We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome on a Foggy Evening”
Review of Fernhill House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fernhill House
Ranked #4 of 12 Tramore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We were running late and thought we would have to cancel staying here, but we called and were told that a late arrival was no problem. Tom greeted us with a most welcome cup of tea and some cookies. Our room was spacious, very comfortable, and had a lovely view once the fog lifted the next morning. Ann was a most gracious hostess and served us an amazing breakfast with the best muesli that we had in Ireland. This wonderful conversationalist told us about a scenic drive along coastal roads west of Tramore. We changed our itinerary for the day, based on Ann's advice, and we're very happy that we did. This drive was amazingly scenic and educational at the same time. We recommend staying with Tom and Ann.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Froebe44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2011

We stayed one night at Fernhill. Upon our arrival Anne immediately showed us to our room and told us to come down for coffee and cakes. She was an exceptional hostess. As stated in other reviews, she was extremely cordial and a wealth of knowledge. She had a few suggestions for dinner, which turned out to be great. We had one of the nicest evening of our trip in a pub there. She prepared a fantastic breakfast (of our choice) and made sure all the guests were introduced. It made for a very pleasant meal. She had suggestions for the rest of our trip as well as directions. She advised us of a route to drive which wound up to be one of the most spectacular drives of our trip.

She actually gave us the largest room which was very comfortable. Temp. was perfect and the beds were very comfortable. There was a hair dryer, soap and shampoo. The bathroom was very small and the shower was not very powerful, but there was plenty of hot water. Anne is very good at what she does and made our first B&B experience one we will neve forget.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfwjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We are a family with two teenage children and stayed in Fern Hill for one night. we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience - Anne greeted us on arrival with tea and biscuits, directed us to the best restaurants and showed us the fun stuff for the kids to do. We stayed in the family suite which was spacious and very bright. Excellent facilities, television, toiletries, kettle - just like a hotel. Nice location too, walkable to the town if you've got some time to spare, but situated on the quieter, calmer side of Tramore. I would highly reccommend fernhill house!!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larajrdn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

A great B&B with a very nice and helpful proprietor who is eager to give you informations about all the sights you have to visit. She really knows everything you can do in Waterford/Wexford - and helps you finding the perfect day trip.
The house is located in a very quiet neighbourhood, the rooms are spacious (some with sea view), clean and well equipped, the breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haarnasenwombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We had a lovely stay here! Despite we were in 7 Italian noisy guys & girls and we arrived quite late -almost 9.00 p.m. they welcomed us warmly and smiling just like old friends. The house is lovely,the rooms warm, tidy and most of all clean. The size of the bathroom is ok coz it's not too much small and most of all it is equipped of many items girls like.In the morning, the breakfast was excellent and from each one of us was judged the best Irish one and the richest one during our trip all around the Republic of Ireland. The owner amd his family are very kind, smiling,polite, cooperative and gave us nice advice about some fine locations to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Silvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

We had a wonderful stay at Fernhill House. When we arrived we were greeted with refreshments and the hostess, Anne, advised us on the local tourist attractions; where to eat, where to go, where the best beaches were etc.

The house was lovely; very warm, friendly and cosy. We were shown to our room which had a lovely sea view and was very nicely furnished. The sitting room for guests had a relaxed atmosphere and was the ideal place for winding down at the end of the day.

The breakfasts were fantastic, with everything from great fruit salad to fresh salmon and organic eggs. The traditional Irish breakfast was also available and it was delicious.

The hospitality was great and Tom & Anne had plenty of time to talk to and advise us. Because Fernhill House is about a mile from the main beach and a fifteen minute walk from restaurants, we would reccommend bringing a car. All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LeahJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

Anne and Tom were the nicest of people, Anne greeted us upon arrival with coffee, tea and treats. Their B&B was comfortable, clean and very nicely furnished. The rooms and bathrooms were spacious. The food was good & plentiful!

Although the accommodations were really nice, what was really special about this place though was the hospitality of the family.

Since it was our first B&B in Ireland, we didn't realize how truly special these two were. Helpful, hospitable and they let us use their wireless internet connection!!

Stayed: April 2008
Thank lmorodomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tramore hotels
0.8 mi away
O'Shea's Hotel
O'Shea's Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tramore
195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach Haven House
Beach Haven House
#2 of 12 in Tramore
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cloneen Bed & Breakfast
Cloneen Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 12 in Tramore
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glenorney by the Sea
Glenorney by the Sea
#1 of 12 in Tramore
365 reviews
1.0 mi away
Killerig House
Killerig House
#5 of 12 in Tramore
86 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Court B&B
Sea Court B&B
#6 of 12 in Tramore
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill House

Address: Fernhill 14 Newtown Hill, Tramore, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Waterford > Tramore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Tramore
Price Range: £55 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernhill House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fernhill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing