We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed in apartment. In urgent need of re-refurbishment, Tired and old, Staff were ok. Food was terrible and over priced. Nice location on the beach, but even fully booked out in our August trip, no atmosphere. Pool in leisure center is small and old also , Would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanneross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thanks for your review and I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our offering. Our apartments are only ten years old and get extensive upgrades regularly, but they are large self catering units and unlike hotel bedrooms do suffer from a bit more wear and tear due to the level of activity in them. Our pool is on the larger side for hotel pools, it is just over 20 metres with a separate kids pool. Anyway we are always glad to get feedback and I thank you for that. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    242
    139
    48
    38
See reviews for
606
72
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
laois ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here last week for 2 nights in the two bedroom apartments and we couldn't have asked for more.The kids had a ball with all there was to do,cinema,pool and outdoor activities too.The beach was gorgeous and right on our doorstep,and we were very lucky with the weather too.The staff were more than helpful and nothing was too much for them.The choice at breakfast was great and I definitely will be returning.Thanks again to the great staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for posting a review of the hotel, we are delighted you and indeed yours enjoyed the break and found everything to a god standard. We look forward to seeing you back again. Regards, Allen mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here with my husband, my five and three year old in the two bedroom apartments for 3 nights end of August. Apartment itself was excellent, we could put kids to bed and still enjoy our nite , service was brillant, staff were excellent, really family orientated hotel. They completely catered for kids, kids menus, leisure centre, creches. Excellent location as its right on the beach, 30 mins from fota too which my kids are crazy about. Only thing that didnt impress us was the cinema nite and disco nite were just in a hotel room, it made my little man nervous being in a small room with lots of others so he panicked when he saw it after being excited about it all day. We had a problem with our hot water and within seconds of phoning reception one of the girls were up with maintenance man to fix it. All sorted in space of two minutes. Other than that we've no complaints other than the fact that there arent more located in different parts of Ireland as we plan on doing same again next year. Really impressive, cant wait to do same again next year.

Room Tip: We had a top floor with little balcony, fab sea view, really quiet as nobody was trekking upstairs p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hi thanks for the review and we are pleased you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Our cinema room has a capacity of about 60 but we limit the numbers to less than that, I am sorry to hear your child did not feel comfortable in this room, we normally have no issue's in this regard. We are looking at upgrading this room over the winter so maybe this might help for future visits. Thanks again, Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Myself and my partner Stayed here 6th and 7th of Aug. I have stayed in a few hotels and found this hotel to be on the higher end of the scales. For the time of the year this gem is probably more suited too families where i can see it has everything a family would need. We were just a couple going with no kids so it was not totally suited to our needs. The room we stayed in was excellent,the bar food and drink was also as good as most hotels and the staff were very pleasents and hard working. If i could leave one message for the managements it would be up your staff behing the bar by at least one to avoid the wait for a drink. Those bar staff worked like legends when i stayed but they needed a bit of back up. Many thanks to all and i will call again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brackvoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hi, thank you for the review and we are delighted you had a good break and intend to return again. Point taken in relation to the bar staff, it is often hard to gauge how many to have on but we were obviously short on this occasion. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Myself and a friend stayed in one of the two bed apartments for one night at the weekend with her 10 year old son and his friend. We found the stay most enjoyable and the kids had an absolute ball. From the time we checked in, they were entertained from the fantastic pool, the movie options, the Kids club, the disco and the games room! This hotel is the perfect getaway for families. The apartments were lovely and newly refurbished, with a double room and a twin room ensuite, and a fantastic kitchen/dining room area. We had dinner in the restaurant where they offered a great deal of 3 Course Evening Meal for two including a glass of wine for just €50. Will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hi thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel, we are delighted you had a good experience and you found everything to be a good standard, we hope to see you back again soon. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here with my 5 year old son for 3 nights, I checked in the 8th of August and checked out on the 11th. The hotel is situated right on the beach, The room was lovely and spacious, and very clean, loads of room for my lil fella to mess around and play games. The only problem was that the DVD player was not working in the room, which was a pity as we had brought some DVD's with us to keep him occupied.

Also there is no WIFI in the rooms, there is only WIFI in the main lobby which is a pity. The swimming pool and leisure centre is brilliant, My son loved it. Also there does be plenty of other kids in the hotel for your kid or kids to play with. My son met loads of friends there by playing football on the beach or just running around. All in all, I had a amazing time and more importantly so did my son and we will be definitely returning here again next year please god

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the fans from the kitched as they can be quiet noisey if you open your wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Hi thanks for the review and I am delighted your son enjoyed his time with us. Sorry about the DVD player, we should gave been able to give you a spare one as we have a stock of these. We will make sure this will not happen on your next visit. Regards Allen McEnery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We are just back from this trip, stayed Tuesday 13th to Thursday 15th August 2013. This was our 3rd time staying here but our 1st in the actual hotel, the other times were in the apartments. We went for 2 nights in a family room, kids were aged 13 and 4. The accommodation as always was clean and well maintained, plenty of towels in the room etc. The reception staff and bar staff were all very helpful. Food was good and the breakfast buffet is well stocked so you can fill up for the day. The pool and leisure facilities were clean. The hotel was full, which is a good sign, so the pool was busy but this is to be expected and did not bother our 2 kids as there was a lively atmosphere. Entertainment in the bar in the evening was good and they didn't enforce that stupid rule of no kids in the bar after 9pm too stringently. The one gripe I would have was that when we had our evening meal in the bar my 4 yr olds Mash and gravy was so hot that she burnt her mouth and we had to let it rest for over 10 minutes before it cooled sufficiently for her to be able to eat it. But overall a good experience so much so that we tried to book an extra night but alas as previously stated the place was full so we reluctantly left. But we will definitely will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_C1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Hi thanks for the review and I am delighted you and your family had a great break in Redbarn. We try to be less strict in relation to children in the lounge area's to allow adults enjoy themselves also so I am glad this helped you. I will pass your very valid comment in relation to the temperature of children's food to the kitchen staff and thank you for giving us that feedback. We look forward to seeing you back in Redbarn. Regards Allen McEnery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
2.3 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
369 reviews
2.0 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
329 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ardmore
1,672 reviews
15.8 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
18.8 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal

Property: Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Address: Redbarn Beach, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel in Youghal is situated a stones throw from the beach and 35 minutes from Cork City. The hotel is a renowned family friendly destination and includes excellent self catering facilities, with two bedroom apartment suites and 3/4 bedroom holiday homes on offer. All guests have free use of the leisure centre facilities and the gym,and guests can also avail of a range of relaxing spa treatments. Highlights during the school holidays is Kids Camp, with 3D movies also on offer for rainy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel And Leisure Center Youghal
Quality Inn Youghal
Youghal Quality Inn
Quality Hotel Youghal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing