We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice/Laid Back, not a "Must See"” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Youghal Boardwalk

Youghal Boardwalk
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice/Laid Back, not a "Must See"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

The Youghal Boardwalk was well maintained, clean, and VERY scenic. It is certainly not something to avoid and a decent way to spend some time relaxing without worrying about crowds, etc. That said it will not be the highlight of your trip to Youghal or Ireland.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    21
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Scenic beach walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Jog or walk along the sea shore on the new boardwalk or sit and read a book while the waves roll in the background.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Churlaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Huge addition to beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

I love walking the beaches in Youghal. But the section now served by boardwalk was an area I rarely used as the sand is deep and lose there and just didn't make for a nice brisk walk. This week I went to front Strand and was able to walk all way to Claycastle on the most beautiful boardwalk.
I just hope it's respected and kept in this condition. Noticed planning notice at Red Barn for an extension - that will make for a lovely long walk.

Well done Youghal

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CorkCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mostly closed up”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We went in the doors of a few pubs down by the water. only one fely like it was open for tourists, the rest had only local men in them. So many closed up shops , made us sad that this place is seeing hard times.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kajadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Youghal Boardwalk also viewed

 

Been to Youghal Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing