We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Certificate of Excellence
waterford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not Great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I was pretty excited to visit the hotel for my first night away with my new born baby after reading a few trip advisor comments.I have to say I'm very disappointed.

1.Dated rooms with the worst couches ever.
2.Shocking food (Frozen breaded mushrooms ,packet pepper sauce but the worst thing was the microwaved mash .
3.No wifi
4.Had to pay for towels in the leisure centre (Not good)
5.The room where clean but the storage heaters where poor .

Send in the Brennan brothers fast.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ukgwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your review and I am disappointed to hear you did not have a good break at our hotel. I have reviewed the management logs over the time you stayed and I do not see any mention of any issue's, did you offer feedback about the food? I accept your feedback but must advise that the sauce was not from a packet and the mash was fresh. The mushrooms were indeed cooked from frozen which is the common practice.
In our view our rooms and apartments are very comfortable and well fitted out, we replace all furniture as required and have replaced the sofa's in 12 of the apartments in 2013. We wil continue this practice in 2014. We have just recently had our annual grading and the inspector felt that the hotel was very comfortable in its grading.
The charge of €1 for towels in the leisure centre is to cover our costs, there are towels in the rooms and apartments that you can use thus avoiding the charge. We do not have wifi in the apartments but this s clearly stated on our website, it is available in the lobby, bar and some of the hotel bedrooms. Thanks again for your feedback. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    228
    130
    46
    35
See reviews for
554
69
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed for 1 night to celebrate a 60th Birthday and it was fantastic. From the moment we checked in to departure, everyone had a great time ( 5 Adults..2 teenagers and 4 children )
The dinner on the night had a wide variety of choices to suit us all..Beef.. Salmon Steak..Chicken and a willingness by staff to accommodate the children with whatever they wanted. I will admit the Beef was the best I ever tasted . Breakfast was equally scrumptious..full buffet with great variety of cereal.juices etc and then a top class full Irish breakfast served at your table.
The 3 Apartments were clean,freshly painted and really spacious , with everything one would need for self catering, especially if you had children.
Finally I come to the staff, and in my opinion they are a Hotels best asset , and Hotels can rise
on or fall if staff do not impress. But like everything else about this establishment, they didn't disappoint " take a bow guys ". The Reception, Bar ..Pool and Dining room staff were helpful,..kind and more than willing to tender to all our needs.
I must in particular single out "Eileen " our waitress , who was like a favourite Aunty, fussing over us..Thanks Eileen
We intend to return soon

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your review and we are all delighted with the feedback, particularly the positive comments in relation to the staff and indeed Eileen is delighted to get a mention. We do try to offer as fresh a product as possible and all our apartments and houses get painted internally annually. Glad you found the food offering comprehensive and good quality. We do hope to see you again and thatnk you once again for such a nice review. Regards Allen Mc Enery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a great 3-night trip here, despite rotten February weather. The holiday house was spacious and clean and really warm, and the beds very comfy. The service at reception was invariably friendly and efficient. The view from the restaurant over the beach was fantastic, as was the view from the pool! The pool was very busy as it was half-term, but the kids loved it and it was a real blessing with the freezing wind and showers outside. The beach would be fantastic in warmer weather, just a bit bracing for me in Feb!

None of us actually wanted to leave the holiday house. We had a great, relaxing time here at a brilliant price. Excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snugglehump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and our holiday homes. We are delighted you found them so comfortable and spacious. It was a bad week weather wise but you seem to have extracted the most from it, we hope it will be more clement on your next visit. regards. Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We spend an enjoyable night in a 2 bed apartment (2 adults, 2 kids under 4) last weekend.

Checkin was fast, a little mix-up with the booking but all sorted quickly. The complex itself is huge, but all in relatively close proximity to each other.

The apartment (ground floor) was very clean, cosy and recently painted. The decor is a little old fashioned but functional and spotless clean.

Our upstairs neighbours were a little noisy earlier in the evening but were quiet as the night progressed.

Lunch in the bar was lovely, the views across the beach are amazing.

The leisure center is in a separate building behind the apartments. The decor again needs a lift in the changing rooms but the pool area etc is very clean. The kids pool is perfect for smallies but some toys / inflatables wouldnt go amiss.

We used a hotel recommended babysitter and she was lovely. The bar was busy with live music.

Breakfast the next morning was available for a fee as its not included with the apartments. A discount voucher was given at checkin. The food was a pretty good self service buffet.

All in all it was a nice experience. It is worth emphasising that the hotel is 6-7km outside of youghal but right on a long beach (great for walks).

Thanks for an enjoyable break.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank wfi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive review and we are pleased to see we ticked all the boxes for you. We do try to keep the facilities fresh and presentable and I take your point about the changing rooms, since your visit we have retiled and repalced all the showers and we will continue with these upgrades. We hope to see you back with us again soon. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Booked 2 nights - Lidl break - nice break in good hotel - very quiet - supervised cinema was great as adults could eat during film. Great location on beach - 45 min walk along beach into Youghal. Leisure centre is good with small childrens playground. Didn't use kids club.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your very positive review of the hotel, it was a little bit quiet that week due to the weather but I am glad to hear you made the most of it. We hope to see you back again with us soon. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay over 3 weeks at Christmas starting 19th December and decided to rent a house at the Quality Hotel and Leisure Centre. It was a very good decision. Good value for money, everything we needed was there, it was warm and comfortable, lots of space for adults and kids and all their toys etc.
Bedrooms were a good size and beds comfortable with regular changes of linen and towels.
Easy access to hotel and leisure centre and staff in both places extremely friendly and helpful.
We ate in the hotel a few times and food was good. By the finish of our holiday we were reluctant to pack up and leave.
This is an ideal place and location for a holiday. The beach is only a few steps away and it's within easy reach of Cork city and airport and many other places of interest.
We will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derryair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your review and I hope ou and your family had a safe trip home. We are glad you found the hotel and its facilities to a good standard and that you would recommend us. We hope to see you back in redbarn again in thr future. Regards Allen Mc Enery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We booked 2 nights with 2 kids under 12 after recommendation from others on the location and in need of some sea air and exercise after Christmas. It was a very enjoyable experience. When checking in receptionist suggested would be better to move us to an apartment as kids could have their own room. Got a big apartment with two bedrooms and a dining / kitchen room. Beach is at the end of the garden and can walk for miles. Food was really good both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant overlooking the sea. Waitress suggested a jug of ribina for the kids rather than pushing for more expensive minerals which was nice touch. Leisure center really good, clean and big. Area for soccer and they cater well for small kids with playground. Also do a cinema which we didnt use but seems great addition. This hotel is geared for families so expect lots of kids around not a romantic getaway. Was great value and good fun place to go. Dont leave Youghal without a vist to St Marys Church - full of history and hugely impressive - a nice town with lots of heritage and lots of local businesses rather than the normal high street chain. Only negative was apartment water pressure for showers was low and could have done with more pillows - sure if Id asked for more would have got them. I would recommend the Quaility Hotel for a family break highly.

Room Tip: go for an apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Declan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllenMcEnery, General Manager at Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review fof the hotel. We are very pleased you and your family had such a good experience and that you fould our self catering accommodation very comfortable. We do hope to see you again soon. Regards Allen McEnery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Youghal
2.3 mi away
The Old Imperial Hotel
The Old Imperial Hotel
#1 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Walter Raleigh Hotel
Walter Raleigh Hotel
#2 of 8 in Youghal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aherne's Townhouse Hotel Youghal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
15.8 mi away
Park Hotel & Leisure Centre
7.3 mi away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal

Property: Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal
Address: Redbarn Beach, Youghal, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Youghal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Youghal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel in Youghal is situated a stones throw from the beach and 35 minutes from Cork City. The hotel is a renowned family friendly destination and includes excellent self catering facilities, with two bedroom apartment suites and 3/4 bedroom holiday homes on offer. All guests have free use of the leisure centre facilities and the gym,and guests can also avail of a range of relaxing spa treatments. Highlights during the school holidays is Kids Camp, with 3D movies also on offer for rainy days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel & Leisure Center Youghal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel And Leisure Center Youghal
Quality Inn Youghal
Youghal Quality Inn
Quality Hotel Youghal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing