast and the real treat was the marmalade made from what tasted like fresh orange peel mixed with orange puree.
Hotel breakfast is generally the forgotten meal of the day but this one we will remember.
F and G

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Frank D
Thank you for reviewing your breakfast experience with ourselves and more importantly we are glad that you enjoyed the visit. The kitchen crew appreciate the kind words and the Marmalade is home made using whole oranges minced and made into marmalade.
We hope to play host again sometime in the near future.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Nice food reasonably priced and a comfortable atmosphere. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The menu has a good selection of dishes. I would not hesitate to go back again. This is a good location as it is in the town centre close to two large car parks.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear William O
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with ourselves. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to playing host again in the future.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,673 reviews
14.3 mi away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
706 reviews
13.6 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Imperial Hotel

Property: The Old Imperial Hotel
Address: The Old Imperial Hotel 27 N North Main Street, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Imperial Hotel is one of the oldest accommodations in the historic town of Youghal. Built in the 18th century, it was used as a stage coach stop for the Bianconi Line. Located in the heart of the town, yet only a 1 km walk from the sea front, The Old Imperial Hotel is committed to providing excellent service and value to all our guests. With a fantastic location just off the N25, each of our newly refurbished 18 spacious en-suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated with complimentary WIFI, and tea and coffee making facilities. All 18 of our newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms are designed with comfort in mind. Accommodation includes a range of superior rooms, large family rooms which can accommodate up to 2 adults and 3 children, standard double rooms and twin and single rooms. In room amenities include TV, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms with free Internet access. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30am - 10am each morning. Full a la carte menu available daily from 11:30am including daily specials. Secure private car park for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing