We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent! Highly recommended especially for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent! Highly recommended especially for families”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed in a four-bedroom holiday home with my two teenage children during the last full week of August 2013. The house was in really good condition, was well cleaned and very well presented. Bedding was clean, the beds were comfortable. Everything we needed was provided including towels, bathroom tissue, soaps etc. Our towels were exchanged for fresh ones twice during the week! i didn't expect that so it was a great surprise.

There is a bedroom downstairs with an en suite (also doubles as the downstairs loo with another door off the hallway!). Upstairs, my son had a double room with an en suite (both en suites had showers, not baths). My daughter had a twin room, where she pushed the beds together to make a double! (My bed was the same - two singles pushed together, but very comfortable). My daughter ended up having full access to the main bathroom upstairs which included a bath and separate shower.

There was also a fourth bedroom, single. Plenty of room in each room - in fact loads! I wish my own bedrooms were that size!!

The TV had about ten channels including a couple of BBC, ITV and Channel 4. The TV is a standard size so a bit smaller than we're used to, but we were out and about a lot so it's OK. Two leather settees - very comfy!

Unless you're buying it I'd recommend you take the following:

Tea bags
Sugar (do you really need to buy a full bag for a week?!)
Wash up liquid if you don't plan on using the dishwasher all the time (they supplied dishwasher tablets too!)

The house had an ironing board and iron, a carpet sweeper, mop and bucket, fridge (with small freezer section), cooker (double oven!), dishwasher, all kitchen utensils (except a spatula for a fried egg oops!).

The house was 5 minutes walking distance from Redbarn beach - it's lovely! We strolled along the beach a few times in the evening/mornings and it was great. The hotel/holiday homes are about 2 miles out of Youghal town itself off the Cork road.

We didn't use any of the hotel facilities despite intending to - but that's because I had lots of family to visit so we didn't really stay around that long.

I would definitely recommend the hotel/holiday home. All the staff we came into contact with - reception at the hotel on three occasions, the domestic staff giving us new towels and taking away the rubbish - were really professional and friendly. There is a definite theme in Ireland - they love to provide excellent (and friendly) customer service.

My kids loved the place too - and they don't normally pass judgement!! Enjoy your stay! (We travelled from the UK for a week).

Room Tip: If you'd like to see the sea you might want to ask, for this. We stayed in house number 8, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ger74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review, it is comprehensive and very accurate in terms of your recommendations. We are delighted you and your family were comfortable and found the house and the complex to a very good standard. We hope to see you again. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    233
    132
    47
    36
See reviews for
570
70
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have just returned from yet another fantastic stay at the quality hotel in youghal. Staff here are so friendly and courteous, nothing is ever a problem for them. We find the apartments great value and fantastic space with the children.

Job well done guys!!! We will be returning and recommending :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliembb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your review and delighted to hear that all was well on your recent visit. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed in apartment. In urgent need of re-refurbishment, Tired and old, Staff were ok. Food was terrible and over priced. Nice location on the beach, but even fully booked out in our August trip, no atmosphere. Pool in leisure center is small and old also , Would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanneross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thanks for your review and I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our offering. Our apartments are only ten years old and get extensive upgrades regularly, but they are large self catering units and unlike hotel bedrooms do suffer from a bit more wear and tear due to the level of activity in them. Our pool is on the larger side for hotel pools, it is just over 20 metres with a separate kids pool. Anyway we are always glad to get feedback and I thank you for that. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laois ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here last week for 2 nights in the two bedroom apartments and we couldn't have asked for more.The kids had a ball with all there was to do,cinema,pool and outdoor activities too.The beach was gorgeous and right on our doorstep,and we were very lucky with the weather too.The staff were more than helpful and nothing was too much for them.The choice at breakfast was great and I definitely will be returning.Thanks again to the great staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for posting a review of the hotel, we are delighted you and indeed yours enjoyed the break and found everything to a god standard. We look forward to seeing you back again. Regards, Allen mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed here with my husband, my five and three year old in the two bedroom apartments for 3 nights end of August. Apartment itself was excellent, we could put kids to bed and still enjoy our nite , service was brillant, staff were excellent, really family orientated hotel. They completely catered for kids, kids menus, leisure centre, creches. Excellent location as its right on the beach, 30 mins from fota too which my kids are crazy about. Only thing that didnt impress us was the cinema nite and disco nite were just in a hotel room, it made my little man nervous being in a small room with lots of others so he panicked when he saw it after being excited about it all day. We had a problem with our hot water and within seconds of phoning reception one of the girls were up with maintenance man to fix it. All sorted in space of two minutes. Other than that we've no complaints other than the fact that there arent more located in different parts of Ireland as we plan on doing same again next year. Really impressive, cant wait to do same again next year.

Room Tip: We had a top floor with little balcony, fab sea view, really quiet as nobody was trekking upstairs p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hi thanks for the review and we are pleased you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Our cinema room has a capacity of about 60 but we limit the numbers to less than that, I am sorry to hear your child did not feel comfortable in this room, we normally have no issue's in this regard. We are looking at upgrading this room over the winter so maybe this might help for future visits. Thanks again, Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Myself and my partner Stayed here 6th and 7th of Aug. I have stayed in a few hotels and found this hotel to be on the higher end of the scales. For the time of the year this gem is probably more suited too families where i can see it has everything a family would need. We were just a couple going with no kids so it was not totally suited to our needs. The room we stayed in was excellent,the bar food and drink was also as good as most hotels and the staff were very pleasents and hard working. If i could leave one message for the managements it would be up your staff behing the bar by at least one to avoid the wait for a drink. Those bar staff worked like legends when i stayed but they needed a bit of back up. Many thanks to all and i will call again

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brackvoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hi, thank you for the review and we are delighted you had a good break and intend to return again. Point taken in relation to the bar staff, it is often hard to gauge how many to have on but we were obviously short on this occasion. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Myself and a friend stayed in one of the two bed apartments for one night at the weekend with her 10 year old son and his friend. We found the stay most enjoyable and the kids had an absolute ball. From the time we checked in, they were entertained from the fantastic pool, the movie options, the Kids club, the disco and the games room! This hotel is the perfect getaway for families. The apartments were lovely and newly refurbished, with a double room and a twin room ensuite, and a fantastic kitchen/dining room area. We had dinner in the restaurant where they offered a great deal of 3 Course Evening Meal for two including a glass of wine for just €50. Will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Hi thank you for taking the time to post a review of the hotel, we are delighted you had a good experience and you found everything to be a good standard, we hope to see you back again soon. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
2.3 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.0 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
15.8 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
7.3 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal

Property: Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Address: Redbarn Beach, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel in Youghal is situated a stones throw from the beach and 35 minutes from Cork City. The hotel is a renowned family friendly destination and includes excellent self catering facilities, with two bedroom apartment suites and 3/4 bedroom holiday homes on offer. All guests have free use of the leisure centre facilities and the gym,and guests can also avail of a range of relaxing spa treatments. Highlights during the school holidays is Kids Camp, with 3D movies also on offer for rainy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel And Leisure Center Youghal
Quality Inn Youghal
Youghal Quality Inn
Quality Hotel Youghal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing