We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed in a 2 bed appartment with a seaview " definetely worth paying the extra few euro for it", the appartment was very clean and everything you could need is supplied, we were on the second floor with its own balcony but beware no lift in the appartment blocks it did not bother us but could be a problem for some people it is approximately 8 kms out of the town by car and only 2kms from the edge of town if you walk along the beach, it costs 10 euro in to town in a taxi,
the hotel was very clean and the food was good and reasonably priced, entertainment in the bar nightly,
The hotel is aimed mainly for families with younger kids, with not much to do for our teenage son, the leisure centre was good but as a resident it was a bit of a shock to have to pay a euro for your towels everytime you used the centre,
Having the beach on the doorstep is a big bonus when the weather is good,
would stay again if ever in youghal

Room Tip: pay a bit extra for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashmonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Hi thanks for the review and I am glad you enjoyed your visit and I agree with the sea view comments. I am sorry you found the towel charge a bit off putting, we do not push towels on anyone and are more than happy for users to bring their own beach towels to the leisure club. The simple answer to the charge is that it was costing too much to provide them free of charge. Often the pool is used twice in the day by families so it makes for a large bill for towels. I am glad to hear that you would come back and stay with us again. Regards Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    228
    130
    46
    35
See reviews for
554
69
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

When i first arrived I thought this was going to be a terrible hotel. It seemed like the hotel was just full of family's running around making lots of noise but to be fair the hotel was not bad. It has decent leisure facilities that allow only adult use before 9am and does not allow unaccompanied children. They do however charge for towels and lockers which is a bit tight.

I didn't eat in the hotel as after 9.30 they only have pizzas. And I wasn't in the mood to listen to "country roads" and other classics being belted out by the entertainment thankfully my room was far enough away from reception that I couldn't hear it.

All and all it is not a bad hotel just not for me. If you have a young family this is the ideal get away in this part of the country and they seemed to be mostly catering for this business.

Room Tip: try and be away from the bar the entertainment is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teemoretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Hi thanks for your review and I must say it is a fair review, we are in the middle of the home holiday leisure season and this property is very popular for families and is geared towards catering for adults & children with all the associated facilities and activities. We do charge for towels in the Leisure Centre purely because there is a cost to the hotel to have them laundered, a guest is more than welcome to bring their own. There is a deposit for the lockers as opposed to a charge, and this is to ensure we get the locks back. We have live music every night during the main season in the Coast Bar which is generally very well received.Thanks again for taking the time to post a review. Regards Allen McEnery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I can agree with the positive reviews about this hotel.stayed in one of the holiday houses during recent hot weather and it was perfect. leisure centre busy but playground could be bigger.staff top class and bar food was lovely.very impressed with french manager who brought my young son extra salmon free when he did an "Oliver" and asked for more ,it was so tasty. houses were very clean and spacious and a perfect family location.entertainment at night time hit and miss but can understand everyone cant be pleased.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anneoregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we provide live music every night during June, July & August and do our best to get the best musicians available but as always some will be better than others. Regards Allen McEnery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Munster, Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

I visited the hotel with my family and from the moment we entered reception we were made feel very welcome. The hotel has a terrific leisure centre and pool area, ideal for families with children. Delicious food was served in the bar area and overall we received terrific value for money and a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thanks for your review and I am delighted that you seem to have really enjoyed your stay with us. We hoe to see you back again with us in the future. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in a 2 bed apartment 2 nights over a weekend. Ideal location right on the beach. You literally walk out of the hotel and your on the beach. Lots of families on site which suited us with a 5 and 2 year old and Granny in tow. Apartments were roomy, adequately decorated and spotless with all the gadgets you'd need for a self catering stay away from home. We were not going to be dining in as we had the bed and breakfast package so we ate in bar. Food was lovely. Breakfast was very good. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to any family and we'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your review and your last line is the important one for us, "You Will Be Back" Glad to hear you enjoyed your break and we look forward to seeing you again. Regards Allen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobh, Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed in one of the holiday homes with 2 children which was spacious and spotless.
Amazing standard, perfect location. Staff could not have been more friendly and the food in the restaurant was very good. The weather was brilliant when we stayed, you couldn't get a better place beside a beach... Thank you very much, will b back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylwia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for your review and I am delighted to hear you really enjoyed your break with us. The weather certainly helps and there has been an amazing amount of activity on the beach, first time for a few years. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Location is fantastic, Youghal Beach is a great spot and hotel is just next. However they could more focus on service- rude and inpatient receptionist, bar staff ignorant and transparent. Hotel is clean, but communication to Youghal Town could be improved [minibus?]. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear you did not find the hotel, its location or its staff to your liking. I can appreciate your comments on our location, four miles outside Youghal, however most of our customers comment that this is a major plus for the complex, it is in a quiet and safe "cul de sac" that allows people and children in particular to play in a safe environment. Maybe you should have checked this out in advance as we have an accurate description of our location on our website. In relation to your comments on the hotel staff I most certainly cannot agree, however I have posted your review on our staff notice board all the same as we do with all reviews that come in. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
2.3 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#1 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
15.8 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
7.3 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal

Property: Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Address: Redbarn Beach, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel in Youghal is situated a stones throw from the beach and 35 minutes from Cork City. The hotel is a renowned family friendly destination and includes excellent self catering facilities, with two bedroom apartment suites and 3/4 bedroom holiday homes on offer. All guests have free use of the leisure centre facilities and the gym,and guests can also avail of a range of relaxing spa treatments. Highlights during the school holidays is Kids Camp, with 3D movies also on offer for rainy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel And Leisure Center Youghal
Quality Inn Youghal
Youghal Quality Inn
Quality Hotel Youghal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing