We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Had an overnight stay at this hotel yesterday. Booked online for myself & partner & received a call advising that we had been upgraded from a room in the hotel to a 2 bedroom apartment (no additional charge) due to a wedding reception . Initially we felt that this was a positive move, however, on arrival we discovered that the apartment lacked the atmosphere of a hotel room, it was rather like the self catering apartment styles found abroad. The shower did not work, the room was cold, there was no hairdryer & the matress on the bed was of very poor quality.
We were in the area on business & returned to the hotel at 3am hoping to order room service, due to time constraints we hadn't eaten since early afternoon and the website had stated that 24 hour room service was avaiable. However, a telephone call to reception confirmed that room service was not an option. On a more positive note the apartment was clean and the staff were friendly, I guess it's just a case of you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DmS8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Hi thanks for your review and I am sorry you had to go to bed hungry, I am not sure what website you booked through but their information is incorrect in relation to room service, I have reviewed our own site to make sure it is accurate and it is. You are right the apartment is more self catering by design with a lot more facilities and space but you did not require this so the hotel room may have been more suitable. I am glad however you found the accommodation standard to be of a good standard and priced well. Regards Allen McEnery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    233
    133
    47
    36
See reviews for
574
70
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Just back from a mid week break at quality hotel, Youghal. Stayed in a 2bed sea view apt with my wife and 2 year old. The location was perfect, right on the beach. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Food was lovely especially the buffet breakfast and great views looking out over the sea from the restaurant. Ideal location for day trips to cobh/cork. Great for kids too with the beach, pool and playground. The midweek deal we booked was great value for money. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thanks for the review of the hotel and we are pleased you had a nice break with your family. There is great value in the off season and it can be a great time to travel. Thanks again and we hope to see you back again. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
offaly
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Just returned from our 4 day holiday ,in the Quality Hotel Youghal . We go on a holiday breaks every year ,but this was our first stay in youghal ,and the quality hotel. We realy had a lovely time .The food was outstanding, the staff were so helpful and nothing a problem for them . We had our cases brought to our room on arrival ,leaving they collected cases outside our door. Music every night . We had day trips included in our deal daily . Well done .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brosna11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thanks for the great review and we really enjoyed looking after you, we hope to see you again next year. Regards Allen McEnery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offaly
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Our active retirement group has just returned from the Quality Hotel in Youghal and I must say we all had a brilliant time, the staff were so friendly and nothing was too much for them. The food was excellent, the rooms spotless and very comfortable. We have been to several places and I must say, on behalf of all our group, this hotel was by far the best we have been to. I would certainly recommend it.
Shinrone Active Retirement Group

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you Shinrone Active Retirement Group, we were delighted to look after you and you were a pleasure to deal with, we hope to see you back in Redbarn again in the future. Regards Allen McEnery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wicklow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We booked the Quality Hotel & Leisure Centre Youghal for a family weekend break after reading great reviews on Trip advisor and they were spot on. This was one of the best family run hotel we have stayed in. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. They were friendly and courteous and efficient. When we arrived we were greeted with big friendly welcome. The room they gave us did not have the balcony that we were promised when we booked it. We were moved straight away with no problem. The views of Redbarn beach were amazing. Unforunately while we were in our room a problem developed with extractor fan in our bathroom, we contacted reception who came up to investigate but could not be fixed there and then. We were immediately upgraded to a 2 bed apt with amazing sea views without any extra charge. We dealt with Nuala who was friendly and efficient.

There was plenty to do in the evening while we were there, kids clubs and cinema club which we availed of on our second night in the hotel.

We ate in the coast bar on the Friday night which serves bar food which was gorgeous. Service was quick and efficient. The bar is busy and it was great that families are allowed in the bar with no hassle to have kids out at a certain time.

Breakfast in the morning was buffet. It was basic irish breakfast but was tasty and hot again nothing was too much trouble for the staff who again were friendly and efficient.

There is plenty to do for a family staying here. There is rental apartments and holiday home as well as the hotel. The 2 bed apartment we stayed in was kitted out with everything from washing machine to dishwasher. They were a bit tired and could have done with updating but they were comfortable and large enough with the 2nd bedroom having its own ensuite.

There is also a leisure centre with pool. We didnt have time to avail of these facilities so cannot comment on them.

We loved staying here so much so we are looking at booking again to stay maybe at Christmas if not definitely sometime soon.

Would highly recommend this hotel for a family break away.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wickl0wgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thanks for the review and we are delighted you had a very positive experience, in particular we are very pleased with your comments in relation to the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff as this is the most important thing and is always top of our agenda. For families the apartments are more spacious and have more facilities so I am glad you got an opportunity to stay in one. We hope to see you back again soon. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just back from a Friday night stay at the hotel, must say was well impressed ! Booked an over night and meal package. The room we had was very big, with sea view (143) DInner was very nice, our server think her name was Celia , was very helpful. Small issue with the steak, my fault not hers and she resolved it all without fuss. We also had two treatments in the spa. Very relaxing, great deals to be had ! Nice room, good price, nice food , very good staff ! Will go back again !

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Conkers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thanks for posting a review of our hotel, we are delighted you had a good experience generally and that all area's delivered good service at a god price, Celia in the restaurant is happy to have got a mention.We look forward to seeing you back again. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

23 of us have Just returned from a fab Holiday in Quality Hotel, Youghal, our first group holiday there. It was an amazing experience. 4 day break. Liam in his beautiful coach collected us at our venue, which we had at our disposal each day. Staff could not do enough for us, entertainment, Live music each night. Food good. Rooms very comfortable, Even the weather obliged. We will certainly return. thank you Therese & all the guys, You done a great job.
Mary.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you Mary for posting the review we really appreciate it. Unfortunately I missed you due to being on annual leave but by the sound of it Therese and the team looked after you very well. We do hope you will return as we enjoyed looking after you. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
2.3 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#2 of 7 in Youghal
353 reviews
2.0 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#1 of 7 in Youghal
316 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,073 reviews
15.8 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
18.8 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Self Catering Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal

Property: Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Address: Redbarn Beach, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel in Youghal is situated a stones throw from the beach and 35 minutes from Cork City. The hotel is a renowned family friendly destination and includes excellent self catering facilities, with two bedroom apartment suites and 3/4 bedroom holiday homes on offer. All guests have free use of the leisure centre facilities and the gym,and guests can also avail of a range of relaxing spa treatments. Highlights during the school holidays is Kids Camp, with 3D movies also on offer for rainy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel And Leisure Center Youghal
Quality Inn Youghal
Youghal Quality Inn
Quality Hotel Youghal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing