We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Imperial Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fab!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Thank you to all the management and staff of the old imperial for making our break special, my aunt who is a regular customer, we dinned with her last night with her, food was fabulous, staff was brilliant, owner, both marks were fab! We will be back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Morrisson24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Morrisson24
Thank you for taking the time to write your review relating to your time in our care. It was a pleasure having you stay and your aunt is a gem, a pleasure to have as a customer. We look forward to seeing you again in the future sometime.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    59
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
94
121
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
tralee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I just to thank the management and staff of the imperial hotel for a most memorable evening.
I Was traveling with two friends from america who were most impressed with extremely warm welcome we were greeted with on arrival at the hotel.
Our bedrooms were very tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable and very spacious.
We booked dinner in the restaurant that evening, again greeted by very polite and pleasant,staff.
We opted for the dinner menu which had a large choice to choose from , i must say it was the best
meal i have eaten for a long time ,words would not do it justice ,and my friends were blown away also,it was truly fabulous, the chef knows how to really appreciate the food he presents, take a bow.
Next morning we could only manage a light breakfast but they did have a very extensive menu to choose from.
Again thank you all for making our stay so memorable ,and i highly recommend you and your hotel, and hope to return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear mike r,
It gives me great pleasure to read your kind words. It was a pleasure having you folks stay with us and as for the two of us that operate the hotel it nice for us to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. The team thanks you for the positive words and we look forward to playing host again.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel is ideally situated on North Main Street in Youghal with all local amenities in easy walking distance. There is convenient, free car parking to the rear of the hotel which is not an extra charge.
Importantly I found all staff to be friendly and efficient and their repartee with other guests obvious. Seemed to be a family run style hotel which I liked. Meals very both tasty and reasonable. Would recommend a stay here. I choose a suite so cannot comment on the standard room. Kettle with tea & coffee in room along with iron, ironing board and hairdryer. Free wifi was included in room price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Ray W
Its nice to read such a pleasant review which incorporates the staff, rooms and food, the fact that you were happy with all of these makes the hard work put in all the more worthwhile. We hope to have you stay again should you be in the area.
Kind regards
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Had a delicious meal with my family in the restaurant great menu choice food was delicious & beautifully presented. Staff were lovely quick and very pleasant but we were surrounded by flies as we ate. I counted 13 on the walls and paintings as we were about to leave. Haven't had this problem anywhere else we have eaten and definitely hampered a otherwise lovely meal

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Angela923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Angela923,
Thank you for taking the time to review you visit. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and service. With regard to flies, there is an abnormal amount of them around at the moment maybe due to the humid weather, who knows, but we had our pest control people in last night after closing (which was the earliest we could get them) and they did their thing and that coupled with not a door or window being left open it is not a problem today.
Thank you again
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is an example of all that is excellent in












Three of us stayed in The Old Imperial Hotel when visiting Youghal last weekend and had a superb evening there. The hotel is situated a short stroll away from the seafront and after a glorious walk in the sunshine by the quays, it was back to the bar for a refreshing drink before dinner. The bar was friendly and welcoming and service quick. Dinner was spectacular, There was a wonderful range of starters, mains and desserts, and even one of our number well known for his fussiness about food and wine was rendered speechless with admiration. The service was seamless, having the unity and continuity of a great play, neither too fast nor too slow with;each course presented with perfect timing. Wine glasses were refilled invisibly, and the ambiance for dining was perfect.

Our rooms were picture perfect, with lovely views over the garden, very peaceful and quiet, with comfortable spacious beds and with quirky charming personal touches, which made for me an extraordinarily pleasant stay.

Breakfast of itself was worth visiting this excellent hotel, carefully prepared for each of us to order. And a special word of praise for the welcoming reception staff.

We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Len S,
Thank your for taking the time to write such a glowing review on your stay with us here. Your kind words go a long way with the entire team here at the hotel. We do our utmost to ensure our guests are looked after whilst in our care. We hope to see all you you again sometime in the future.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendota Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We spent one night at the Old Imperial and really enjoyed our brief time here.

We were given a family room (#1), that included one double bed and three singles. And there was still room to move around. The bathroom was very spacious too!

I met two of the women who worked at reception and they were so nice.

Our rate included breakfast and we were given several choices of cooked-to-order options such as Irish breakfast or an omelette. Great breakfast! They were even willing to make up our childrens' meals so we could bring them up to our room.

Delightful place. Fantastic staff.

Only downside is that it isn't easy to get to. I found it from a search on expedia.com for a hotel in Waterford and it isn't near that city.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jewels_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Jewels_Travels,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Its nice to hear that you felt looked after from the moment you arrived. The kitchen crew pass on their thanks as do the ladies at reception. Relating to us coming up on an expedia search for hotels near Waterford we have passed on your comments to expedia as it is indeed misleading from their point of view and ours.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
283 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We made the plan to go to Youghal last Wednesday because of the RTE show At Your Service which featured the hotel last year. I brought my elderly Dad there for lunch. The food was freshly made, tasty and beautifully presented. For a Wednesday they were very busy and that has to be because of their reputation as there were a lot of locals in as well as visitors like us. The atmosphere was great. As soon as you enter their doors, every member of staff is aware you're there. They greet you with a smile and are attentive throughout your visit. One of the proprietors, Mark Golden went to every table to see all was well and chat with the customers. They have a lovely garden area to sit also, and provide parking at the back, although we were able to park on the street in front as there is free parking between 1pm and 2pm. The hotel is in the main street of the town so would be ideal if staying in the hotel, being easily able to walk to all the shops and restaurants in the town. Youghal is only 40 minutes from Cork city and a great shopping town with lovely traditional quirky shops, as opposed to the high street franchise shops of cities. Moby Dick the movie was made here in 1954 and many locals can tell the tales of seeing Gregory Peck walk around the town.The beautiful Ardmore beach is only a few miles away, along with many other things to do in the area. We would definitely stop by for food when in the area again, and if looking for a weekend away, would be delighted to stay in this hotel. They deserve all the business they are clearly getting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G, Owner at The Old Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear MaryCork,
Thank you for your uplifting exuberant review, which is appreciated by all of our team here at the hotel. Equally as important it is nice to see such glowing words about the local area. We look forward to hopefully playing host to you again should you be in the area.
Warm wishes
Mark Golden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
0.7 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
0.1 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
9.6 mi away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
13.6 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Imperial Hotel

Property: The Old Imperial Hotel
Address: The Old Imperial Hotel 27 N North Main Street, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Imperial Hotel is one of the oldest accommodations in the historic town of Youghal. Built in the 18th century, it was used as a stage coach stop for the Bianconi Line. Located in the heart of the town, yet only a 1 km walk from the sea front, The Old Imperial Hotel is committed to providing excellent service and value to all our guests. With a fantastic location just off the N25, each of our newly refurbished 18 spacious en-suite bedrooms are tastefully decorated with complimentary WIFI, and tea and coffee making facilities. All 18 of our newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms are designed with comfort in mind. Accommodation includes a range of superior rooms, large family rooms which can accommodate up to 2 adults and 3 children, standard double rooms and twin and single rooms. In room amenities include TV, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities. All rooms with free Internet access. Breakfast is served daily from 7:30am - 10am each morning. Full a la carte menu available daily from 11:30am including daily specials. Secure private car park for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Old Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Imperial Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing