We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“music in a remarkable venue”

Collegiate Church Of St. Mary
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“music in a remarkable venue”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The grounds alone are beautiful, with the Medieval walls behind on the hill, and the gardens, churchyard and Myrtle Grove (former home of Sir Walter Raleigh), right next door. But when you walk inside this architectural wonder, you are silenced by its beauty. If you are fortunate enough to be there on a day a concert is offered, I highly recommend attending. I had the pleasure of listening to four classical singers last weekend on a afternoon, and the old acoustics system, (little holes in the wall with ceramic jars on the external structure) only made the sound more brilliant. A must see!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 22EllenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    15
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth The Trip”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Wonderfully restored building. Loved my visit there for the room beams alone never mind the huge array of interesting religious and historical artifacts. Unfortunately missed the tour (3pm) which was very reasonable at €3. An absolute gem...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremorris, Ireland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Glorious chant in awe- inspiring church”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Aweinspiring church. We were fortunate to have a local man showing us around explaining some of the history to us. We were until time restraints but all 4 of us indicated a wish to return and explore the gardens and the wall outside again in the future. We were treated to a wonderful operatic Chant from a lady which was magical. If you are visiting Youghal make sure to visit here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank claremorrisdolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youghal, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

this is a great place to visit. the archetexture is great and interesting. Great place to visit in Youghal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChloeC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I could not believe how well preserved this site is.Centuries of history in great surroundings minutes from the main street.Surrounded by an immaculate cemetery and college garden and the old wall of the town.Highly recommended

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fastrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Collegiate Church Of St. Mary also viewed

 

Been to Collegiate Church Of St. Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing